We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property, perfect location, faulty service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
A's Holiday Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Betalbatim
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stayed in As’ Holiday Resort for 5 days. We had been looking for a peaceful place to relax after a long and intensive journey through northern India – and we certainly found it.

The location was in fact the greatest advantage of the property. The villas are located away from the hustle-bustle of North Goa and more crowded spots in South Goa, and just 5 minutes from Sunset Beach – one of the most fabulous beaches in Goa – beautiful, almost empty (really – we never saw more than 12 people as far as we could see!) and very clean (as for India). The way to the beach leads through peaceful fields full of palm trees and birds. Just remember to take a flashlight with you if you plan to come back after the sunset (which is highly recommended – firstly because of the sunset itself, and secondly, because of the fantastic beach eatery – Anri’s Place). Apart from the beach and the eatery, also a shop with basic beverages, a pharmacy and some 2-3 more restaurants are available on foot. To do some more shopping, e.g. buy fresh fruits, you can walk to Colva (half an hour by the beach).

The property itself (the word “resort” would be too much) consists of 6 villas and a swimming pool. We did not use the swimming pool – mostly because the beach was so lovely, but also because we saw dead frogs inside, and the water was not exchanged. The villas are comfortable. The decoration and furniture is very basic but clean. And so is the bathroom – basic but clean. There is TV (no satellite), and WIFI works well. There is also a balcony with pretty view over the fields. The kitchen is also convenient – though we did not use it for cooking, only our breakfasts were prepared there by a cook who came every morning to make whatever we liked – usually omelettes or Indian breakfast.

Our only reservations regarded the service. We are independent and do not require a lot of attention, but in terms of service As’ Holiday Resort fails to meet even the lowest expectations. The staff, consisting of a man, a woman and two guards, is nice but speaks hardly any English and is not able to assist with anything. There is no cleaning unless you specifically ask for it – otherwise, they do not clean, and when you come back in the evening they ask if you want your room to be cleaned, to which you obviously deny, since it is already time to take a shower and rest. Weird. Any contact with the owner was impossible. At arrival, we asked if they needed anything – Agoda voucher, passports, anything. The man said that the owned would come in an hour to talk to us. After two hours, we asked about the owner. The woman seemed to be offended, as if we wanted to make a complaint. She said the owner would not be coming, and the man denied having told us the opposite. We did not see the owner for the next five days. On the last day, in the afternoon, the man told us that the owner would come – in an hour, yet again. Many hours later, when we were already in bed (before an early flight next morning), the owner eventually came to visit us. The only thing he wanted to know, however, was whether on Agoda we will rate his estate 9 or 10 out of 10. His second (and last) question was if we needed a taxi to the airport – and of course we had booked a taxi by then. By the way, the taxi driver was somehow afraid of the villas’ owner and asked us several times not to disclose his name – which was again more than strange.

Generally, we do recommend As’ Holiday Resort, especially for independent travellers. The location is perfect and the villas are really nice – just do not expect too much attention.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malgorzatatomczyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

This hotel offers spacious, clean accommodation with a 2 minute stroll of the beach. The beach offers good watersports and restaurants and isn't crowded. There are also lifeguards on duty. It isn't so much a 'resort' as a block of two storey villas with a small pool which are ideal for a quiet, relaxing break.

It is in a very peaceful location and has a lovely restaurant next door and another two within 5 minutes walk. We were there for 5 nights and as a couple in our 20's we would have preferred somewhere with a bit more going on. That being said, the owner, Aggie, was very good at suggesting restaurants and places to go and organising transport. The location was good for visiting both the North and South of Goa as it was fairly central.

Each morning a very friendly chef comes into the apartment to make breakfast which is incredible - he gave us a choice of English or Indian style omelettes, fruit juice and coffee. We loved our stay there and if you are looking for a relaxing, peaceful place to stay in Goa, this is a great option.

Room Tip: All villas seem to be identical
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This is not a resort, it is a complex of five or six apartments with a pool. The apartment itself is quite large with a functional kitchen but the pool is fairly small. Every morning, a cook comes into the kitchen and makes breakfast but every morning we had to ask a cleaner to scoop out the dead bugs and frogs from the pool. The complex is 10 minutes walk from the beach and 10 minutes walk to the main road --but at night it is dark and there is a pack of dogs you need to walk by. The selection of restaurants both on the road and on the beach is limited. We stayed three nights and only saw the owner as we were leaving on the third day.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrennenY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This is in a remote place in south goa. excellent surroundings but the only person that runs the show is Mr Desilva - The owner of the property. Apart from him there the watch man who is rude. The Cook is even pathetic.I was suffering from fever and had to get some tablets but there was no one to help ,the owner was not lifting the phone and the watch man was rude and was not ready to help. After a long time owner picked up the phone and came for help.

As far as the surroundings are concerned, its a remote place and pretty quite. This is a duplex house best for large family get together .

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brijesh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

first of all thanks to TripAdvisor and people who reviewed this property ......
its not a hotel . nor a beach tent.....but surprisingly serves purpose of both and top of that gives pleasure of homeliness. it is situated 5 min walk from clean , lonely, white sand betalbatim beach...superb to enjoy with ur family. 5 min walk and u will find one of he well known restaurant in south Goa "martins corner" , and also likes of fishka etc. so no problems with food for anyone.
property it self is 2 storied 6 row bung lows.each consists of big hall , dining , kitchen(fridge , gas , juicer , microwave , washing machine , all the utensils u need for cooking...believe me) ...well and ur own car parking as well . at gr. fl. and 2 well furnished bedrooms and 2 galleries on 1 st fl. .. w also u get swimming pool right behind ur kitchen which opens into swimming pool area. u have 24 hr security guard , cleaners and to be mentioned specially about ur own chef mr. shersing...who makes breakfast in ur own kitchen and of ur own choice...toooooo.. good.
and then the owner ...wonderful , polite , very helping person who will pamper u with his team and services in the midst of the nature .... great value .
few adv.--try to have ur own vehicle , check in before 4 pm , spend min. 2 nights , gr. of 4 adults or two family in 1 villa , plan tour to south Goa fr. there....

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adventurefrrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The place is perfect for a quiet holiday with friends or family. We were a group of 8 friends and renting 2 cottages with 2 bedrooms each was perfect for us. The place provides good breakfast which the chef prepares in your own kitchen on demand. The villa is located near a clean and quiet beach.
The host is friendly and tries to check on the guests to ensure they are comfortable. However, the other staff is a bit rough. We had to request the staff half a dozen times to clean the rooms.

The few drawbacks about the location however are:
1. Connectivity: it is not possible to hail a taxi or auto. So your movement is a bit limited and you need to plan any trips. The area has a strong taxi union so a cab from outside the area can't provide service to the residents here. Also, prices for taxis can be quite steep. E.g. we paid INR600 to go to Kolva beach located 4km from the resort
2. Food options: Martin's corner is nearby and is a popular joint for food and dance. However, there aren't any other options in the area that you can walk to (Fishka, Alila Diwa etc. are a bit of a walk)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shrutika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

we booked via internet. As we arrived we were very exited that we got our own villa :) 2 bedrooms, one livingroom, kitchen, 2 bathrooms, extra toilette. All very clean and nice interior.
And you have your own cook who cooks you your breakfast as you would like to have it.
5 min walk to the beach. Nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betalbatim
18.4 mi away
Jasminn by Mango Hotels
Jasminn by Mango Hotels
#2 of 5 in Betalbatim
406 reviews
18.3 mi away
Beleza...by the beach
Beleza...by the beach
#1 of 5 in Betalbatim
802 reviews
21.6 mi away
Joecons Beach Resort
Joecons Beach Resort
#3 of 15 in Benaulim
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Martin's Comfort
Martin's Comfort
#14 of 39 in Salcette
184 reviews
16.9 mi away
Praia da Oura
Praia da Oura
#2 of 4 in Majorda
21 reviews
21.1 mi away
La Grace Resort
La Grace Resort
#4 of 15 in Benaulim
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A's Holiday Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A's Holiday Beach Resort

Address: Sunset Beach | Ramvaddo, Betalbatim 403001, India
Region: India > Goa > South Goa District > Salcette > Betalbatim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Betalbatim
Price Range: £56 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — A's Holiday Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your A's Holiday Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A's Holiday Beach Resort Goa/Betalbatim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing