We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The absolute perfect, cosy little getaway!”
other travellers have booked this property
Our Shepherds Hut nestled in a quiet peaceful corner away from the hustle & bustle of your busy
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our Shepherds Hut nestled in a quiet peaceful corner away from the hustle & bustle of your busy
Our cosy,comfy romantic retreat for 2, with views of the hills & beautiful Peak District Luxurious washroom with hot water, electric shower, heated towel rail, toilet & utility area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
169 reviews
Our Shepherds Hut nestled in a quiet peaceful corner away from the hustle & bustle of your busy
Our cosy,comfy romantic retreat for 2, with views of the hills & beautiful Peak District
Luxurious washroom with hot water, electric shower, heated towel rail, toilet & utility area
The woodburning stove, perfect for keeping warm on a cold evening, you'll never want to leave!
Wild flowers & wine glasses.....
Summertime in the hut
?? Welcome
'Heart' shutters with a hint of the views beyond......
Out of the gate & down the lane....
Wedding Celebrations ??
Quirky compliments ????
Honeymoon time
Summertime inside thehuteyam
Original cast wheels & a comfy love seat
Alfresco dining / seating area
At the back........
Views over Historic Eyam
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Shepherds hut -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Eyam, Hope Valley, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 169 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
djw3146
Warwick
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The absolute perfect, cosy little getaway!”
Reviewed 11 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Our trip began with an adventurous 9 point turn and 150m reverse down a hill as our sat nav thought the place was further up than it was, leading us up a rocky road which eventually turned into a narrow path. However, when we arrived, we were shown to the lovely Plankbridge shepherds hut by the lovely and friendly owner. Inside was the most beautiful cabin, extremely well presented and looked just as cosy as the photos looked and much larger inside than it seemed.. It had a lovely, comfortable double bed at one end, shelves and tables with gorgeous little trinkets and books and even a little pot of those 'love hearts' sweets as a cute little addition for our romantic mini-break. It had a magnificent wood-burner stove near the door which we couldn't wait to light and kept us more than cosy with the flickering flames at night. In the mornings, we were delivered a breakfast hamper containing fresh yoghurt and berry compote, bread rolls with homemade jam and locally sourced honey. We had a jar of granola, pint of milk and a flask of coffee too. Perfect for the cold morning. Next to the owners beautiful house is the shower room, sink and toilet. Extremely clean and new-looking with fresh, soft towels made it all the better.
We both loved staying here and will recommend it to anyone who listens! We may even come back when its snowing and freezing cold just so we can fire up the wood-burner and snuggle down for the night again with a bottle of red! You really must stay here!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: The design and cosiness (if that's a word)
Liked least: The walk in the night to the toilet but this just made it more of a camping type adventure.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex T
1 review
“Lovely little hideaway perfect for couples”
Reviewed 1 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My husband and I had a lovely couple of days at The huteyam and the owner Rachel was so lovely and very welcoming. We wanted a break from all the busyness before the school's started back again and the hut was perfect for us to just chill out and spend quality time together. The hut is small but contains everything you need - comfy bed, board games and books, torches and even a log burner (although not recommended for Summer, it gets very warm!) We were pleasantly surprised that the hut had electric points so we could keep our phones charged (if we wanted to) and the washroom was clean and well looked after too.
The highlights of our stay had to be the lovely breakfast that Rachel prepared for us each morning. You get a hamper with breads, yoghurt and cereals delivered to the hut each morning at a time that suits you. Eating this outside on the picnic bench in such lovely surroundings was a great start to the day, and even when it rained we could eat inside and still enjoy the atmosphere of the place.
Recommendations for local places to eat are provided by the owners and very well selected - we definitely ate well on this holiday! And Eyam is a very nice little village with enough to do for days where you don't feel like going further afield.
I can't think of anything that I would have improved about our stay at the huteyam, other than I wish we had got chance to use the wood fire outside, but there is always next time! Oh, and take some insect repellent if you are prone to being bitten - hazards of the countryside that can't be avoided really.
Thank you Rachel for a lovely stay! I hope we will be able to make the trip there again one day soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Breakfast!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire_po...
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended stay”
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Rachel was very welcoming and friendly she went out her way to be accommodating and was extremely helpful. The hut was roomy, clean and perfectly quirky. We had use of a fridge, freezer, shower, a fire with wood and kettle with teas and coffee. The location was a short walk from Eyam main street, set in quiet scenic countryside.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janeeliza...
Brighouse, United Kingdom
1 review
“Happiness in The Hut”
Reviewed 15 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Lovely couple of nights spent in The Hut. Very peaceful and idyllic. Rachel was so friendly and so helpful. Fantastic way to enjoy a weekend.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pcbots
hull
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect peaceful retreat”
Reviewed 8 August 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night as a getaway to celebrate our 6 year anniversary. We were made to feel very welcome and absolutely loved the hut! It's small but not too small, cosey yet uncluttered, and has only a radio in terms of electronics which was perfect! There are board games, books and blankets provided and a gorgeous little fire in the corner for if it gets cold. The only 'negatives' were that it is actually in the garden of a house - although being placed in the furthest corner of the garden this didn't bother us once we were in there - and that the bathroom facilities are up the garden in a separate building (requiring that you walk past the house to use the loo). Again once we got used to the layout it wasn't an issue, just something to be aware of. There's loads of information provided on activities and where to eat in the area, and Rachel couldn't have been more helpful! I would definitely recommend a stay here, we arrived and left within 18 hours but felt so calm and refreshed it could have been a week!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The decor - it's like a real life pinterest board!
Liked least: Check in time of 4pm is a little late
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCIT_7
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The perfect getaway”
Reviewed 5 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We go away quite a lot and have stayed in many different places. Of all the places we have stayed, I've never once felt compelled to write a review. However, after staying in the hut in Eyam I felt I had no choice. I had to tell others how amazing this place is.
We booked this as a relaxing start to our holidays.
We arrived and were treated to an extremely warm welcome by Rachel. She showed us around the facilities. It was a surprise for my girlfriend who was blown away by what she saw. The attention to detail and the obvious enthusiasm Rachel has for the place was fantastic.
The actual hut is incredible cosy and be prefect setting for a romantic getaway.
We took a bbq with us and after a nice walk around Eyam we got on with the cooking.
It turned chilly so we pulled out the firepit and lit the wood we'd been left (plenty for a decent fire). We made the most of the games available in the hut and enjoyed the most relaxing evening imaginable, watching the sun set over the fields of Eyam.
After a great nights sleep (the bed is incredibly comfy) we tucked into the breakfast hamper, which was delicious.
All in all, we had such an amazing time, we are already planning our next visit.
The perfect accommodation, in the perfect location, with the prefect host.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobby_Bea...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Last minute cheeky break!”
Reviewed 5 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My partner and I fancied a weekend away, but not too far away from home, so we could be there and back with no hassle. We were lucky enough to pick up a cancelled slot at the Hut in Eyam on the same day as we planned to arrive, so we packed up the walking and biking gear, and set off.

We had obviously seen the pictures of the accommodation online, but were super happy with what we found when we arrived. The setting is convenient, quiet, and cute. The hosts were fantastic too.

Thank you for a lovely weekend (and apologies for the late review!),
Bob and Jess x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The firepit and fairy lighting made for very pleasant evenings.
Liked least: I had to return to work on Monday!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing