We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No-frills but alive with enthusiasm”
Review of Pengwern

Pengwern
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pengwern
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“No-frills but alive with enthusiasm”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

You’re guaranteed an enthusiastic welcome in this village-run country inn which was apparently brought back from the dead when the original owners couldn’t continue. Customers, whether locals or travellers, are given the best attention and seem genuinely valued. The rooms are simply furnished but clean, comfortable and great value if you don’t mind the lack of superfluous frills. (Would perhaps suit men guests more than women who tend to look out for the finer details of accommodation!) The hotel bar is well stocked if a little threadbare in places, and attracts a loyal crowd with local brews and regular live entertainment. The food menu of home-cooked dishes may not be a gastronomic experience but again is well supported by local customers especially, which says something. Only one criticism I must make is no hot water from the bedroom sink. I had to fill the sink for a shave from the adjacent electric showerhead. I think I understand why but surely a lavatory sink must provide hot water? Some visitors may consider some aspects of the service amateurish but it’s honest and unpretentious and most worthy of support in a district which cannot boast many inns offering good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side of the hotel are likely to be above the bar which could offer noise issues wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mrpaull2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcus W, Manager at Pengwern, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your honest review. We are doing the best we can on a small budget with the rooms, I hope that your experience is that your room was clean and comfortable?
I am concerned at the hot water issue, I am aware that there is an intermittent fault with one of the boilers occasionally cutting out, did you report this problem to a staff member? And if so, did you get a satisfactory response?
I can only offer my sincere apologies, and will arrange for someone to look at the offending boiler again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    15
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
10
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Beautiful views, bed and breakfast, pub (with great Ales and Whiskies), good food and great people running the place ! Thank you Pengwern for all my happy times I come up from London and visit beautiful North Wales ! Keep up the good work !

Room Tip: Great views !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcus W, Manager at Pengwern, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, we hope to see you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Stopped in a holiday cottage up the road, when we found out this place was brought by the local community in 2010 we thought we would check if they where still going. They where! And very welcoming and look to be doing well, friendly welcome and dog friendly too. great local ales and a selection of others beers. They also serve great home cooked food and was brilliant value for money.
Cheers guys keep up the good work.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank H2ORNLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcus W, Manager at Pengwern, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you very much H2ORNLD for a lovely first review :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llan Ffestiniog
8.8 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
7.5 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,458 reviews
10.4 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel
Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel
#9 of 9 in Blaenau Ffestiniog
334 reviews
2.3 mi away
Capel Pisgah
Capel Pisgah
#7 of 9 in Blaenau Ffestiniog
65 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Grapes Hotel
The Grapes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Maentwrog
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pengwern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pengwern

Property: Pengwern
Address: Church Square, Llan Ffestiniog LL41 4PB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Llan Ffestiniog
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Llan Ffestiniog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Y Pengwern is an old drovers and coaching inn which has been bought by the community of Llan Ffestiniog. It is run by the community and for the benefit of the community on a not-for-profit basis. Rooms are let on a B&B basis continental breakfast is included. The function room is available for meetings, events and parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pengwern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing