We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expect interesting people and genuine hospitality”
Review of Hotel Kouros

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Kouros
Certificate of Excellence
Yandoit
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Expect interesting people and genuine hospitality”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

There is something about the Kouros Hotel in Apollonas that causes interesting people to gravitate towards it, and to keep coming, year after year: Arthur, the Greek-Australian sculptor, Marcia, the special needs teacher from North Carolina, Tracy, the media-geek and his wife Toni the TV presenter, Stuart, the photographer, Elizabeth, social researcher, Meta, the masseuse, Conor and Gervaise, both doctors, a Russian journalist (whose name escapes me) to mention a few. It is the sort of place where writers, artists and musicians feel at home. This is a place of conversation, relaxation, plus some serious partying. One feels more like a visiting family member than a hotel guest.

Just mention history (in English, Greek or German) to Christos, your host, and be prepared for a most enlightening afternoon learning about Naxos from the stone age to now. Christos is about to publish an academic work on the subject. If that is not to your taste, he is also a DJ of note with a penchant for punk rock. After a few hours, if the discussion slows, freshen up with a quick swim on the beach and return to the bar for an ouzo.

Be prepared for one of our host's 'special dinners': though the hotel does not operate as a restaurant, these occur with unpredictable regularity. There are also excellent tavernas in the village, a few minutes walk away.

The hotel offers a generous breakfast, individually served, featuring produce mostly from the garden or locally sourced.

Most people go to Apollonas as a day trip from Chora, to view the Kouros of Apollonas (6th century BC), have lunch, experience the spectacular scenery of the Naxos hinterland and return. But it is worth stopping a few days.

Rooms are a bit plain, but well kept, all are en-suite with a balcony and everything works. Choose your room with a sea view of the port of Apollonas and looking out to Ikaria, or a mountain view if you don't like to go to bed with the sound of the sea (and possibly the sound of the bar).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_at_Yandoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
24
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We ( family of 5) had a lovely time at this hotel. Great location and best service ever! Thanks Mrs Sideri for your wonderful stuffed tomatoes.
The Flexbar was a perfect place to relax and listen to good music - Janis Jopplin, and cool soul.
We will return!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattias H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Many of the reviews below are so articulate I can only encourage you to read them as I cannot say it better. I can confirm that what fellow travellers have said is true. I had a great seven days here this July. I travelled around the island to begin with but just chilled out at the hotel for for the last few days. It is the best welcome I can recall in any hotel I have stayed in Greece - a country where people are known for their hospitality. Recommended *****

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This wonderful place may not be for everyone, but it was one of the highlights of our month in Greece. As already stated here in many of the other reviews, the enigmatic, but entertaining Christos, is a generally extraordinary host. Staying here is kind of like staying with your laid-back uncle who has dropped out of society. The breakfasts are truly exceptional, with Naxian dairy products and honey, fruits from Christos' garden, homemade jams, and wild-harvested herbal teas. If you are lucky enough to catch one of his dinners (make sure to stay at least 3 nights if you want this), you will not be disappointed. Everything on the table was fresh and local (potatoes from the garden, olive oil from the nearby groves, powerful homebrewed wine) and the atmosphere is convivial.
The beach right out front offers great snorkeling and swimming, and there are lots of nearby places to make day trips. If you will be visiting Naxos and have a car, you could easily make this your base for seeing most of the island, and I would, in fact, recommend doing so.
One last note: although this is definitely a 'budget' style hotel, the quality of the mattresses and linens was exceptional, there is always hot water and good pressure, and the place is very clean. You will sleep comfortably, here, especially if you face away from the ocean!

Room Tip: If you go to bed early and are a light sleeper, it may be best not to face the ocean, where the bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Definitely a very special place for those who want to get away from the hussle and bussle of life in general. You are treated to beautiful views from whichever room you are allocated. Sea at the front and mountains to the rear, and the tinkling of goats bells can be heard in the distance. You arrive at the hotel to be greeted by the host, Christos, and you leave Kouros as his friend. Christos, as well as being an intelligent man with a sense of humour is also an accomplished cook (he grows his own vegetables) and generous barman who is always ready to join in the party. If you "get" Naxos and the Hotel Kouros you will be visiting again and again. A one off experience is not enough!!

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear of the hotel are quieter than those at the front with the sea view. Only for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Como, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I cannot recommend the Hotel Kouros highly enough. This is the opposite of a generic, impersonal hotel. To stay here is to be the guest of a family. Christos is chef extraordinaire, concierge, debating partner, scrabble challenger and DJ, as well as a scholar of Naxian history and published novelist. His mother Poppi is an on-call Greek mother, patching up some of my bumps and scrapes, despite our lack of a shared language. Apollon feels like entering another universe, one where food comes right out of the enormous garden, the incredible goat's cheese is delivered by the farmer's son, and long stretches of beach are free of crowds. You can choose between diving into the water off the rocky beach twenty yards from the front door, or walking around the bay to the calmer, sandy town beach. For those who prefer to lounge, the hotel provides free beach chairs. Cold bottles of Mythos or frappes are always on offer at the beach bar, and for the evenings, local raki - ask Christos about warm raki with honey. The rooms are simple but clean, and have tall french doors to a balcony that let in the breeze off the water and the sounds of waves. There is reliable wifi, though this would also be an amazing place to unplug for a few days. There are small outings in Apollon to eat and to walk, and if you'd like to see more of the island I highly recommend Stuart Thorpe's photography tours - he's been on the island on and off for decades and knows the people and the history intimately. One of the most striking things about the other guests was how many had stayed here before, often not just once but over and over again over decades. I plan on returning as soon as possible.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Hotel Kouros is very special, set in a beautiful location between the mountains and the sea. It is run by Christos and his family, who are very hospitable. If you want a 5-star hotel, this is not for you, but if the old, rustic, uncommercialised Greece appeals, then it is idyllic. The en suite rooms are basic, but very comfortable, each having its own balcony. Christos provides a superb breakfast with plenty of choice and also runs The Flex bar overlooking the Aegean, with a disco, where you can socialise with other guests to the sound of the sea. The town of Apollon has many tavernas, a small supermarket and jewellry/pottery shop surrounding the beach and Stuart Thorpe runs very informative tours of Naxos, with plenty of information about local history. The holiday was so relaxing that a friend told me on the last day that I looked ten years younger!!!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the mountains are quieter and the rooms overlooking the sea are windy and the soun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 972Judy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apollon
0.2 mi away
Adonis Hotel
Adonis Hotel
#1 of 1 in Apollon
246 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rea
Hotel Rea
#48 of 58 in Naxos Town
23 reviews
11.0 mi away
Saint Vlassis Hotel
Saint Vlassis Hotel
#2 of 58 in Naxos Town
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Soula Hotel
Soula Hotel
#28 of 57 in Naxos Town
85 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ostria Inn
Ostria Inn
#1 of 1 in Moutsouna
215 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean View
Ocean View
#22 of 57 in Naxos Town
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kouros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kouros

Property: Hotel Kouros
Address: Apollonas Beach, Apollon 84301, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Naxos > Apollon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Apollon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apollon is in a small fishing village in the northeast area of Naxos island. The village has touristic infrastructure, restaurants, cafe, bars etc and a very nice beach.Hotel Kouros is a family hotel with 24 double rooms with satelite TV, mini bar, air condition, toilet, shower with hot water, telephone and parking place for your car. It is near by the beach (30m) and very close to the village (200m). Every room has a balcony with fantastic view to the sea or the mountains.In Apollon village you can find the ancient statue of Dionysos (12 meter long - 7th century bc), the longest in Greece. Also the ancient minor from which originated all the ancient marbles that the Naxians sent to Delos (Naxian Sphix - Kori Nikandris). Also, up on Kalogeros mountain you can find an medieval castle.Within a few words, Apollon is a beautiful village and hotel Kouros is the right place for your accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Kouros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kouros Naxos/Apollon, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing