We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An attractive gite in the charming Normandy...”

Review of La Pilette

South facing Patio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
South facing Patio
Quiet tranquil garden sofa bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
South facing Patio
Quiet tranquil garden
sofa bed
Wild Orchids in the garden
The lane in front of the gite
The local wild life
A visiting red squirrel
Antique shops in Bernay
Bernay,  market town
Rouen Cathedral
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Broglie, Eure, Haute-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Owen_thes...
Kent
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“An attractive gite in the charming Normandy countryside”
Reviewed 1 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I spent a fortnight in June 2013 staying in this charming property. We had a fantastic time in this comfortable and easily maintained gite.

The property is situated in a tiny hamlet, surrounded by the peaceful countryside. The sound of a cockerel may be your morning call – there is no traffic noise at all. Although it is in the grounds of the owners’ property, we enjoyed our privacy and independence. The owners were always available to offer help with any practical matters, as well as unobtrusively dealing with the disposal of recycling and refuse. The property is set up so that we could spend many a happy hour outside to enjoy an al fresco meal surrounded by the well-tended and colourful garden. The gite is accurately described and it met our needs perfectly. The living / dining is small but comfortably furnished. The kitchen provides every facility needed for a self-catering holiday, with full sized hob and oven, as well as a fridge large enough so that we did not need to shop every day. There was a small dishwasher which was a bonus. The owners had provided plenty of cutlery, crockery and glasses. On our arrival, there was a generous welcome pack of fresh food, as well as plenty of coffee / tea and sugar. Likewise, all the miscellaneous items like plastic bags, cleaning materials etc were there if needed. The shower worked well with ample hot water at a very reasonable pressure. Both bedrooms are upstairs. They were small but there was certainly plenty of storage space. Mind your head as you get out of bed. The wi-fi worked perfectly which meant we could keep up with family back in the UK.

Our preferred holiday making involves plenty of sightseeing, walking and cycling. There are so many places to visit to spend an enjoyable time within a short driving distance of the gite. We walked a number of routes suggested by the helpful booklets provided by the owners. They are also happy to lend local maps as well. Cycling the traffic free lanes is a joy. We also sampled the ‘voie verte’ which runs the 13 km from Broglie to Bernay. There are numerous sandy beaches within easy driving distance – we liked the understated charms of Villers-sur-Mer. We also recommend eating at l’auberge Ancienne in Mennerval, Bernay, for an authentic French dining experience – wonderful food and atmosphere, with a 5 course meal for 12 euros, including free drinks and water – astonishing!

I would like to thank the owners for helping to make our holiday such a memorable one. I always had prompt replies to my emails in the lead up to our holiday. We received the warmest of welcomes on our arrival and this set the tone for our visit. I would have no hesitation in recommending this property to future holiday makers. You will be assured of a carefree holiday in Eure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful countryside
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claire w
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Rural Retreat in Real France!”
Reviewed 25 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I would highly recommend this gorgeous gite near Broglie, Normandy. Its position lends itself to be a great base to some fantastic days out (Lisieux, Rouen, the D-Day landing beaches, Bernay to name just a few). Very easy to drive to from Calais, which is what we did, and although it's close to all the main highways, you feel you're a million miles from anywhere! It's very quiet, feels rural, and is very relaxing - a real treat. The nearerst town with shops & a supermarket is just a 5 minute drive away. So there was no concern with feeling too isolated!

Well equipped for kids - there is a cabin in the garden, filled with great toys (and a paddling pool) which our 20 month old loved, and lots of room to run around safely in the garden. The cabin also offers entertainment for adults - boules, croquet, puzzles, a mini snooker table, and lots of books to read!

The owners couldn't have done enough for us, from greeting us on arrival to ensuring we had a lovely welcome pack in the fridge (milk, butter, eggs, bread and even a bottle of local cider - lovely) to recommending days out, and just generally ensuring we had a great holiday.

The gite is fantastically equipped - we literally couldn't want for anything! Even more helpful, the owners provided a full size cot for our little one (not something every gite owner could offer!), along with stair gates & a high chair. All linen and towels were provided, which was a godsend.

Looking out to beautiful fields, flowers and trees, we really didn't want to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gite, its position, the garden
Liked least: If I had to be really picky (and I'm scraping the barrell here), I'd say there were quite a few cobwebs about - but I guess this is expected in a converted barn!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was as good as advertised and in a great location
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ruthii
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Wonderful, Peaceful, Relaxing and Great Hosts!”
Reviewed 2 July 2012 for a stay in May 2012

We had a wonderful stay in the gite. Our hosts were great, leaving us a very well-thought-out and considerate welcome pack which kicked off our French holiday perfectly. The cottage was well-appointed and we very much enjoyed our time here. Highly recommended and we will hopefully return to share our experience with friends in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail and the location
Liked least: the weather!
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olga G
Ramat Gan, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Emerald "Land of Oz"”
Reviewed 15 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We remember the time spent in this gite with great tenderness. Everything was perfect from the first till the last moment.
The house is equipped and furnished with excellent taste and great care for guests: fine kitchen and bathroom, convenient beds. A garden into which you get when you get when you exit the house is a delight by its own merit. We enjoyed standing by the french window and looking out into the garden like watching a beautiful picture. It was also enjoyable to sit on the terrace with a glass of cider or a cup of coffee!
The house is located very conveniently: absolute idyll coupled with proximity to highway. All places of interest, which are so abundant in this part of Normandy, are easily accessible.
Sally and Neil are charming and hospitable owners of this wonderful stress-free place.
We also recommend to get acquainted with one little gentleman, which visited us on a few occasions with a bunch of dry grass in his tail. He hadn't introduced himself, but apart from that, he exhibited impeccable manners)))
This is an ideal place to get a notion of what is a real bucolic Normandy. You will never want to leave!
Olga, Igor from Israel, May 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 January 2012 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: it was a fabulously relaxing and beautiful place to be
Liked least: really can't think of anything
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nottingham
Reviewed 23 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful exterior and interior of the property.
Liked least: We liked the whole package.
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$67
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing