We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special !!”
Review of Village Green

Village Green
Ranked #3 of 5 Restaurants in Eyam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$13
Cuisines: Delicatessen, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Super little cafe perfectly located in the heritage village of Eyam in the Peak District. We bake gorgeous cakes and cook tasty savouries 7 days a week for you to enjoy, using fantastic local produce. Our coffee is Fairtrade, organic and rainforest certified but above all is expertly made and tastes great, and we do our bit to maintain the superb environment we are in by recycling and encouraging less packaging for our take-aways.So pop in before or after your walk, or if you're really organised phone ahead & order a posh picnic, crammed with goodies to enjoy on your walk. We'll happily fill your flask with our gorgeous soup on colder days.Free wi-fi is available, there are treats for your four-legged friends, so join us at VG for a warm welcome and a spot of heritage on the Eyam trail. Finalist in the Derbyshire Food and Drink Awards Tea Room of the Year 2012, Cafe of the Year 2013. Awarded Peak District Environmental Quality Mark 2013 Free Wifi
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nothing special !!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Average all round, we would not visit there again, beautiful building and surroundings, but found food over priced and staff needing training.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank tracey s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara P, Owner at Village Green, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
I'm very disappointed that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations and therefore our own.
It would be very helpful if you could email us to give more detail about why you felt the staff needed more training in order that we can look into your comments in more detail.
Best wishes
Sara Price
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    30
    6
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Heavenly cream tea!!”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Sara who runs the Village Green agreed for me to bring thirty-three 10/11 year old children and 8 adults for a cream tea, while we were on a residential in Derbyshire. Originally the plan was for us to sit outside, but the weather put paid to this! Sara and her two helpers cleared the window ledges and provided extra seats, so that we could all stay inside. They also kept the café open, especially for us. We were treated to the most incredible cream tea, with scones, jam, clotted cream; milk and squash for the children and hot drinks for the adults. Nothing was too much trouble and I cannot thank them enough for all that they did for us and the kindness that they showed. It was such an incredible experience and I only wish that the Village Green wasn't nearly 3 hours away from us!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara P, Owner at Village Green, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thanks for your super comments - all I can say is that we had a super time meeting you all - Fabius staff and children who left a lasting impression - in a very positive way.
All our good wishes to Orchard Meadow & we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Yummy cakes and coffee”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I have visited the Village Green cafe twice and both times have enjoyed delicious food, wonderful coffee and excellent friendly service from all the staff

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SHUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara P, Owner at Village Green, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
So glad you enjoy your visits and for taking the time to leave a review. If you haven't already picked up a loyalty card make sure you do next visit - free coffee & entry into a quarterly (ish!) prize draw for other goodies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lunch and breakfast”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This little tea room serves some of the nicest coffee I have ever tasted. We came here twice on our over night stay in Eyam and first had lunch and then breakfast here the following day! Nice, friendly staff and great value!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kirstinmazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara P, Owner at Village Green, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Love that you made it two visits in one day and that you took the time to tell us about your experience. It's very rewarding to get positive feedback & I love sharing customer feedback with all of the team because we do work hard to provide the best experience possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely cafe, Gluten Free options”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We popped in on Monday. We started at the pub but no obvious gluten free options so went to the Village Green instead and I am glad we did. It was busy. We sat outside with our dogs and it's a lovely spot. The staff were very friendly and helpful and I was delighted to see that gluten free bread was available. We both had sandwiches which came with crisps, coleslaw and a lovely side salad with grapes and pumpkin seeds. There were lots of lovely looking cakes including gluten free but we didn't partake on this occasion . I bought some bread to take home for the famly. Ice cream is available too. We will definitely return on another day when the museum is open.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank HelenRockabillyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara P, Owner at Village Green, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
So pleased you enjoyed your visit & highlighted our gluten-free choices. We do our best (and keep our eye out for new recipes!) to accommodate people with allergies and to be inclusive so that you can all have a reasonable choice & enjoy eating out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Village Green also viewed

 
Castleton, Hope Valley
 
Hathersage, Hope Valley
Hathersage, Hope Valley
 

Been to Village Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing