We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely comfortable cottage, a real home from home”
other travellers have booked this property
The Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cottage
Master Bedroom Cosy lounge with open fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
The Cottage
Master Bedroom
Cosy lounge with open fire
The cottage
Ample parking and small patio / garden area
Lounge
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Bathroom
Kitchen with large dinning table and chairs
Twin bedded room
Twin bedded room
The rear of the cottage
The village duck pond
The village duck pond
The village pub 'the Duck Inn' as featured in the Michelin guide
The village pub beer garden
Village playground
Village playground
Stair gate
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Stanhoe, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
S j r
1 review
“Lovely comfortable cottage, a real home from home”
Reviewed 12 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Enjoyed another lovely few days in this comfy cottage. Thank you for the thoughtful gesture of milk, bread and cake waiting for us on arrival. Stanhoe is a cute village with a great pub. Especially loved our walks on the beach at holkham

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trevor_el...
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming, clean and warm cottage - ideal for the Coast”
Reviewed 16 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Lovely stay - charming cottage, clean and well equipped. Large open fire place a great feature also. Quiet location in a small Village with one dog friendly Pub and great food. Shops are a short drive away.
Remoteness means that mobile signals are somewhat intermittent (to say the least) , however the proximity of the Coast and some lovely towns such as Burnham Market, make it all worth while.

would recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahdeMo...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Picture-perfect Norfolk cottage”
Reviewed 31 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Our stay at the cottage was absolutely perfect. We wanted an off-the-grid getaway and this cottage delivered. It is walking distance to a local pub (with great restaurant and friendly staff) and a short drive to Burnham Market with its many artisinal food stores, coffee shops and interior decorating stores.

The cottage itself is very cute and in a picturesque setting.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pat S
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed! Owner needs to read the comment book and take note!”
Reviewed 12 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Not dog safe: ? Parking for 2 small cars, would need lots of manouvering: In need of serious updating, re-decoration and a good clean: No welcome pack as such, or cleaning cloths & products plus lack of items like scissors etc and no info on G.Ps, Vets etc : Resident Mouse:
? Safety, ie smoke detector which was hanging without a battery, vent for fire, particularly hot water: Access to freezer very difficult & washing machine waste outside goes nowhere: I could go on and on. But the bed & sofa were comfortable and clean sheets and towels, and the rooms very spacious. Good location tool

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: general state of the cottage and safety issues.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2016
Hi Pat,
Thanks for your comments and feedback. We do read the visitors book and take on comments. Sorry to hear you were not satisfied. Had you made us aware of any of the issues you have raised or felt impacted your stay whist at the cottage we could have quickly attended to them. You did not make us aware of any issues during the stay. Our cleaner cleans thoroughly each time but we could have asked her to return to attend to the areas you felt unsatisfactory. We do not advertise the garden as being dog safe ( there is a hedge and a 5 bar gate but a small dog can squeeze through) nor do we advertise a welcome pack on arrival. We do however provide some milk and biscuits. A sponge, brush and cloth are provided for cleaning/ washing. up. There is also a welcome folder which details most of the local attractions and facilities. We do not list every single local service/ vets/ G.P's etc as most persons do not require these and can source them online easily if needed. The cottage has 4 smoke alarms and a carbon monoxide alarm the cottage has also been reviewed by the local fire service officer. There is one old alarm still in situ which I think must be the one to which you refer. Pleased that you found the bed and sofa comfortable and cottage spacious with clean sheets and a good location but sad you did not raise any complaints whist at the cottage so we could have rectified them for you at the time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amy70688
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful cosy cottage”
Reviewed 24 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Travelled to Norfolk with family (2 adults, an 8 year old and 16 year old), had a wonderful time, great pretty flint cottage, cosy and fantastic way to unwind, set in a great little village with huge duck pond with lots of ducks and geese and the Duck Inn down the road which was extremely popular, but very welcoming, with lovely food . My two girls loved it here and would definitely recommend it to anyone. A great time was had by all!

Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee G
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a great village.”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We had a great few days at the cottage. Well situated for different requirements and amenities. Cottage is dog friendly downstairs which means traces of dog hair are around. Overall we would recommend pilgrims and stay here in the future.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing