We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best places to stay in Goa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Goa - Villagio, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Betalbatim
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best places to stay in Goa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Villagio is one of the nicest places to stay in Goa during season or off season. Based out South Goa, the hotel is away from the hustle bustle of North Goa. It is calm place surrounded equally serene surroundings, rooms are large and airy with nice views from balconies. The other facilities included a swimming pool & activity room. The best part was that the Betlabatim beach was only half a kilometers walk from hotel. Overall, a nice place to relax, spend time in leisurely at very decent price.



  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajiv1274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    158
    61
    17
    22
See reviews for
164
105
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

The hotel located in south Goa is really very calm and middle of nowhere (but the beach is nearby). Since we are a sterling member we opt for this hotel for 2 days and I also booked us for the North Goa hotel (Club Estadia, earlier Camphor for which I am going a write a review soon) for another 2 days. We had a good time here since it was calm and the in house facilities such as swimming pool, playing area, etc. were quite good. The best part of the hotel was the room which was huge in size and we luckily got a pool facing room. Also the bathroom is gigantic! Both were nice and clean! The reason I am not giving 5 stars is the location of the hotel which is quite remote location. The food in the restaurant is costly but nice. This hotel is for those who have already been to Goa once and are willing to go to a quite place to chill out.

Room Tip: Go for a pool facing room on the upper floor for a peaceful stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NayanShah45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Amazing location.. I appreciated this place because it is invigorating and dynamic.
The big difference with other hotels is the staff: they are very welcoming and efficient here.
I remember a staff who kindly helped me on several occasions at the front desk & guests service.
Food was amazing in the hotel. Rooms were nice & clean well comfortable with all requirements.

Room Tip: Deluxe Suites are Good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cornelius2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

It always helps to have your own transport to get around and take in Goa. And this particularly applies if you stay at this resort, unless you intend to spend your entire time on the beach in the neighborhood. This resort is NOT on the beach, but just a short 10 minute walk away, from one of the prettiest beach stretches in Goa. And there are excellent shacks too during the season.
If you are going off season, and more so as part of a larger group (as I had), it may make sense to take a Breakfast plus dinner package at the resort. Plan on your lunches outside for variety, and you just cannot make a mistake at Martin's Corner (do not miss this for any reason) which is just about a 15 minute walk away. The resort is excellent value for money, and the rooms were very nice indeed.

Room Tip: Try for a room on the upper floors, facing outside, if you value the soothing sight of greenery!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PVKrishna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madurai, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

Best resort to spend a relaxed holiday with your family. Has a very good ambience and is a very calm place. Service is too good. Rooms are cozy and comfortable and is very clean. The beach is just 5 mins walk from resort. I will go for the same even on my next trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cr_ashok18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We have been to Goa 3 times before but this was our first bed and breakfast trip and our first time with Cosmos.The flight had been altered and after 24hrs up we found after arriving at 7am that the room wasn't available until 12 midday and no curtisy room..Not a good start! However the room was ok ..It had a reasonable bed separate sitting area a flat screen telly,mini bar and a wetroom.The breakfast was fine with a choice of European and Indian food but we do not recommend eating in the hotel other than that because the food was always stone cold when served and this incudes the room service.The staff were helpful when asked and the standard of cleanliness was fine.
The area was more rural than the brochure described with one very limited local restraunt .Do not believe the brochure the beach is a hot 20 minutes walk so we came back by taxi which costing £1 was a good bargin.We did not have a regular rep at the hotel but had a mobile number to contact as and when.We were told the village was walking distance,we actually walked a long way then gave up.
This is a very basic hotel fairly near the beach.It was clean with a reasonable breakfast.There s nothing near for the evenings,nowhere decent to eat or to have a drink and certainly no shops.Goa is a long journey you have the expense of the visa,malaria tablets to buy and you have to put up with the awful military airport and the ramshackle transfer bus but when you reach the hotel you expect it to be better than this one was.Goa was wonderful like usual but the hotel was disappointing.

Room Tip: My best suggestion is go to the Raddison Hotel,they will quote you for any package from b and b thro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Minden d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Goa - Villagio, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Greetings from Sterling Holidays! We thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback.We have duly noted your concerns regarding the quality of the food and we have shared it with the resort management.

We at Sterling Holidays strive to deliver holidays that exceed the expectation of our customers.

We request you to consider your experience as an individual event and not the representation of Sterling’s service standards. We hope you’ll give us an opportunity to serve you better by holidaying with us again.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Dont Judge the Book by its cover - Very True for "Goa Villagio Inn". This popular proverb is very true in case of this place.

Being a sterling member we booked this place with lots of hope. But the instances will give you a true picture of what it is and how they treat their guests.

Some points to highlight:
1. Ambience: Fair

2. Front Desk Staff Behaviour: Poor. Specially the resort manager Ms. Irene. The entire staff was not able to speak in front of her like she is not running a hotel but a military hostel.

3. Check-in: Extremely Poor, they took 3 hours to allot a room inspite of having confirmed booking 3 months in advance. We reached there from Karwar at 8pm and informed the resort twice that we will be reaching by late evening. By 9pm we were given a room no 404 and in just 30 mins we got a call stating that eigher we change the room or ele we need to pay Rs 600/day extra. Later they reduced the same to Rs 250/day. We dont know when we hada booking 90 days in advance andwe were pre-booked then why 404 was allotted and they why we were threntended to pay extra. After getting exhausted for entire day in site seeing and driving once reaches the hotel to take rest and enjoy, instead we were not able to go to bed till 11pm.

4. Front Office/ Reception: The receiption is NON-AC and in summers when a guest travelling with 2 small kids is asked to sit for hours for alloting a room in heat, you can visulaize what it will be.

5. Billing: We booked a 3 beded room, but we were asked to pay for extra bed as the 3 beded room was not available in the category we had booked. What is the use of prior booking if they can't block the room for the booking they had already done in advance.

6. Room Linen: Not a tall clea, has lot of oil stains.

7. Facilities:
- No lifts in the resort. Difficult for family and elderly people.
- Swimming pool was under maintenance for the entire week and every day they use to say it will be fixed today. Why can't they have courage to say it will be out of order for the next 10 days or so.
- No first Aid box: We needed the first aid box as my younger kid had abrasions from the visit to the beach and there were no medical store nearby so we asked from the front desk but we couldn't get that as the staff was most unresponsive.
- We wanted coffee sachets in place of tea bags, but we were asked to pay extra @ 15rs per sachet as it was there policy to provide 2 tea bags and 2 coffee sachets. We simply asked to replace the tea bags with coffee as we dont drint tea but they simply refused and asked to pay for such exchange.

Finally its not a resort which they claim to be. Will never visit this prioperty again!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the swimming pool are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank a1616061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Goa - Villagio, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Sterling Holidays!

We thank you for taking the time to give a detailed review of your stay. We deeply value our members’ feedback.

We have duly noted your concerns on the check-in process, responsiveness of staff,cleanliness and availability of pool facility. We have shared your feedback with the management.. Please be assured that each aspect will be thoroughly looked into and corrective action will be taken wherever necessary.

We look forward to your next holiday with us and would like to assure you that you will not be disappointed. In this connection, we would like to request you to log on to http://www.bagfulofmemories.com/ and browse through the many happy images our members are sharing. These images on social media will assure you more than our words that Sterling is working hard at delivering memorable, happy holidays!

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betalbatim
17.0 mi away
Goa - Club Estadia, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.3 mi away
Beleza...by the beach
Beleza...by the beach
#2 of 6 in Betalbatim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jasminn by Mango Hotels
Jasminn by Mango Hotels
#1 of 6 in Betalbatim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alagoa Resort
Alagoa Resort
#4 of 6 in Betalbatim
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
3.5 mi away
Joecons Beach Resort
Joecons Beach Resort
#3 of 14 in Benaulim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
3.5 mi away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 14 in Benaulim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goa - Villagio, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goa - Villagio, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Property: Goa - Villagio, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Address: Thondwaddo, Betalbatim 403713, India (Formerly Sterling Holidays Villagio)
Region: India > Goa > Salcette District > Betalbatim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Betalbatim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Goa - Villagio, A Sterling Holidays Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sterling Holidays Villagio, a boutique resort, is located in the lovely backdrop of Betalbatim. The welcoming interiors bring out the holiday spirit in you. Come and discover Betalbatim, the little village in South Goa that exudes an aura of pride for being a serene locale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Goa - Villagio, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villagio Hotel Betalbatim
Goa - Villagio, A Sterling Holidays Resort Betalbatim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing