We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Evening”
Review of The Duck Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Duck Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Stanhoe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2012

Definitely not the first time I've been to the duck, and yet again I had a lovely meal. The staff are always friendly and the atmosphere was lovely, the food was excellent quality and the christmassy feel felt lovely and warming! I recommend this!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Georgina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2012 via mobile

My stay was for a shooting trip on a local shoot (which was also excellent, I might add), this superb inn and restaurant is a little gem. We parked FI-laws vast beast of a wagon in the ample car park and were greeted by the A team of smart and efficient mind readers they took our bags to our rooms and served excellent local beers and made us feel entirely at home.

I always think you can tell a great place from a good one by the atmosphere. We arrived towards the end of lunch serving, but the satisfying hum of diners eating and enjoying themselves in comfy surroundings was a joy to see and hear. The decor is quality country chic with a big emphasis on comfort. The local artworks and framed photos caught my eye and staff impressively were highly knowledgeable about the area.

I could only salivate over the food as our treat was to eat that night at the sister ship just down the road (The Wiveton Bell). There's a separate review for that, equally good!

There are two rooms at The Duck, both are wonderfully comfortable with very high quality bathroom suites best described as London quality - brilliant. The owners are clearly obsessive when it comes to service and quality; many guests I spoke to in the bar were on their second or third visit. A good sign always.

In summary - this is a superb place to stay, right up there with the best of them. Great food and staff. Book a room and fill your boots!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Stopped here for lunch last Saturday. We hadn't made a booking but had no problems getting a table despite the fact that it's obviously very popular. The food and service were excellent. It's not cheap but not pricey either - 3 courses, coffee and a couple of drinks each came to about £75 for 2. We'd definitely come back here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

We had a perfect Sunday lunch here. Extremely well cooked and nicely presented.
Med rare roast beef, crispy potatoes, great veg selection including lovely cauliflower cheese.
Topped off with delicious home-made horseradish sauce and nice gravy.

Service good and nice ales to boot.

Well done and Thank you.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DdB1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Booked a room for 2 nights 29/10/12-31/10/12 recommended by the Wivton Bell, the room was very spacious and well presented could not fault anything, dinned in the restaurant food was to a superb standard and tasted delicious,staff very friendly and efficient, Kate in particular is a credit to the establishment and works tirelessly.
If you are going to North Norfolk for a holiday or live in Norfolk you must visit this place it will not disappoint either to stay or for a meal

"Book" now as if they keep to the current formula a waiting list will start

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012 via mobile

We were travelling with work down south & decidedly to chance it by going to whatever accommodation we could find..and I could not have wished to have stumbled upon a better B&B! You can see from my photos that the Duck Inn is gorgeous with potential to be a real money maker...the room left us both a-gasp: it was extremely spacious and well decorated with little snacks, tea & coffee. A bed with lots of pillows and a flat screen television! All in the little village of Stanhoe!!! We had dinner downstairs in their restaurant and (although they were very busy) the food was delicious, really good value also. It was also great to have Wifi access seeing as you can barely get any signal in that area, so helpful with us using our laptops. The staff were also very lovely!

Only a few criticisms...
1. There was a lack in breakfast options, only bread, condiments, hot drinks & cereal served. (A hot breakfast would go down a treat in a countryside inn like this)
2. We could hear the regulars drinking downstairs in the bar below our room and they were quite loud making it difficult to sleep

Other than that really quite amazing! My boss owns 3 bars/restaurants which are all in the top 10 in their city listing on Trip Advisor and I told him he must visit!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmiliaLucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

we had lunch for the first time a the duck inn been through stanhoe hundreds of times,stopped for lunch(now the hoste arms is out of favour) we had sea bass and the 12 hour brisket of beef fantastic food and pub,will certainly be back and recommend this place to all,now that 2 or 3 of our regular places around the coast that have change owners and have certainly gone down hill,(read trip advisor).good choice of food,good staff nice interior and the bowl of berty basset allsorts with my after dinner coffee was a wonderful touch.
well done the duck inn

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanhoe
3.4 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,393 reviews
3.3 mi away
Vine House Boutique Hotel
Vine House Boutique Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnham Market
3 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lofts at Mill House Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duck Inn

Address: Burnham Road | Stanhoe, Stanhoe PE31 8QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Stanhoe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Stanhoe
Price Range: £159 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Duck Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Duck Inn Stanhoe, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing