We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Stables

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Little quiet lane
through to living area
Bathroom
bedroom 1
bedroom 2
bedroom 3 (bedroom landing)
owners stables
neighbours
Broglie
Duck family in Le jardin aquatique in Broglie
Orbec
Monet gardens (1 hour drive)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Broglie, Eure, Haute-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Ian W
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our family spent a glorious two weeks in the sun at the fabulous setting of The Stables. The pictures on Trip Advisor simply don't do it justice. If you are looking to base yourself in Normandy and visit the nearby towns and attractions the Stables is a must. Fabienne provides a heartwarming welcome. The small attentions to detail, like fresh flowers, wine and chocolates on arrival were great touches. Bath towels, tea towels, coffee for the machine make it home from home. Top marks for your fabulous countryside Gite.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puddles12...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely rural retreat”
Reviewed 14 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The Stables was a wonderful place to stay for our week in France. The house is very well equipped with everything you could want and a fantastic garden surrounded by fields full of horses. The weather was amazing, it got up to 39 degrees one day and we barbecued every night and sat outside with a wee glass of wine listening to the birds and animals. Fabienne was a very good host and left us to enjoy our holiday. The local area is really beautiful and full of amenities including a great wee supermarket in nearby Orbec. We did lovely trips to Beaumeznil and Vendeuvre houses and to Pont Audemer for the market and a wonderful day in Honfleur which is picture postcard pretty.
My one request would be a fan in the bedroom as it was very hot under the combed ceiling but we were in a heat wave! We would definitely return.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcus B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful rural holiday cottage”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Great cottage and a lovely area. We had a great holiday. Keeping it absolutely to the point, here are some important things to know that weren't mentioned in any of the other reviews:

One of the bedrooms (the twin) is open to the stairwell, which is itself open to the whole downstairs (so it can be noisy if you're in bed and others are up) and also is the only access to one of the double rooms, so this cottage suits one big family better than, for example, 3 couples.

The kitchen and bathroom are some of the best equipped and best I have seen in a holiday cottage, with plenty of hot water, neat and clearly new installations, and all mod cons - dishwasher, fan oven, 2 coffee machines, microwave, freezer. etc.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia2220...
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderfully peaceful holiday setting”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The Stables is a fantastic holiday gite, settled in a small and peaceful rural village in the French countryside. Fabienne is the most perfect host and the gite is extremely well equipped, with everything that one could need for a holiday. Our children loved feeding the donkey and horses and playing with the three mischievous kittens! We would recommend The Stables to all and hope to return again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Liked least: There wasn't anything!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris1975...
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Superb experience and a wonderful gite.”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and our 10 months old daughter have just returned from a wonderful week here. Fabienne is a superb host and really helped us out whilst we were there. Close enough to the nearest towns to not feel too removed yet in a perfectly secluded area which isn't overlooked by anyone else. This is a wonderful base from which to explore the surrounding areas and the gite itself is better equipped than our own home. We packed way too much considering everything that Fabienne provides for her guests. We certainly aim to return there in the future and highly recommend this to anyone looking for a peaceful getaway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julie w
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic, home from home.”
Reviewed 4 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

What a fantastic gite. 'The Stables' was better equipped than my own home. You had everything you could possibly need. the surroundings where wonderful. who could ask for more than waking up to Fabienne's horse and donkey, waiting for an apple or two. There was plenty to do in the area and you didn't have to drive far. There is also a Lidl in Broglie. FANTASTIC!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the peacefull location and how well equipped the whole place was.
Liked least: no wardrobes
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JSWPDM
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant, relaxing vacation”
Reviewed 1 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We had a wonderful week here, it exceeded our expectations. We have hired cottages many times and this was the most relaxing experience and lovliest host, Fabienne.
So many details thought out and well appreciated, to toys for the kids, loads of towels, well-equipped kitchen, was a top spot!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Environment was so beatiful, tranquil and relaxing, welcomed changed from London.
Liked least: stairs at top for my 17 month old, was difficult.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing