We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and atmosphere!”
Review of Village Green

Village Green
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Eyam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$13
Cuisines: Delicatessen, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Super little cafe perfectly located in the heritage village of Eyam in the Peak District. We bake gorgeous cakes and cook tasty savouries 7 days a week for you to enjoy, using fantastic local produce. Our coffee is Fairtrade, organic and rainforest certified but above all is expertly made and tastes great, and we do our bit to maintain the superb environment we are in by recycling and encouraging less packaging for our take-aways.So pop in before or after your walk, or if you're really organised phone ahead & order a posh picnic, crammed with goodies to enjoy on your walk. We'll happily fill your flask with our gorgeous soup on colder days.Free wi-fi is available, there are treats for your four-legged friends, so join us at VG for a warm welcome and a spot of heritage on the Eyam trail. Finalist in the Derbyshire Food and Drink Awards Tea Room of the Year 2012, Cafe of the Year 2013. Awarded Peak District Environmental Quality Mark 2013 Free Wifi
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere!”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

A friend and I grabbed breakfast here to seek shelter from the cold and rain while we waited on our bus. The food (and tea!) was amazing. The staff were really friendly. We also appreciated the free WiFi! Definitely would recommend.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank midenianscholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara P, Owner at Village Green, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Glad we could provide a little respite from your wait for the bus - you're not alone in that respect. Thank you for your very positive comments and for taking the time to leave a review.
Come and find us again soon!

Best wishes,
Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    30
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

I have been to the cafe 3 times now, once mid bike ride with my husband and then with my daughters and a friend (twice in one daY) I hope I get to visit again as can't fault this place. Good coffee, lovely cakes and friendly service. Really want to come back to try the salads as look amazing! We tried the lime and courgette cake which is heavenly.
Excellent place with children as a few books/colouring for them to do and also good options for them drink wise - sensibly sized drinks for kids are always a big tick in my book. My 9 year old said the milkshake was excellent.
Hope to be back soon for a proper lunch this time!

Helpful?
Thank Claire0812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara P, Owner at Village Green, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review us and for your lovely comments. As a mum myself being child-friendly is very important so that everyone has a break & a treat!
Hope to see you again soon,

Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unfriendly cafe”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I visited Village Green cafe with my family for a mid-day snack during our summer break holidays. We were appalled by how the staff were unwelcoming, making us wait for half an hour before taking our order. The waitress was rude in a way that we wanted to leave but as we were in a hurry to start the day we decided to have the food and get out of the place. The food (scones + flapjack) was poor quality which made our experience even worse. I wouldn't recommend the cafe and surely wouldn't try it again!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Nasrin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara P, Owner at Village Green, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
At the time of this review the cafe was closed for our Summer break and had been for a few days. Also as it clearly says on the menu & blackboards 'please order at the counter', we could not have made you wait half an hour to be served.

Whenever possible we let customers know as they arrive to order at the counter as we do get busy, particularly during the Summer period.

My staff are often praised for their friendly service without being pushy and as an independent business we care passionately about giving a high level of service.

All our cakes are baked freshly on the premises to ensure consistently high quality and we've just been awarded two Great Taste Awards for 2 of our bakes.

I respect constructive, genuine feedback. Unfortunately, I don't believe this review was either.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sutton, surrey, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Best sandwich ever”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Good friendly service and lovely sandwich made from fresh. Plenty of dog treats supplied by staff which our Labrador was most impressed with! Highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarah241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara P, Owner at Village Green, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thanks for leaving such lovely comments - I remember you both coming in because you had such a friendly and positive outlook on life and made us smile too. It's why we do what we do!

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Delicious food in beautiful surrounding served by helpful staff”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a delicious lunch and loved the decor of this cafe in a perfect location. The food was top quality and great value and the staff were friendly but not pushy So it was a place well now return to soon.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank qualitygirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara P, Owner at Village Green, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review us and glad you enjoyed your lunch with us. It's been great fun putting together the look for the cafe and sourcing loving things so your feedback is very welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Village Green also viewed

 
Castleton, Hope Valley
 
Eyam, Hope Valley
Tideswell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Village Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing