We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect cottage holiday!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of East View Cottage

Welcome to East View Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to East View Cottage
East View cottage sunny seating area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
Welcome to East View Cottage
East View cottage
sunny seating area
cosy sitting room
afternoon tea
kitchen fireside
family dining
pretty bedrooms
time to relax
family Bathroom
merry Christmas and New Year!
dogs make themselves at home
track from the farm
come and meet the animals
some more Hollins Farm residents
hire our Triumph Herald for a day
bring your own horse
beautiful walks from the doorstep
Eyam Hall
Eyam Church
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Eyam, Hope Valley, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scriv123
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage holiday!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed at East View for the Whitsun holiday with our 3 children and it was perfect.
The cottage is very pretty with everything you need for your holiday. The rooms are all lovely & clean and thoughtfully laid out.
We loved the farm eggs & yummy tea bread on our arrival! The owner, Jo, is so helpful & friendly and our daughter really enjoyed meeting the farm animals, especially feeding the pigs & seeing the sheep getting their manicures!
The cottage is really well situated for visiting all the local attractions. There is a beautiful historic walk you can follow around the village explaining its interesting history. We did so many walks, historic houses & the fabulous Monsal Trail bike ride too. The scenery is amazing whatever the weather!
We had a brilliant family holiday & would certainly like to come back and stay in this beautiful cottage, it is perfect.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macaravey
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“EAST VIEW COTTAGE”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a thoroughly enjoyable time.
The cottage was all I hoped it would be with fresh eggs and bread there to welcome us. Joanna was so helpful and available for advice, nothing was too much trouble.
My little granddaughter was catered for with a highchair, travel cot, stair gates, toys and books.
I will certainly be visiting again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaThom
Bruchsal, Germany
1 review
“Charming house, lovely family - make you feel at home at once !”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Coming from sunny Germany we immediately fell in love with the charming house despite grey England weather (only in the beginning of the week). Jo and Matt arranged the house truely with good taste and the interiors don't leave anything to be desired. It is perfect for a family up to 5 or for two pairs. You can easily supply yourself as everything is on hand. For evenings there is also a very nice pub with good food (and beer and cidre) within a short walk, also there is a local store for everday supplies.
Eyam is very well situated within the Peak District and wonderful destinations in the surroundings easily to reach. The owners are more than helpful and you can also purchase farm goods from them - we're already longing for the next visit to come ! Thanks for everything !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: 2 open fires, to be invited to have look at the new born lambs
Liked least: nothing !!!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainman87...
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
“Fabulous cottage, really well equipped, ideal springboard for the peaks”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

The site pictures really do not do this gorgeous cottage justice. It is a terrific character cottage with an abundance of charm, cosy and well furnished and a kitchen that's hard not to fall in love with! The site owners, Jo and Matt, are close and on hand and were attentive but never overbearing during our break. We were taken with the generously proportioned rooms, the stylish décor, the abundance of pots/pans/dishes/crockery/cutlery on hand which readily afforded easy entertaining of family who visited during our stay. We took along our dog - adhered to the basic house rules - and relished the opportunity of holidaying with him. Though the cottage itself does not enjoy far reaching countryside views, this is more than compensated by the intimacy and character this accommodation affords and is located within easy reach of public footpaths. We were blessed with plenty of sunshine during our March break and able to take advantage of the sitting area at the front of the cottage - we are already looking at booking again at east view - Eyam is ideally located to explore the peak district and this cottage is ideally suited to facilitate an exceptionally comfortable stay. Highly recommended in a heart beat :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth K
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a fascinating and beautiful spot.”
Reviewed 7 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Very cosy, but much more spacious than it looks in the photos. Proper cottagey, and comfortable furniture - including a bed so comfortable it was like sleeping on a cloud. Everything you need and all the things that make it easier to relax, such as dishwasher, washer and dryer etc. Jo, our host, was friendly but unobtrusive. Always available at the top of the Lane if needed, and provider of delicious home made bread and free range eggs.
Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy K
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 28 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

This is one of the nicest cottages we've ever stayed in. From the first impression (Jo had left a light on for us as we arrived in the dark) to the spacious and well equipped rooms it was absolutely ideal. I was especially impressed with the le Creuset cook-ware
We normally don’t like having to meet the owners, but Jo was so friendly and nice (without being OTT) we felt truly welcomed.
She had laid two wood fires for us and for £5 she laid us two more later in the week. We also bought a pheasant from her and used the recipe she kindly gave us to great success!
Parking is incredibly easy and there is a decent pub and shop within walking distance.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving...
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLWhiteUK
Hastings, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Writer's delight - peaceful, cosy and brilliantly located”
Reviewed 23 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I booked East View as I needed a quiet, comfortable location where I could work on a script for a week.

Eyam was perfect as it wasn't too remote, had a friendly (and tasty) pub, useful corner shop and interesting museums, churches and a National Trust property all within 10 minutes walking of East View. And while I spent most of the week sitting in front of one of the two fires, I did manage to get out for a bit of a walk right from the doorstep. Eyam is also very easy to get to by public transport.

But as most of my time was spent inside working, comfort and peace were the two main requirements - and I got that in spades.

Jo was the perfect host - she collected me from the station, made sure I had everything I needed, supplied me with firewood and homecooked prepared meals, and even invited me to dinner in her lovely home with her family, where I got to meet Tiny Tim the little piglet.

The cottage has everything you need plus some. While still retaining that cosy cottage feel with wooden beams and big open fireplaces, it has all the mod cons throughout, (including internet tv so I could watch a bunch of films on LoveFilm after a hard day writing) and big comfy chairs and sofa. Things like having memory foam on the bed and thick duvets makes everything very snug, and I always got the feeling that Jo and Matt were creating a space in which they themselves would enjoy staying, which gives it a very thoughtful and considered feel.

Overall, it was one of the most comfortable cottages I've ever stayed in (and I stay in a lot of them!). I'll certainly be making East View my base when I'm next up that way.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hospitality, comfort, big open fires, location, quietness
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$71
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing