We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mary, Catherine and Tina” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fort Conan Hotel Duncannon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fort Conan Hotel Duncannon
Ranked #1 of 3 Duncannon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mary, Catherine and Tina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed here last week end and had a fabulous time thanks to Richard, Helene, Emma and Lisa . They treated us like family and helped in whatever way they could. Hotel + food was lovely and great value. We had a great craic lads. Got great advice from owners on places to visit and the bike trip was our highlight. Not having cycled for years, we managed no problem and went as far as Hook Head and back. Can see much more on a bike than from a car. Motorists were very polite to all local cyclists. Cant wait to return and jump on the bikes again. Best ever w/end break. !!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larsully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
17
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in early May. I had a large double room which had a comfortable bed and a decent size shower room. Great breakfast, friendly owners/staff. What more could you ask for. Although I could not see any ratings for the hotel, having stayed at similar in the UK & ROI I would give it a 3

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank pembrokeshireboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife (American) and I (Irish) stayed at this hotel one night last week as part of a brief five day tour of Waterford and Wexford. Lovely spot and lovely people - the owners, Richard & Helene (hope I have the spelling right), and their daughters, could not have been more welcoming or more informative. Very comfortable room w/ a balcony view all the way down to the Hook Head lighthouse thanks to binoculars provided. Great dinner (last minute decision) and Irish breakfast the following morning. Ireland proved quite expensive elsewhere (weak dollar didn't help) but the Fort Conan was superb value. Duncannon and the surrounding area is just beautiful - multiple beaches and the previously mentioned Hook Head which was Sylvia's favorite stop of the entire trip (it didn't hurt that that day turned out to be the sunniest and warmest of the five). The best compliment I can pay the Fort Conan is that if we had known how nice it was we would have parked ourselves there for the following two nights and canceled our remaining hotel booking in Wexford town.
P.S. if the girls read this I hope that your dog is recovering nicely.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomAndSylvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton..
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

I have been visiting the Excellent Fort Conan Hotel in Duncannon, County Wexford for for more than 25 years. I first went there when the original owners, Margaret and Eugene Bates, who had built the hotel, were still there. They gave us an excellent welcome, a tradition which continues with the present owners, Helene and Richard Tobin. The food is excellent and the hotel has undergone a transformation with upgraded rooms, a very pleasant lobby and superb service from the owners, their lovely daughters, Emma and Lisa and, indeed all the wiling and attentive staff. Set two minutes from the superb Duncannon Strand, a short drive from the newly refurbished Loftus Hall and the world famous Hook Lighthouse the hotel makes an excellent base for a totally relaxing family holiday!! I thoroughly recommend it!!

Room Tip: Go for the balcony one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJWHampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
224 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

This is a review of their restaurant – not the hotel since we didn’t stay there. We were driving through Duncannon on a very busy Sunday and popped into the hotel restaurant for some lunch. We were well looked after and the food was very good. It had a very friendly, family atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TN-Traveler38017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed in the Fort Conan Hotel recently and we were very happy with the room we got. It was very clean, comfortable and we had a balcony overlooking Duncannon Beach. The owners, Richard and Helene, were very friendly, accommodating and made you feel like you were in a home from home. The hotel was within walking distance from beach, bars, and restaurants - it was in a very good location. We had a delicious breakfast and I would highly recommend it. We will be returning!

Room Tip: Look for the balcony room with the beautiful sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WaterfordHilary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Some of my friends who still don't have computer access recently stayed at the Fort Conan and asked me to right this review for them.
6 female friends recently spent a thoroughly enjoyable weekend here at the Fort Conan and were simpily blown away by the place, village, locals, but primarily the care and attention of Richard, Helene and their lovely daughters.Nothing was too much trouble and this really helped us have a brilliant stress and carefree stay.Thank you once again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent, but the rear ones do have a stunning view of Waterford estuary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skybluedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duncannon
1.4 mi away
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Arthurstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
5.9 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
8.2 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seashells Bed & Breakfast
Seashells Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 3 in Duncannon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
2.3 mi away
Marsh Mere Lodge
Marsh Mere Lodge
#2 of 3 in Arthurstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sanibel BnB
Sanibel BnB
#2 of 2 in Fethard On Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Conan Hotel Duncannon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Conan Hotel Duncannon

Property: Fort Conan Hotel Duncannon
Address: Main Street, Duncannon, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Duncannon
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Duncannon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fort Conan Hotel is a family run hotel in the village of Duncannon,by Richard and Helene and their two daughter Emma and Lisa.We have ten bed rooms,all which are en suite and each individual decorated. On a clear sunny day you can see Hook head light house and the house where the devil appeared, Loftus hall. There are many beaches on the peninsula, which are safe for swimming, fishing,wind surfing and kite surfing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fort Conan Hotel Duncannon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing