We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“60th Birthday !!”
Review of Upper Largo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Upper Largo Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Largo B&B and Inns
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“60th Birthday !!”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

60th Birthday for approx 40 people - dinner at hotel was very well done, great success! Drinks in cosy bar, then dinner in function room where tables were well laid out. Excellent choice on menu, very well presented by attentive staff. Would highly recommend, considering this was a busy Saturday night, nothing was too much trouble - will definitely return, given the chance!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuitcaseReadyDot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    32
    3
    3
    6
See reviews for
36
32
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haddington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The staff were very welcoming and most attentive - nothing was too much trouble. The food was very good; tasty, generous portions and extremely good value for money. We have eaten here before so can say that hotel provides consistently good service.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duffce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh Scotland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Went in by chance for a meal Sunday lunchtime, the restaurant was very busy but the very helpful staff found us a table. We chose the Xmas menu for £11.95 for three courses and were not dissapointed. Excellent value served by very cheery staff. Our only dissapointment is that we live no where near this restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank guide16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We are sometime diners at the upper largo hotel. We stay at the caravan site at monturpie which is a short distance from the upper largo hotel and often walk down from the caravan site to have a meal there. We have mostly been happy with the service and the food. The one time we went on the sunday for the roast it was a terrible meal the roast was like the pre-sliced reformed plastic stuff you buy from the cash and carry. I can only assume they ran out of the real stuff and this was the back up. Apart from this we had some really nice meals there. The last time we went we never booked. We went in and were informed after an inordinate wait that there were no tables available. We said no problem we would settle for a bar lunch only to be told the bar was fully booked. fully booked? There were eight people in the dining room and six people in the bar. Now I appreciate there may be a problem with the staff but really a bar fully booked. This is the first time I've heard of a fully booked empty bar. This belies the hotel s web site which says that meals are served all day. We decided to go to the old manor where we were served no problem with lovely food and great service and were not made to feel like an imposition. The moral of the tale is if you dont book dont go to the upper largo as your not welcome.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckhaven
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I decided to take the missus for an afternoon meal, She had no idea where we were going and it was the first time I had been so it was a risk I was willing to take, we were far from disappointed.

The meal was great, presentation was excellent and the staff were very professional!

We will definitely be visiting again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Mooching our way along the Fife Coastal Road at around 2 pm, searching for somewhere to assuage our growing hunger, we chanced upon this hotel and, intrigued by the roadside advert for the 'Crunch Lunch' of three courses for £9.95 served until 9 pm, we thought we would give it a try. What a good decision that was! Breaded Haggis, followed by roast pork with new potatoes and seasonal vegetables then Eton mess for my wife, deep-fried Brie, roast pork and then Eton mess for me, all served efficiently by a charming smiling waitress at a total coast of £19.90 - absolutely fantastic! How the proprietors do it I do not know - they certainly don't stint on quality or quantity. Our only regret - we found it on the last day of our holiday! It was only on leaving we noticed the Trip Advisor Certificate of Merit. Richly earned and rightly awarded. If you are in the Kingdom of Fife, don't miss it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rakersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Visiting friends and called in here on our way back to denhead,st.andrews,the food(price crunch menu) and service was first class.can recommend it. The price of drinks was quite cheap compared to other pub/restaurants I have been in.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scotthallLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Largo
1.3 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
502 reviews
3.0 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#3 of 4 in Leven
146 reviews
4.3 mi away
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
552 reviews
10.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes
10.3 mi away
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Upper Largo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upper Largo Hotel

Property: Upper Largo Hotel
Address: 4 Main Street | Upper Largo Near St.Andrews, Fife, Largo KY8 6EJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Upper Largo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the start of East Neuk of Fife, this charming 17th century Coaching Inn retains it's original features in the traditional public bar. The bright airy Conservatory Restaurant enjoys superb views over the Firth of Forth and the Lothians beyond. FOOD IS SERVED ALL DAY EVERY DAY!!! Our menus offer a great selection of dishes all freshly prepared using locally sourced produce from land and sea. All the food combines quality with affordability to suit every taste and budget. Function room & en-suite accommodation is available 365 days a year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Upper Largo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing