We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch and breakfast”
Review of Village Green

Village Green
Ranked #3 of 5 Restaurants in Eyam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$13
Cuisines: Delicatessen, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Super little cafe perfectly located in the heritage village of Eyam in the Peak District. We bake gorgeous cakes and cook tasty savouries 7 days a week for you to enjoy, using fantastic local produce. Our coffee is Fairtrade, organic and rainforest certified but above all is expertly made and tastes great, and we do our bit to maintain the superb environment we are in by recycling and encouraging less packaging for our take-aways.So pop in before or after your walk, or if you're really organised phone ahead & order a posh picnic, crammed with goodies to enjoy on your walk. We'll happily fill your flask with our gorgeous soup on colder days.Free wi-fi is available, there are treats for your four-legged friends, so join us at VG for a warm welcome and a spot of heritage on the Eyam trail. Finalist in the Derbyshire Food and Drink Awards Tea Room of the Year 2012, Cafe of the Year 2013. Awarded Peak District Environmental Quality Mark 2013 Free Wifi
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This little tea room serves some of the nicest coffee I have ever tasted. We came here twice on our over night stay in Eyam and first had lunch and then breakfast here the following day! Nice, friendly staff and great value!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kirstinmazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara P, Owner at Village Green, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Love that you made it two visits in one day and that you took the time to tell us about your experience. It's very rewarding to get positive feedback & I love sharing customer feedback with all of the team because we do work hard to provide the best experience possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 176 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

We popped in on Monday. We started at the pub but no obvious gluten free options so went to the Village Green instead and I am glad we did. It was busy. We sat outside with our dogs and it's a lovely spot. The staff were very friendly and helpful and I was delighted to see that gluten free bread was available. We both had sandwiches which came with crisps, coleslaw and a lovely side salad with grapes and pumpkin seeds. There were lots of lovely looking cakes including gluten free but we didn't partake on this occasion . I bought some bread to take home for the famly. Ice cream is available too. We will definitely return on another day when the museum is open.

Thank HelenRockabillyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara P, Owner at Village Green, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

So pleased you enjoyed your visit & highlighted our gluten-free choices. We do our best (and keep our eye out for new recipes!) to accommodate people with allergies and to be inclusive so that you can all have a reasonable choice & enjoy eating out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

nice stop off for tea and a scoop of rum and raisin ice cream (my partner had cherry bakewell and chocolate flavours), well worth a visit.

Thank carina62_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara P, Owner at Village Green, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write & I couldn't agree more about Bradwells icecream. It's made a few miles away and they've just introduced a superb salted caramel flavour - delicious!
With 8 flavours to choose from it can be a little tricky deciding...!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

A very friendly cafe. Good kids menu and veggie options. We sat outside with our dog who was offered water and a dog biscuit by the friendly member of staff !

Thank Holly100000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara P, Owner at Village Green, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thanks for taking the time to leave this review - it's very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Just been to village green with friends to celebrate my birthday. Was a bit disappointed they didn't have scones and they had run out of some of the savoury menu options even though it was only 2.20ish. However the coffee and cakes on offer were delicious. I had the courgette and lime cake which was really scrummy despite the unusual ingedients. The staff were friendly and helpful but did seem slightly stressed by being so busy.

Thank dalmation101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara P, Owner at Village Green, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Many thanks for your comments - we had literally just reopened following a refurbishment so unfortunately there were a couple of things off the menu, and although it wasn't a particularly busy weekend for us we were getting used to things being in slightly different places!

For anyone else planning a birthday visit do let us know in advance and we'll bring out the candles - it's nice to treat someone on their special day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Village Green also viewed

 
Castleton, Hope Valley
 
Hathersage, Hope Valley
Hathersage, Hope Valley
 

Been to Village Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing