We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for lunch”
Review of Village Green

Village Green
Ranked #3 of 5 Restaurants in Eyam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$13
Cuisines: Delicatessen, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Super little cafe perfectly located in the heritage village of Eyam in the Peak District. We bake gorgeous cakes and cook tasty savouries 7 days a week for you to enjoy, using fantastic local produce. Our coffee is Fairtrade, organic and rainforest certified but above all is expertly made and tastes great, and we do our bit to maintain the superb environment we are in by recycling and encouraging less packaging for our take-aways.So pop in before or after your walk, or if you're really organised phone ahead & order a posh picnic, crammed with goodies to enjoy on your walk. We'll happily fill your flask with our gorgeous soup on colder days.Free wi-fi is available, there are treats for your four-legged friends, so join us at VG for a warm welcome and a spot of heritage on the Eyam trail. Finalist in the Derbyshire Food and Drink Awards Tea Room of the Year 2012, Cafe of the Year 2013. Awarded Peak District Environmental Quality Mark 2013 Free Wifi
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for lunch”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

A very friendly cafe. Good kids menu and veggie options. We sat outside with our dog who was offered water and a dog biscuit by the friendly member of staff !

Helpful?
Thank Holly100000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara P, Owner at Village Green, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave this review - it's very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    30
    6
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
1 review
“Good cafe”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Just been to village green with friends to celebrate my birthday. Was a bit disappointed they didn't have scones and they had run out of some of the savoury menu options even though it was only 2.20ish. However the coffee and cakes on offer were delicious. I had the courgette and lime cake which was really scrummy despite the unusual ingedients. The staff were friendly and helpful but did seem slightly stressed by being so busy.

Helpful?
Thank dalmation101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara P, Owner at Village Green, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Many thanks for your comments - we had literally just reopened following a refurbishment so unfortunately there were a couple of things off the menu, and although it wasn't a particularly busy weekend for us we were getting used to things being in slightly different places!

For anyone else planning a birthday visit do let us know in advance and we'll bring out the candles - it's nice to treat someone on their special day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely place, great cake and friendly staff.”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I have visited Village Green twice now, both times we have has excellent service and the food and drink has been top notch. The place has a really homely feel about it as well, definitely worth a visit if you are nearby.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara P, Owner at Village Green, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to review Village Green and I'm really pleased you enjoy visiting the cafe. We have just reopened after a few days closed to refurbish and make some improvements so I hope you pop back soon to have a peek!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great for lunch”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Really enjoyed our lunch here. The toasties were a little different - mozzarella, chorizo and chilli jam and pear, Stilton and rocket - and delicious. They came with a bit of homemade coleslaw and some salad leaves. I'd like to mention that my peppermint tea was made with loose leaves, very nice. Really recommend it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LincolnLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara P, Owner at Village Green, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thanks for lovely comments; our toasties are very popular & the Suki Peppermint Tea is gorgeous, loose-leaf, properly brewed tea.
Many thanks again.
Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grindleford, United Kingdom
1 review
“A superb cafe in the historic Village of Eyam, Derbyshire.”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This cafe is one of the best in the area. Always made to feel welcome by the friendly team that work there. The food and beverages are top quality and very reasonably priced in view of this. I enjoy breakfasts and lunches on a regular basis and am in most days for a cappuccino. I have also used their outside catering service for parties too and my guests really enjoyed the food! Thank you Village Green!@

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank louise m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara P, Owner at Village Green, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time leave a review. We're so lucky to have such lovely regulars who really have made Village Green a great place to work; home from home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Village Green also viewed

 
Castleton, Hope Valley
 
Hathersage, Hope Valley
Hathersage, Hope Valley
 

Been to Village Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing