We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Base in Pembrokeshire”
Review of Y Garth B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Y Garth B&B
Ranked #2 of 4 Dinas Cross B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rye, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great Base in Pembrokeshire”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This was a great find on our Pembrokeshire tour. Y Garth is a superior B&B, certainly the most well presented and comfortable room I have ever experienced outside of a top hotel with top quality bedding and towels. The welcome too was warm (with tea and scones offered on arrival). Most highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bamzi1, Owner at Y Garth B&B, responded to this review, 27 February 2015
Thank you for your review and kind comments. We always welcome guests checking in between 4.30 and 5.30pm with afternoon tea with home made cake - glad you enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    7
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
90
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We spent 2 nights in this exceptionally good B&B. The welcome was as warm as it can get, the bedroom/ensuite beautifully furnished and extremely comfortable, and the breakfasts 1st-class. There was great attention to detail which made for a lovely stay. We would highly recommend it to anyone wishing to spend time in North Pembrokeshire.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hilary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bamzi1, Owner at Y Garth B&B, responded to this review, 27 February 2015
We are so glad you enjoyed the facilities here at Y Garth and appreciate your kind comments. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Lovely weekend spent in a lovely part of Wales. Accommodation was wonderful as was the breakfast, we were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived by owner Joyce. Would recommend area & Y Garth to anyone looking to stay around Newport.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank DaiL892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We have just spent four days at the B & B and what a beautiful place! This was my first experience at a B & B and I was a bit reluctant, but the owner, Joyce, was wonderful. There was a gorgeous cream scone with jam and clotted cream and tea upon arrival. When we were shown to our room, there were chocolates left on the bed, wine in a carafe, his and her robes, mini fridge and fresh flowers! I was so impressed that everything was spotlessly clean and the hot water in the shower was instant! I don't even have that in my own house! I was there on business and one morning had to leave especially early and Joyce even prepared our breakfast for us specially. We really did feel like we had been looked after so well, I can't recommend Y-Garth enough! You will not be sorry. Book the Strumble room as it is exquisitely decorated too!

Room Tip: We loved the Strumble room. It was quiet, and beautifully decorated and also has a view of the ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmericanSue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My parents and I stayed in Preseli and Carn Ingli (which has its own washbasin to complement the private external bathroom). Felt like staying in a cosy, beautifully contemporary home. Loved the skylights and sloping ceilings in the bathrooms, the chocolates on the bed, the mini-fridges with fresh milk and chilled water, and the views over to the hills.

Best breakfast of our trip so far - fruit salad and creamy yoghurt, generous portions, lovely Hollandaise for the eggs royale, thick-cut smoked salmon and ham, all locally sourced.

Great location just off the A487 coastal road in the northern bit of Pembrokeshire National Park - we had a car, but there was a bus shelter a minute away and seemed to be plenty of local taxi services. Went for a short walk up Dinas Head (drive down to the carpark of the Old Sailor restaurant marked on Google maps) - stunning in the summer evening light - before heading off to St David's and environs the next day.

Very impressed by Joyce who does it all herself! Thank you Joyce and hope all has gone well this weekend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Everything was exactly as described. Diolch yn fawr!!

Excellent in every way, great food, all spotlessly clean and a lovely welcome.

Why does Tripadvisor demand 200 characters - there is no more to be said, this place is perfection

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WelshWanderer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bamzi1, Owner at Y Garth B&B, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for reviewing - so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Diolch yn fawr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have just returned from a two night stay and overall must say how pleased we were with this B and B!

Joyce has built a wonderful business which she seems very proud of. She clearly enjoys her work and shows this through her very warming hospitality. The room was always immaculate and the bed was exceptionally comfortable! We also noticed how well stocked the en-suite was with shampoo, hand wash etc.

Upon arrival, we were presented with a very welcome pot of tea and extra large scones which were delicious!

The breakfast was lovely. Very tasty and excellent quality!

In short the hotel deserves its 5 star award.

There were two points which we would like to make for possible improvement:
1) We left our dirty towels on the bathroom floor hoping to get fresh towels (yes I know a little uneconomical after one night's stay but hey ho) and were left with the same towels folded on the towel rack when we returned that night.

2) It was lovely to be left a bottle of cold water in the fridge however it would have been great to have a few bottles for the night. (I am sure if we had asked for extra bottles Joyce would have happily provided although at least two left in the fridge would be nice).

Thank you Joyce for a lovely stay and we will return as and when we return to explore South Wales.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrTravel82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bamzi1, Owner at Y Garth B&B, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your comments and pleased you enjoyed your 2 night stay.
There is a sign in the ensuite stating that if you require towels changed daily to put them in the shower tray. As this had not been done I presumed you were happy to have them the following day. If this is not done they are changed every 2 days in any case.
As regards the bottled water a LARGE litre bottle of water is put in the fridge daily, and yes I would have been more than happy to give you another one had you asked! It states in the welcome letter to let me know if there is anything at all you're unhappy with. You didn't mention a thing when you were asked at breakfast if everything was alright in your room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dinas Cross
4.3 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
3.5 mi away
Fishguard Bay Hotel
Fishguard Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goodwick
419 reviews
16.8 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Davids
198 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cartref Hotel
Cartref Hotel
#3 of 4 in Fishguard
121 reviews
8.0 mi away
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wolf's Castle
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Y Garth B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Y Garth B&B

Property: Y Garth B&B
Address: Newport | NEWPORT, Pembrokeshire, Dinas Cross, Newport SA42 0XR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Newport > Dinas Cross
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Dinas Cross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Y Garth B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Star Gold boutique B&B - individually styled en-suite bedrooms with distant sea views or spectacular countryside views. The very comfortable beds are dressed with luxurious linens - the emphasis is on luxury and supreme comfort. The bathrooms are equipped with luxury monsoon power showers, lovely soft towels, dressing gowns and bath products. Superb locally sourced Welsh breakfast - winner of 2015 Breakfast Award. Ideal base to explore North Pembrokeshire or walk the amazing coastal path (just a 10min walk away). The headland at Dinas is one of the most spectacular along the Pembrokeshire coast; the cliffs provide excellent views across to Fishguard or Newport. Convenient for the Irish ferry. Guests can look forward to a high standard of comfort and hospitality. Croeso Cymreig. Warm Welsh welcome. Free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Y Garth B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Y Garth B&B Dinas Cross, Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing