We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Dining Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blackaddie Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blackaddie Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sanquhar
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ayrshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
151 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Fantastic Dining Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2009

As a birthday treat for my wife, we spent a night at Blackaddie House with the main purpose of the trip being to eat in their restaurant and we were not disappointed.

The hotel is fine, although it is obvious that the main emphasis is on the food and the restaurant. Our room was spacious and comfortable, and although it will obviously benefit from the planned renovations, we had everything we needed for a one night stay. If I had to be critical, I would say that the TV is far too small for the room, and this would be a problem if we were staying longer.

The restaurant is fantastic. The food was exquisite and beautifully prepared and presented. Each course was a delight and an absolute steal at £40pp for three courses. I have paid more for inferior food at supposedly better establishments. Additionally, they have a reasonably extensive winelist, with alternatives in all price ranges and a small, but excellent selection of desert wines by the glass or half-bottle. All in all, an outstanding dining experience.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thistle-do-nicely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    58
    26
    12
    7
See reviews for
32
228
12
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Midlands UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2009

This was the final night of our holiday and we wanted to finish on a high, the hotel offered much and delivered just about. Ian McAndrew the chef owner is a fine fellow and happy to chat, the dinner and breakfast were perfect, delicious and of the highest order.
We felt let down by the rooms which were not roomy with poor showers. They have got the food right and are now looking to sort out the rooms. Don't let the fact you drive past an industrial estate to get to the hotel, it surprised us, but the gardens and setting by the river was lovely. Go for the food and don't let the French maître d' scare you, its just his way!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MUNIZO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddsville
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2009

Brilliant !!!! The revues previous to mine are spot on !!!! Rooms need some....TLC as they dont reflect the price of accomadation.

BUT.... the nose bag (food) is AMAZING!!!!!!! Ian is a breath of fresh air in culanary delights !!!

Gardens are very well kept and in a fabulous setting........ apart from factorys across the lane.

Staff were fabtastic and very attentive.

Wireless tinternet is......... POOR. I had no connection at all. OK if your not on business.

I'm glad my company paid though !!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ANDREWA1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkintilloch
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2009

Just spent a night at the Blackaddie Country House Hotel in Sanquhar Dumfriesshire and enjoyed the best food ever! Honestly, if you are ever in this neck of the woods you would be foolish not to call in here because I'm sure very soon you'll not get a table booked once word is out about this place. Ian McAndrew (I believe is the name of the chef) cooked us the best dinner and breakfast I have ever tasted! And believe you me I am well travelled, especially in Europe.The quality of the food was unbelievable! I had smoked haddock risotto and it was mmmmmmmm! Followed by a chicken dish which had to be the best cooked chicken ever. The flavours were sumptious. I didn't know food could taste so good. It was delicious! Ofcourse the secret is all in the cooking and Ian McAndrew is no rookie. There was a Michelin star amongst other awards taking pride of place in the hotel and they are very well deserved. The hotel has some 9 rooms and there is a very homely atmosphere with really comfortable beds. The house is set in beautiful Scottish countryside and has the most picturesque view of the river Nith right outside the window. I would highly recommend this place especially for the food because you won't find a better chef in Scotland or Europe for that matter. Well done Mr McAndrew! Gina & Stephen

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JinnyandKiltycauldbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2009

We chose this hotel for their Hogmanay package based on the reviews in Tripadviser. The food was absolutely fantastic, great breakfasts, lovely generous afternoon teas and Michelin quality dinners with a good wine list. The owners and staff made us all very welcome and the group present for Hogmanay mixed in well and we had a great time with a piper and champagne at the bells.
The bedroom however was rather cramped and the shower cubicle was very cold. Unfortunately the public rooms were also too cold despite the log fires- I wished I'd taken warmer clothes.
I would recommend the hotel based on the food, the welcome and the value for money, but not based on comfort- too cold!

  • Liked — great food and welcome
  • Disliked — cramped and cold
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelso
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2008

My company books me into 'reasonably priced' hotels for 4 nights every week in South Scotland.

This hotel is by far the best I have stayed in, the owners are really nice and helpful, the general ambience of the place is superb and most importantly the food is out of this world... the owner is a Michelin chef who takes great pride in both the tastes of his dishes and obviously their presentation. This hotel desreves to be in a more auspicious village, however its location next to the River Nith is extremely picturesque, if Sanquhar is not. If you are staying in the area, or want an away break then I would recommend this place!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bob1648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2008

The first review above mostly says it all. This is a great place for a break, particularly because of the food. Ian MacAndrew does wonders. Both dinners and both breakfasts we had there were faultless and tasted fabulous. Wine list (we had Proseco both nights) was excellent.

The hotel needs a bit of cosmetic upgrading - carpets, wallpaper, etc. However, the owners haven't been there long (end of 2007) so they're probably working on it. Our bed wasn't made after our first night which we thought was odd but it was either an oversight or perhaps something they don't do for 2 night stays.

  • Liked — Food!
  • Disliked — Bed wasn't made after our first night's stay.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Scotslads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanquhar
12.5 mi away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
11.1 mi away
Buccleuch & Queensberry Hotel
0.4 mi away
Nithsdale Hotel
Nithsdale Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sanquhar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Cumnock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
18.1 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
19.4 mi away
Annandale Arms Hotel
Annandale Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Moffat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackaddie Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackaddie Country House Hotel

Property: Blackaddie Country House Hotel
Address: Blackaddie Road, Sanquhar DG4 6JJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Sanquhar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sanquhar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Blackaddie Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed comfortable award-winning 4 star restaurant with rooms in beautiful surroundings with fantastic food and friendly staff on the banks of the river Nith in Dumfries and Galloway. Close to Drumlanrig Castle Dumfries House and Crawick Multiverse. Fishing available. On the Southern Upland Way in beautiful walking and cycling country. Next door to a swimming pool with golf course less than 1/2 mile away. Only 45 miles from Glasgow ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Blackaddie Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackaddie Country House Hotel Sanquhar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing