We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fort Conan Hotel Duncannon
Ranked #1 of 3 Duncannon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Waterford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed in the Fort Conan Hotel recently and we were very happy with the room we got. It was very clean, comfortable and we had a balcony overlooking Duncannon Beach. The owners, Richard and Helene, were very friendly, accommodating and made you feel like you were in a home from home. The hotel was within walking distance from beach, bars, and restaurants - it was in a very good location. We had a delicious breakfast and I would highly recommend it. We will be returning!

Room Tip: Look for the balcony room with the beautiful sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WaterfordHilary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
18
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Some of my friends who still don't have computer access recently stayed at the Fort Conan and asked me to right this review for them.
6 female friends recently spent a thoroughly enjoyable weekend here at the Fort Conan and were simpily blown away by the place, village, locals, but primarily the care and attention of Richard, Helene and their lovely daughters.Nothing was too much trouble and this really helped us have a brilliant stress and carefree stay.Thank you once again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent, but the rear ones do have a stunning view of Waterford estuary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skybluedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Very friendly family run hotel, personal touch always make a difference, Richard and his wife Helene and children were lovely and welcoming. Rooms were very nice and great location in although small Duncannon town, the beach is lovely and great view of Hook lighthouse, which is a must see, only 12km away. Although it is a quite town it is worth a visit, a few resturants and bars but would recommend eating at Fort Conan hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DoctorwhoFanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We came across this hotel while exhibiting at the ploughing championships but were already booked in to the very overpriced dundrody hotel.The owners Richard and Helene have ticked every box in creating the perfect product weather for buisness or pleasure. We viewed the rooms( for future bookings) which we modern,clean and comfortable.We had dinner in the lounge and the food was excellent! There was five of us with different dishes and each one was cooked and presented to perfection. The bar was comfortable and welcoming with a great selcetion. Richard and Helene pay great attenion to detail and customer satisfaction with great value for money.Will definitely be spreading the news of "Fort Conan" congratulations to Richard and Helene and continue the great work!

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank james w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield U.K.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Lovely hotel in a quaint little seaside town. We went over to Ireland for a family occasion and stayed at Fort Conan. We enjoyed the stay so much we've been back twice and decided the hotel deserved a good review.
The hotel itself has improved since our first visit with on suite facilities and a more welcoming foyer. I don't usually eat in hotels due to cost and time taken to get fed, but Fort Conan provides good food in a reasonable time at the going rate.
The beach is a short walk away so you can get back to your room quickly without getting too wet when it starts to rain!. (It's Ireland so it will rain)
A pleasant change from the sleeping factory chains of hotels and is Irish hospitality at its best.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shansy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We as a family of 6 stayed in Fort Conan Hotel Duncannon for 2 nights, it was absolutely superb, the rooms were fabulous, breakfast and dinner were the best we have had anywhere else. The family that own and run the hotel make you feel so welcome that you just do not want to leave. Would highly recommend to anyone thinking of visiting Duncannon, the beach is a 2 minute walk away and the views are just great.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Went on a short trip to Duncannon for a photowalk with a group of friends. I deceided it best to stay a few nightts and make a nice trip out of it.

the organizer of the walk suggested two local places to stay and after searching on hook tourism i came across this wonderful spot. My girlfriend rang to make he enquiry and even when she got off the phone from making the booking she commented on how much she was looking forward to going.

Located in the lovely fishing village of Duncannon this family run hotel is fabulous. Warm, friendly and accommodating. your made to feel like one of the family not just a paying guest.

The rooms are really nice and comfortable but beng honest i spent anytime in the hotel in the bar having a chat ! Otherwise i was out enjoying the surroundings !

Oh and least I forget the breakfast !! I could eat it all day and dont be afraid to ask for a second portion and trust me you will.

Go book it and enjoy !!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brum041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duncannon
1.4 mi away
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Arthurstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
5.9 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
8.2 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seashells Bed & Breakfast
Seashells Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 3 in Duncannon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
1.7 mi away
Glendine Country House
Glendine Country House
#1 of 3 in Arthurstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
1.8 mi away
Marsh Mere Lodge
Marsh Mere Lodge
#2 of 3 in Arthurstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Conan Hotel Duncannon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Conan Hotel Duncannon

Property: Fort Conan Hotel Duncannon
Address: Main Street, Duncannon, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Duncannon
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Duncannon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fort Conan Hotel is a family run hotel in the village of Duncannon,by Richard and Helene and their two daughter Emma and Lisa.We have ten bed rooms,all which are en suite and each individual decorated. On a clear sunny day you can see Hook head light house and the house where the devil appeared, Loftus hall. There are many beaches on the peninsula, which are safe for swimming, fishing,wind surfing and kite surfing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fort Conan Hotel Duncannon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing