We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice cottage - just enough for a couple or small...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of East View Cottage

Welcome to East View Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to East View Cottage
East View cottage sunny seating area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
60 reviews
Welcome to East View Cottage
East View cottage
sunny seating area
cosy sitting room
afternoon tea
kitchen fireside
family dining
pretty bedrooms
time to relax
family Bathroom
merry Christmas and New Year!
dogs make themselves at home
track from the farm
beautiful walks from the doorstep
Eyam Hall
Eyam Church
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Eyam, Hope Valley, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Shari B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice cottage - just enough for a couple or small family.”
Reviewed 25 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Jo was very responsive and helpful. The only issue we had was getting the heat to work. Jo came down and corrected the situation right away. The cottage was a nice little home from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was clean, comfortable and quiet.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C K
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cosy Cottage in an Interesting Village”
Reviewed 9 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This is a lovely, cosy cottage on the edge of Eyam, within a few minutes walking distance of all of the village amenities. It is comfortable and warm, with open fires in the kitchen and lounge should you need them, and two large comfortable bedrooms, ideal for two couples or a small family. The cottage has a small gravelled area out front where you can enjoy the morning sun and a small decked area at the back, just off the landing, where you can enjoy the afternoon sun. Jo, the owner, had prepared the cottage for us really well, complete with a basket and bowl of water for the dog, home made bread and 6 eggs for us, and flowers, all of which made us feel welcome from the start. Wi-Fi is good (altho we struggled with mobile phone connection!). There are very good pubs and restaurants in the area (recommend particularly Stellas Kitchen and the Bulls Head at Foolow) as well as lots to do - good walks, a village museum, Eyam Hall, stately homes etc. We had a really good week and certainly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & cosiness of cottage
Liked least: Too little lighting in kitchen area
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scriv123
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday, again!”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Second visit to this beautiful cottage!
(we visited last year in May/June)
It was brilliant to come back & this time bring our 11 month old Labrador too!
The cottage has everything you need & the kids (15,11 & 7 yrs) loved discovering the new features added this year!
The owners Jo & Matt are so welcoming and friendly, the cake on arrival was delicious!
Our daughter loved feeding the lambs & brushing Tom the pony.
The dog thoroughly enjoyed playing with the farm dogs & being able to run around in the field too!
Eyam is such a pretty village to explore with lots to see & do.
We visited the Monsal Trail again, the Hassop station cafe does the best food.
We spent a great day trekking up Kinder Scout, the trail is beautiful and the views at the top are awesome!

Another excellent holiday at the lovely East View Cottage, we certainly hope to visit again!


Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tweedlede...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely well appointed cottage”
Reviewed 30 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The owners were really lovely and very helpful, I can't thank them enough for taking their time to show the children the farm animals, the children thought it was just the best place ever! The Cottage great and had everything we needed. Within a short walk (5-10 minutes) is a great park for small children, Eyam Hall and the village centre. Lovely cottage, lovely village.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Location, the warm welcome and the log fire even though it was May!
Liked least: Hard to criticise really.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2015
Thanks so much for the lovely review. It's great to help the children to get to know, and enjoy the animals.
Jo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camille20...
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 17 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Our girls' weekend away was wonderful. The cottage was very cosy and the fresh eggs and homemade bread left on the kitchen table for our arrival were a lovely touch. Jo and Matt, the owners, couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. Jo really included us in farm life, we bottle fed a couple of the lambs and even helped to deliver one (unintentionally!) - a great experience. Eyam is a very pretty village and a lovely place to explore in its own right, it's also a great base from which to discover what the rest of the Peak District has to offer. Enjoy! We'd all love to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kel001
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fabulous break in the peak district”
Reviewed 6 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Wonderful time with my wife and young daughter who is nearly 1 year. Jo the owner of the farm just up the track, really looked after us - the cot, high chair and stair gates were all organised for us and we had fun every day feeding the animals. Fantastic experience for our daughter and great fun for us too!
Thoroughly recommend the cottage as a country retreat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet and friendliness of owner Jo
Liked least: The weather was a bit ropey for the week
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
go574
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“lovely, cosy, dog friendly cottage, with helpful friendly owners”
Reviewed 6 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

My partner and I stayed at East View with our 2 dogs and had a lovely stay. The cottage is very cosy, so a perfect place to come back to after our long walksin the snow. The cottage is very dog friendly. Jo the owner couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. We bought some amazing lamb and a pheasant from her (and she even provided a recipe). Lovely walks right from the doorstep.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing