We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing break for family and dogs!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Viewforth Cottage

Viewforth Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Viewforth Cottage
Viewforth
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Viewforth Cottage
Viewforth
Twin bedroom
Sitting room
Kitchen with fridge, freezer, dishwasher, washing machine, microwave and lots of cupboard space.
Dining room
Shower room with large shower cubicle, toilet and handbasin
Enclosed garden, perfect for children and pets.
Garden to the side of the cottage
The duck pond behind Viewforth.
Crawick Multiverse, a land art in Sanquhar. Just a short walk from Viewforth.
Viewforth has it's own private field ideal for children and pets to play.
Peaceful countryside walks just minutes from Viewforth
Countryside walks with stunning views just minutes from Viewforth
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sanquhar, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jenny H
shetland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing break for family and dogs!”
Reviewed 14 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
2
people found this review helpful

An ideal place to chill out for a week and relax in this spacious and very well fitted out house, I met up with family along with our dogs, and despite the poor weather it provided everything we needed for a chilled out week with the lovely secure garden and exercise area for the dogs, plus many lovely walks nearby too. The town had everything you needed with takeaways, pubs, cafes, a great small supermarket, you really didn't need to venture far if you didn't want to. Spotlessly clean, comfy beds and plenty room for the 3 of us and our 3 dogs, a super stay, ,many thanks.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Viewforth.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ch42
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“perfect relaxation with our dogs”
Reviewed 12 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We had a wonderful time at Sanquhar in Viewforth cottage. This is the best garden for a holiday cottage, for the dogs that we have rented. So large and secure, we didn't even use the extra field.
The cottage is very cozy and has everything you may need. A home from home.
We loved relaxing in the garden. The town which you can walk in 4 mins is lovely it has bakers, butchers, gift shop, chemist, newsagents etc. We used the take-aways which are great, very reasonably priced and tasty.
East & West (indian & chippy food) highly recommended made fresh for you. We also took the dogs to the Multiverse land art which is very near. We would return in the future and recommend to families for a good base to tour Scotland or just to chill esp. recommended for families with pets (allow multiple pets) we took our 4 and they had the best time. Thanks Caroline for a warm welcome

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're really glad to hear you enjoyed your break at Viewforth. We hope to welcome you and your lovely dogs back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 May 2017
Thank you for your lovely comments. It was great to meet you and we're glad you enjoyed your stay at Viewforth. Hope to welcome you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rosiemadc...
Northampton
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Perfect Home from Home!”
Reviewed 30 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a little gem Viewforth is! A lovely warm welcome from Caroline made us feel at ease right away and it took no time at all to feel comfortably at home. The house is cosy and comfy with everything you need for an enjoyable stay. Very nicely furnished, light and bright and surprisingly roomy inside, a perfect base for visiting the area. The weather turned chilly for us but we were snug and warm indoors and I wouldn't hesitate to stay for a winter break if time permitted.
Very comfortable beds, a well equipped kitchen with dishwasher, washing machine, fridge, freezer and good quality cutlery, crockery and utensils all make catering for yourself a breeze! There is also a lovely bathroom with big walk in shower which I loved! A roomy garage and plenty of parking space plus a pretty garden with a fenced in field area for the children or pets to play outside in safety make this a family friendly property too.
I will not hesitate to recommend Viewforth to my friends and we will definitely visit again.
Thank you Caroline. it will be next year, but we look forward to seeing you again without a doubt.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful area, lovely views of the local countryside, easy walking access to the town and shops.
Liked least: Having to come home too quickly!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jtcedinbu...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great cottage and garden”
Reviewed 27 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Viewforth is a cosy, well-equipped cottage.It has a lovely garden as well as an enclosed green and a field - perfect for tiring out children as well as the dog !
The local pond/lake was also great for entertaining them.
Sanquhar is a great base for exploring Dumfries with walks right on your doorstep. We had a lovely morning at the Crawick Multiverse and a good wander around Drumlanrig estate The local Indian take-away was really good too. Caroline is a lovely host and thoroughly recommend her house.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena L
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed 21 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just stayed here for 3 nights, a last minute booking.
Would just like to say what a fantastic place, can't fault a thing, home from home. Will be back, thank you Caroline

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2016
Thanks for your review. Glad you and your dogs enjoyed your stay at Viewforth and hopefully see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
a_nic_11
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nic”
Reviewed 4 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a last minute short break. Top marks to the cottage...had everything you could possibly need as well as a good internet connection and even a Wii. Dog (and children) had lots of enclosed space to run around in.If you have younger children I recommend a visit to both the cocoa bean factory and cream o'galloway. Will definitely return to this cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing