We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Ala-don't-goa"”
Review of Alagoa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alagoa Resort
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Betalbatim
Henley on Thames
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“"Ala-don't-goa"”
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

Ala-don't-goa was our name for this hotel. It was definitely the worst room we stayed in on our entire trip to India! My bedding was put on upside down with the sheet on top of the blanket.

To be fair the gentleman on reception was very helpful in organising taxis when our airport transfers didn't turn up.

We walked through another huge hotel full of Russian tourists to get to a long path to the beach where we had a really good meal. The highlight of our stay. On the way back through the large hotel we stopped for a drink and there was live music by the pool - if you could call it that!! Hilarious!!

In the morning we left for the airport too early to try the breakfast which was meant to be included.

I'm afraid there is not really anything I can recommend about the Alagoa. Sorry!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank clare p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    53
    35
    15
    14
See reviews for
44
71
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
derbys
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We loved this little hotel It is disorganised and we had to laugh when our 1st waiter was called "Manuel" yes it's 2 star but for that you got an adequate room (lovely views) a mini bar. small tv, air con and a fan What more do you want? yes bed fairly hard and patio doors did not close properly but spotless and brilliant cleaning every day with lovely animals etc made out of the (slightly grey) towels, Its situated next to paddy fields water buffalo and lots of wild life. Loved the short walk to the beach For us totally 5 star!!! And the spooky walk to "Alberts " (Great little restaurant) take a torch! Breakfast is eggs and eggs and eggs but you sit outside and the staff are gorgeous especially "Lucky" who was amazing( He had learnt Russian in 11 weeks and even spent one night translating for us as our Russian not too hot!!! New swimming pool and restaurant at night (food very good)
Met loads of people who have been going here for years and we would definitely go again, I would find it hard to find anywhere better value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank topbirdDerbys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a day with party of 7. Wife, parents and inlaws.
The hotel is slightly off the main road, but located at a beautiful serene location. There are markers along the road for directions.
This is a budget hotel and we choose this for proximity to the beach. Have been to a lot of beaches in goa. Found this one least commercial. No shacks, no five star hotels. There is a life guard. Beach is not cleaned but has no rubbish. Only natural bio- degradable stuff live drift wood, leaves and shells. We saw some dead jelly fish.
Beach was mostly unoccupied. Gradient is not steep and waves are not strong. Water was ok considering end of rainy season. No water sports.
Hotel restaurant was not operational. They did give complimentary breakfast. It was homely. Also served tea in the evening on request. Went to coconut grove nearby for lunch, horrible service and very expensive. 130 for fresh pineapple juice. Ridiculous. Also served rice with weevils. When complained there was no response. Not even replacement. It took an hour to serve food.
What really made this beach memorable was our experience at mickeys, a beach shack about 15mins walk on the beach with live music and karaoke. The manager was super hospitable and the food is a1. If you enjoy oriental cuisine i would recommend kung pao. I had three plateful.hehe. I even tried stunts with the karAoke.
Coming back to alagoa - out of the 3 rooms, tv remote didn't work in 1. No warm water in one bathroom. Rooms were clean and looked fresh. Outside the window we could see rice paddies and a swamp. Good view.
Special mention to the amazing staff at the hotel. The guys love their guests. We were treated and greeted better than a five star.
They arranged a taxi for us after checkout. However the card payments didn't work. Thank god elders had cash.
Off all of the 7, 6 loved the place. 1 didn't as he had to walk.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank razmata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

I stayed there for 3 weeks in december, i booked the room from olympic. nice room and location.rooms were clean but the bedsheets and mostly the blanket i think is not washed for almost 2 or 3 year.blankets are smell so badly. Staff is really really great cause of staff we had a lovely vacation there, for the breakfast its always same menu,"toast bread, eggs and mango bottled juice and tea and coffee its like are we in the jail or something.we talked with our rap about this he told us to check with the owner and when we checked with owner he told to check with rap. Really crazy. And as we stayed we saw that the owner during breakfast time in morning used to mix a water in the bottle of juice and in as well as in milk. How u will feel by this? Are we had payed all for this? And evening time when we used to sit for drink no ice in the hotel. And 1 thing i liked from the owner is that he is like a big cheater in name of god. He is telling big big things about god but in realty he is only a big lier and cheater. And we really feel pity for the staff from there and thanks for the little chef. over all the hotel is really good cause for location. If the owner is like this hotel standard will never change.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Petrmax1u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Betalbatim hotels

germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a 2 week duration in November 2012. The hotel itself may lack some of the luxuries of other larger hotels but compensates for this for its superb location sandwiched between paddy fields and coconut groves. Similarly the swimming pool is probably in one of the nicest locations that I have ever seen and a lovely quite beach is only a short walk away.

I would certainly recommend this hotel due to its location, cleanliness and friendliness of the staff although would caveat this by saying that it can appear basic if you are allocated a room in the old block but the new building is more than comfortable.

We met other couples who were visiting this hotel after staying here many times previously so there is something about the charm of the place that makes you want to come back. It ticks all the boxes in respect of location and cleanliness so we certainly would return to this hotel as our base when we visit Goa next

Room Tip: Rooms in the new block have nice balconies and are more comfortable and quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samara
Level Contributor
129 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Located in the rural idyll: We were under the windows of rice field (winter-bog), where the buffalo lay, and herons gathered around him and something from it. At night there rang cicadas, frogs, etc. livestock. At a nearby swamp white lotuses grow. The road to the sea is the avenue of coconut palms, then you can pass through the territory of a neighboring Kokonut'a (the road is limited by the gate). There groomed area, always something to cut and clean the gardeners, (well, other celebrity). Incidentally, each evening of live music.
Territory of the hotel there, but just across the road, deep in the jungle, there's a decent shallow pool with sun loungers, there is almost no people can swim and relax in the midday heat. Shower near the pool does not work, but the toilet is.
Room cleaned daily. Towels, though lazy to change every day, but at the request of change.
The hotel is very small, resting mostly elderly. So, who are looking for a quiet holiday - you here. Oh, who broke the peace, is the Russian vacationers with their birthdays!
There were a couple of parties, which you can visit at will: this is when the pool is located an Indian with a pleasant voice, a computer (minus go) and the old repertoire, but foreigners like to remember his youth, so they are perky singing. If you do not want to, just ten meters it is not annoying, the hotel did not hear it.
Disco (loud) is in the distant shekah, Sleeps on the road to (the village at a distance of 15-20min. Walk along the beach to the left when facing the sea).
We dined in different shekah, often in "Roses and Brothers" (NIS is the third to the left of the entrance to the beach). All neatly and cheaply. Roses have a masseur working class, makes a pleasant oil, then the hair is very good. A very positive guy. Price is low.
Prices shekah about the same (+ / -). The first path from the Sheki few pampered foreigners, as they do not like to walk away and fall to the deck chairs at the nearest shack. There is an unwritten rule where you lay there and dine, though, I think, if it does not perform, do not beat, but remember ...
Have to buy drinking water. We are not lazy stroll in the evening before the Kolva, there is a bridge to the shopping area on the right (so as not to drag out the settlement) is a cafe.
The hotel has a jeweler's shop, the price may be a bit high, but have to bargain and haggle, and the result will be (I know the specific cases) (+ guarantee the authenticity of the stones). Moreover, the seller - a very nice young man.
Breakfast as always (even in hotels mnogozvedochnyh): tea, coffee, a couple of toast, eggs (or its variants), butter, jam and a glass of mango juice. By the way, I recommend: we bought in the village of bottles and just reveled. Freshly made less vivid impression.
Staff friendly and ready to help.
The ocean beaches are huge - the words are powerless here, you just go and relax

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andyl2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Booked here as a base for our 3 week holiday and as such it served its purpose.Such a shame the hotel could be lovely.They havent got a clue how to run a hotel-Too many chiefs and not enough workers.The room was clean eventually after we asked them to clean it.An a/c overflow runs onto the main seating area and breakfast is just about eatable.Saying that dont panic if you`ve booked you`ll have a good time,very peaceful and with Martins Corner and Alberts closeby you`ll find good restaurants.Wouldnt go back but glad we went!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShropshireCampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betalbatim
0.9 mi away
Jasminn by Mango Hotels
Jasminn by Mango Hotels
#1 of 5 in Betalbatim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beleza...by the beach
Beleza...by the beach
#2 of 5 in Betalbatim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amigo Plaza
Amigo Plaza
#9 of 38 in Salcette
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Goa - Villagio, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.6 mi away
Martin's Comfort
Martin's Comfort
#12 of 38 in Salcette
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coconut Grove
Coconut Grove
#18 of 38 in Salcette
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alagoa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alagoa Resort

Property: Alagoa Resort
Address: No 82 - B Ranvaddo Betalbatim | Betalbatim Beach, Betalbatim 403713, India
Region: India > Goa > South Goa District > Salcette > Betalbatim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Betalbatim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alagoa Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alagoa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alagoa Hotel Betalbatim
Alagoa Resort Goa/Betalbatim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing