We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky surroundings and good coffee”

The Rusty Bike Cafe
Ranked #1 of 1 Quick Bites in Swainby
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 27 October 2017

Visited for morning coffee/hot chocolate and cake; all very good and drinks nice and hot. Café was busy, mainly with cyclists, but plenty of tables and service quick, friendly and efficient. The log burner ensured that the café was warm on a chilly morning - we could smell the smoke outside - very welcoming. Ideally we would have had bacon or sausage butties but these are only available at a weekend ... would be good to have them on at other times...! Café not open on Wednesdays and Thursdays. We will return!

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Gillian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 96 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

A great place for coffee and snacks. We visited after walking from Osmotherly. Dog and veggie friendly. Will definitely be back.

Date of visit: October 2017
1  Thank DayTrooper2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

Great coffee shop in a quiet little village, seems to be very popular but as there is nothing else in the village other then the 2 pubs, thats to be expected and is a great addition!
Great drinks and cakes and a lovely little shop within.
Great to see all the bikes hung around for sale. Also a nice touch to see all the extra bits such as bike racks to fully cater for the outdoors customers

Date of visit: September 2017
1  Thank Cazju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

I returned to Swainby for an event at the village school that has recently closed. All of the shops have now also closed,so it was nice to find this cafe open in the site of the old petrol station.
Despite the old fashioned furniture, it's certainly not a cosy tearoom. They have mixed old a new and it hasn't quite worked. The brand new mountain bikes, scattered around the room looked particularly out of place. With labels still attached, I can only assume that they were for sale. A quick peak behind a curtain revealed a cycle workshop, so it seemed that it's more than just a cafe with a cycling theme. The place was bustling with customers and felt lively.
The menu wasn't extensive. It's mostly coffee and cake. I had an americano and a solid looking flapjack. Not cheap, but no more than Costa. There was soup and bacon sandwiches served until 11am.
It's good to see someone giving it a go in a village that has lost so much. Hopefully it will improve and suceed.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

What a lovely little spot hidden from the road and considering I'm a local one that's not very well known.
A great coffee and friendly service in really nice little venue
In my opinion far better than the ones in nearby Stokesley.

Date of visit: September 2017
1  Thank toyotaverso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rusty Bike Cafe also viewed

Swainby, North Yorkshire
Ingleby Cross, North Yorkshire
 
Swainby, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Rusty Bike Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
$USD
United Kingdom
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.