We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Waveney River Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We were touring the Broads by boat and arrived here on a lovely sunny May afternoon. The moorings were great, the showers fantastic and the people so helpful and pleasant. We ate in the new Waveney Inn, which is a lovely spacious modern building. Great beer......according to the men!! Fabulous food, great service. Can thoroughly recommend!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quine19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    93
    30
    17
    6
See reviews for
162
76
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield/Derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Just returned from a week at the centre, its a nice site and our pitch was great, showers and loo's clean and tidy, although the site was very busy. Just small nag, is that the showers are in separate rooms with loo's in and I found that I waited for a shower sometimes as the lower pitchers used them as loo's I think the showers should be separate, but that's my only nag everything else about the site is great, narrow lanes though for caravans

Room Tip: have a Kingfisher pitch if you have a caravan
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tree53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Just returned from a stay at the Waveney River Centre. We were in Mutford lodge. The lodge was spotlessly clean with everything we needed. The beds were a little firm and took a couple of nights to get used to. The bedding supplied is not the best quality, but was very clean. It was nice to wake u to the wildlife around the lodge. We had a bird feeder right outside the front window and the birds were very active on it. It was refilled throughout the week. There was a group of baby rabbits on the grass most evenings which the kids loved to watch. We had one incident one night where a couple with a greyhound seemed to 'accidentally' let the dog go which scattered the rabbits. We had an issue with the hot water, but the response from reception was prompt , in fact the guy was waiting for me when I walked back to the lodge.
Overall we had a really good time here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyM888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Just back from 4 days camping what a great site even though the weather was rainy for a couple of days still plenty to do.

When the weather changed we used the ferry service to walk to Oulton Broads which was lovely and a nice walk. Love the ferry service being on demand and great value too.

The story telling was also great and an added bonus.

Had some amazing food in the new look waverney inn ...the Steak was lovely and cooked to my preference. The staff where also great as new till system installed but even when busy still took the time to check everything was alright.

Big thanks to all the staff especially as my car needed a jump start this morning to get it going.

Will return thanks again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Res1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

when we arrived on site reception was hard to find as not signposted correctly. when we found our pitch there was a dead rabbit, we spoke to our neighbouring pitch and they let us know they had already informed reception a few hour previous to this. we rereported it and someone attended straight away, very miserable and unhelpful. they then removed the dead animal with a stick and drove away leaving us to clean up its guts left there and hose down with water.
on the website it stated you must use organic toilet solution which would be available at your shop, when we arrived we found there was no solution available which was very inconvenient.
the family shower facilities were small,cold and flooring was dirty. the mop supplied in there had no head on it to clean up the floor after use.
pitches were far too close together and too small.
people turned up very late on site, leaving engine running for a long period of time, shouting to find electric as behind stinging nettles which resulted in them waking our young children.
we felt very sorry for the tenting customers as their pitches were far closer together also, and overheard a few of them moaning about this issue.
unfortunately this would result in us not visiting the site again and we surely would not recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamesknight, Owner at Waveney River Centre, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
I was sorry to read these comments, which sadly appear to focus entirely on some negative aspects.

As a family-owned Park, we do strive hard to get things right but there are times when we miss things. It is true that our signage for the new Reception and Shop wasn't sufficiently clear when we moved into a new building a few weeks go but we hope that we've got this resolved this now with new signs.

It's a shame that we'd run out of organic toilet chemical in our shop and can see that this would have been inconvenient. We encourage the use of organic chemicals in caravan and boat toilets as these are more environmentally friendly and do not damage sewage treatment plants.

Our individual shower facilities all have underfloor heating and most customers comment on how spacious they are. All are large enough for an adult and child, 2 are big enough for a family of 3-4 and one is disabled friendly and could accommodate 4 or more. There are 10 shower rooms, and one did indeed have a missing mop head last week for which we are sorry.

Finally, we do have a very clear 'no noise' policy after 9pm and ask all our customers to respect this and to be pitched before this time. Occasionally this policy is flouted, intentionally or unintentionally, and we are sorry if you were disturbed by inconsiderate behaviour of other visitors. Our Warden does do his best to address these issues when they occur, but perhaps he was not aware of this incident.

Thank you anyway for taking the trouble to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

There has been significant investment in this complex and the pub itself has moved 50 yards to an attractively designed building with a high quality finish and different areas ranging from a cosy lounge, to a more practical eating area.

This quality extends to the toilets which are well above the average.

We found all the staff were particularly friendly and attentive. We were a large group of 12 and without exception, all the dishes were at least good, most – especially the sirloin steak, absolutely excellent. The atmosphere is relaxed and the free wifi is an added bonus. This is one of the best places to visit on the Broads, especially if you are on a traditional Norfolk yacht and we rate the showers as the best in the area! We will be pleased to return next year.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ware, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My family and I have recently returned from a weekend away at the Waveney River Centre. The site was immaculate and the lodge we stayed in was clean and spacious with superb views of the country side. It was lovely to wake up and see the cows in the field in front of the lodge and the ducks and the ducklings waddling past.

The bar/restaurant was the most surprising! It was immaculate and very trendy indeed with lovely seating areas to drink and trendy lighting. Not what you expect in the middle of nowhere ha!

The children's play area was great and the swimming pool was excellent and very clean. We would return to this resort in an
heart beat.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burgh St Peter
0.8 mi away
Waveney Inn
Waveney Inn
#1 of 1 in Burgh St Peter
37 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 10 in Lowestoft
454 reviews
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
#3 of 10 in Lowestoft
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Wherry Hotel
Wherry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oulton Broad
487 reviews
4.8 mi away
Waveney House Hotel
Waveney House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beccles
313 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beccles
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waveney River Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waveney River Centre

Property: Waveney River Centre
Address: Staithe Road, Burgh St Peter NR34 0BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Burgh St Peter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Burgh St Peter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Waveney River Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waveney River Centre is the Broads' multi-award winning Holiday Park & Marina, set in the beautiful surroundings of South Norfolk's Waveney Valley, with stunning south and west facing views across marshes and river. The Park is a wildlife haven, where you can spend hours watching birds, insects and other wildlife from the peace & quiet of your holiday lodge, or venture further along the river by day cruiser or canoe.For campers & caravanners, our touring and camping site occupies an idyllic south-facing location overlooking the marina and river, and is open all year thanks to our eco-friendly, heated shower rooms. The Park features a family-friendly pub, indoor heated swimming pool & café, children's play areas, Mace convenience store, launderette and information centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Waveney River Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waveney River Centre Burgh St Peter, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing