We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely relaxing stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Vingt-Deux

Our much loved cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our much loved cottage
Charming living room with comfy sofas, log burner & television Master Bedroom with vaulted beamed ceiling
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Our much loved cottage
Charming living room with comfy sofas, log burner & television
Master Bedroom with vaulted beamed ceiling
A cosy corner for reading
Sociable open plan living area
Log burner for cooler months
Cuisine!
View of kitchen from the galleried landing
Dining Kitchen
Bedroom 2 with vaulted beamed ceiling.
Upstairs Shower room
Stairway to bedrooms & shower room
Fully enclosed garden with 10ft summer splash pool, ideal for cooling off!
Flora!
Bienvenue!
No.22 at night
Interior Decor
Joyeux Noel
Fields surrounding No.22
Playground at Sauze Vaussais Plan d'eau, near the crazy golf and seasonal snack bar.
Market day in nearby Sauze Vaussais (Thursday & Saturdays)
Meeting the locals at Vallee des Singes - 20 minutes from No.22
Pretty river at Ruffec with seasonal kayak hire a lovely restaurant and cafe (20 mins from cottage
Boat trip to Fort Bouyard & Ile D'aix from La Rochelle
Saint Martin - Ile de Re .
Verteuil-sur-Charente with pretty riverside restaurants & chateau open to the public
St, Macoux lake with water slide, play area, snack bar, picnic areas, and shaded parking
Fun at Futuroscope
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Maire-Levescault, Deux-Sevres, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paris P
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing stay”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The cottage certainly lived up to expectation in the quiet relaxing setting of Courbanay just outside the village of Maire L'evescault. The cottage itself was clean, tidy, well presented/ furnished and of course comfortable. The cottage was very well equipped right down to providing travel plugs! The booking procedure was seemless, friendly and informative. We would highly recommend a stay at No. 22. Many thanks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2014
I am so pleased you enjoyed a relaxing stay at our much loved little home. I have tried to equip the cottage with everything one would need for and enjoyable holiday. I hope you will consider us again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jane b
Surrey, UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage in stunning peaceful location!”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had the most amazing time at No. 22 - what a beautiful cottage and all we could have wished for. Mandy provided the most efficient and friendly service possible - which made the whole rental process so easy. We were really sad to leave and have very happy memories of our time spent at No. 22. Once again a big thank you to Mandy for sharing her 'very special' home.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you to No.22 again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LolaH5
2 reviews
“Best value, service, property ever!!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I can't fault this property and it's owner.
It was our first holiday with our 8 month old, so we decided to go for a self catering property but on a budget due to mat leave. We stumbled across this little gem on holiday lettings, and are so glad we took the gamble
The property itself is beautiful, English shabby chic meets Parisian style. You can see the effort and detail, let alone the endless amenities inside the property
There's a fantastic guest book with suggestions for the surrounding areas, as well as enough to keep most ages of little ones more than occupied
Mandy was a fantastic help and I would recommend this to anyone who doesn't mind a bit of a drive, and wants to experience 'proper' France - stunning!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2014
Wow!! What a kind and complimentary review! Vingt Deux is my 'baby' and I am always so flattered when guests appreciate the love that has been poured into making it so special. It would be lovely to welcome you again in the future and once again, many thanks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rog D
1 review
“Very tranquil”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The cottage is set in a very small hamlet, very tranquil and all mod cons to hand should you require them.

The cottage is well maintained and very clean and the garden is dog proof (a must for our three terriers)

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review our much loved cottage. I am so pleased it met your needs and that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful decoration of the cottage
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Aug 2014
I so appreciate the time you have taken to write such a kind review for our property. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again in the future. Many thanks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lmew1970
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A delightful cottage in a lovely region of France”
Reviewed 23 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

From the initial enquiry, the service received was second to none. My family and I (2 children aged 14 and 12) stayed at No 22 3-17 August 2013; My brother and his wife joined us for the first week and the cottage was plenty big enough for 6; thankfully the weather was very kind to us so most of the time was spent outdoors.

Attention to detail is faultless, everything has been considered and provided by the owners right down to the last detail. The beds were amazingly comfortable with crisp white bed linen. It was our first visit to the area and we will definitely visit again but possibly without the children; they are at the age where they need plenty of activities and other kids to keep them entertained.

We visited Futuroscope, pricey at 136 Euros for 4 of us, and not at all like a theme park such as Alton Towers; it's more Eco-info with most of the attractions being visual 3D and 4D films about space, the tides, sea creatures etc. The evening spectacular was brilliant though, but is was a long day, with an 11pm finish. A visit to Vallee de Singe is a must! The gorillas and chimps are so entertaining. Use plenty of insect repellent though; we all got a few nasty bites. We had a day our at the beach; on recommendation we went to Aytré Plage, about 1 hour 45 away. Brilliant for families with young children, there's nothing much there other than a snack bar & toilets. Around the coast at Châtelaillon Plage was a more lively beach with a lovely seaside resort feel. A vist to Oradour Sur Glane is a must - http://www.oradour.info/ it's a very moving experience.

Overall we had a fantastic and relaxing time. We would have like to have seen more of the area but took advantage of the weather and the pool to cool down. For stargazers the cottage is perfect. I have never seen such clear skies with no light pollution; one night we saw 3 shooting stars!

Thank you so much to Mandy and Carl for the experience!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The traditional feel of the property
Liked least: A small shed would be a great idea for the garden furniture and fire pit
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: To many plusses to list all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Jul 2013
I am so humbled by you kind comments and hope to welcome you both again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$423
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing