We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“9 days of paradise!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Centra by Centara Coconut Beach Resort Samui
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Taling Ngam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“9 days of paradise!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

My wife and I have just returned from Koh Samui where we spent 9 amazing days at the coconut villa and spa resort celebrating our honeymoon. We would like to thank all the staff at the hotel that made us feel welcome but a BIG thank you to Pat and Jud who were responsible of the beach bar, these two gentlemen went over and beyond the call of duty to make our stay that more exciting and relaxing. If anyone is planning their honeymoon and want a resort that’s not too loud and overcrowded this is the place. The GM explained that the hotel was going through some changes at the top (new owners) hence the lack in up-keep to certain areas but assured us that by the end of the year 2012 it will be everything and more. We plan to visit Thailand and the Philippines in about a year or two, this time for 2 and a half weeks and WILL be going to the Coconut Villa to say “hello” to the guys at the hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms have great views but pool access rooms are a bit interesting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunan_C, General Manager at Centra by Centara Coconut Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Thank you for spending your happiness holidays with us, the resort is still the same owner but we will have Centara Hotels and Resort standard hospitality in the near future under the name of Centra Coconut Beach Resort Samui, we look forward to welcoming you again and please looking for new name on your next reservation.
Assuring you of our best care and better services.
Sunan Wetcharat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    210
    71
    21
    23
See reviews for
75
253
29
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

Chose this hotel to relax for a couple of weeks and it was exactly what we were looking for after a couple of days in the Lamai souvenir stand area. The rooms were huge and well equipped- it has a 75m pool that made for great daily exercise, and another pool close to the beach. The beach itself was clean, quiet, and private. The open air restaurant and bar made for a good chill spot. The menu options could be expanded as there weren't many alternate restaurants nearby.

It is located well off the beaten path so it is not for the party types but the hotel could arrange for scooter rentals that would allow you to see the entire island. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunan_C, General Manager at Centra by Centara Coconut Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Thank you for spending your happiness holidays with us, look forward to welcoming you again and assuring you of our best care and better services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esbjerg
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

This ressort is far away from the noise and partys at Lamai and chaweng beaches.... It's first class for relaxing and enjoying this Nice place.... Stunning view from the resturant and pool/beach....
75m cooled pool for the HOT Samuian middays...:0)
The staff is always helpfull and smiling.... We love it here, stayed 2nigths more Thank planed!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bowp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunan_C, General Manager at Centra by Centara Coconut Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Thank you for spending your holidays with us, look forward to welcoming you again and assuring you of our best care and better services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

we are here for a friend's wedding, honestly it was a bit surprising when we find out this place is 45 minutes drive away from the airport, coz there are so many options in chaweng/boput/la mei area. after staying here for 3 nights, I can understand why.

this hotel is locate at a very quiet area--you can also refer as "exclusive", it's 5 minutes drive from the main road and to the closest Family Mart-here u can get drinks/snacks etc, there is absolutely nothing within 500 meters but the empty field with coconut trees; hotel has its own private beach; there are 2 pools, 1 is near the beach facing the ocean as the website shows, the other long one is between 2 hotel buildings which make every single room either pool view (2nd floor) or pool access (ground floor), this is very good for groups, coz we can all talk to each other either you are in the room(balcony) or the pool- but again, this could be not so good for people want more privacy, coz the balcony/deck is very close to each other and you can see /hear next room. but for wedding its good, at least at this time of the year, we pretty much ruled the whole place during the wedding weekend.

there are a few villas on the way from the hotel building to the pool near the ocean, from the peek of its glass door it seems to be almost the same size of the other room only locate individually, of coz the wedding couples are staying here, away from the guests, there is only 1 villa which is the one in the front is ocean view - i think its the deluxe ocean view villa. and the rate is not that much more compare to the room, if you want more privacy, stay here.

my husband and I stayed at the pool view room, from our balcony we are fortunately to have some ocean view as well. it is spacious, comfortable bed and pillow, tv is the old style from the 90's, less than 10 channels but surprisingly has HBO and cinemax, and a dvd player; the bathroom is big, with tub and shower, but the amenity is only a shower cap and refilled shower lotion and shampoo, which is okay for us coz we prefer to use our own stuff anyway, there is a hair dryer, but no iron or board.

the hotel provides 2 bottles of local water-the kind in glass bottle, but we get ours from the family mart, Nestle, 1.5L for 14THB; the free wi-fi is not very stable, and you have to use it in the balcony to get a fast service which is a bit annoying, when you are on the beach, then it's no signal; there is a safe in the room, old kind but works okay; the fridge has only the free water, anything else you want like a soda you need to call the room service.

the room facilities are limited, for young couples like us and our friends, it is okay, we hang out at the pool/beach most of the time, as long as it's clean, comfortable, everything is functioning, we won't get upset by the minor details such as there are only bath towels in the room, no hand towels, or the water pressure from the shower is weak etc. after all, its only 3 stars and you pay 2000 THB something for a night--we paid 2250/night when we booked 1 month ago and when i check the price during the stay for next day check in, its only 1410THB.

I agree with other traveller's opinion when they say there is not much service in this hotel. for 1, the numbers they give for guest to call are only front desk, reception--which i doubt is the same number, room service, and spa. the front desk speaks better english and deal with most of the requests such as getting more hangers and fix the safe, the room service is a bit upsetting, i used it twice during my stay, for a simply fried rice, they say "10-15 minutes" each time but it doesn't get to my room at least 45 minutes, after 2-3 calls, and when you eat at the restaurant, it's the same. the most interesting part is, you never get the 1 dish the same, this happened to our friends too, it's like every day there is a different chef, thank god the food taste good, and it's inexpensive, 120-220THB for a fried rice. there is no decent restaurant for at least 10 minutes drive so yes, every guest will have to eat in the restaurant.

although the service is not perfect, every one is very friendly, I think it might because this side of the island is not as touristy as the other side and it's hard to get experienced staff with good english skill. most importantly, you pay for what you get, should you check-in at the intercontinental 15 minutes away, I'm sure any of these will be a problem.

the hotel do provides free shuttle-mini van sits 10 person once a day, every day go to either Nathon/La mei beach, leave 2:30 and pick up at 6, on wed it goes to Chaweng, reservation requested. also the taxi service, airport pick up 900 THB, to chewing 800 THB, taxis are expensive on the island so what they charge is fair. they outsourcing the taxi service to the private car owners, i tried to get a better rate by talking to the driver directly but the rate is the same; moto bike rent 400tbh a day; laundry service is outsourcing too-I believe, but you can just go to the local place by yourslef, there are a couple near the family mart, we paid 120thb for 2kg, but in the busy area like la mei its 30-35thb per kg, again, it's like nothing, so we didn't get upset.

didn't use the spa service this trip, it starts from 990thb for a thai massage while you can get a good one in other area for 200-250tbh. but one of our friend used it and said it's really good.

the wedding ceremony was on the beach with around 50 guests and its beautiful, then the dinner on the deck around the swimming pool, then fireworks on the beach, which is a lot fun, but i think 2-3 days is enough for this area, we will be staying at another hotel more centered for the rest of our trip.

Room Tip: if you decide to book the superior pool view room, ask for the room 216, 215, 214, you can get a oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justjuliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunan_C, General Manager at Centra by Centara Coconut Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Thank you for spending your holidays with us, we appologized for any inconvenience during your stayed, we look forward to welcoming you again and assuring you of our better hospitality services.
Sunan Wetcharat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

Awesome place and beach is also awesome everything was awesome. I would like to go again and again.No complain at all.I was there for five days I enjoyed a lot rather any other place in Thailand.Food was excellent but one problem is all over thailand is drainage system bathroom are stinking.

Room Tip: Higher floor has nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heenavadhani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
expat
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

My fiancee and I stayed here back in Sept 2001 for nearly a week, eating, drinking, and site-seeing under the caring and friendly staff. I only recognize the main eating area and pool now - the rooms were mostly basic bungalows. Tranquil, beautiful, and relaxing - far from the noises of beaches on the East coast. One thing to note is that it's also far from the main areas of Ko Samui so don't expect many options on dining, shopping, etc without some travel (if I remember, 20+ minutes to Chaweng). When I checked out I actually had to ask if bill included everything it was so cheap. Tried many other places on Ko Samui and still remember this one as the best overall.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Struwwelpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire,England
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

My wife and I stayed here during March by accident. By accident I mean that initially we were staying at another Hotel and my wife had a fall there and broke her femur near the hip resulting in several days in Hospital.My wife was not allowed to travel for 2 weeks after a hip replacement operation so we had to stay on in Koh Samui for nine days longer than intended.The Hotel where we were staying at first was not suitable for someone who was temporarily disabled as it was on the side of a hill with many steps.The insurance company [AXA] were excellent and arranged for us to move to this hotel where there was level access to our accommodation and public areas.When we booked in the Hotel even leant us a wheelchair so that my wife did not have to walk everywhere using her zimmer frame provided by the Hospital.
The Hotel was situated in a remote area in the South West corner of the Island so with my wife's limited mobility we did not leave the Hotel except for Taxi trips to the Hospital for outpatient appointments.
The accommodation was excellent-comfortable with good air conditioning which was needed as it was mega hot while we were there.We were on Bed and Breakfast terms so we had to use their Restaurant for Dinner which was not too expensive-the Breakfast was a bit limited but well cooked with nice Bacon which you don't always get.Evening meals were good quality with the Thai food the best option although the fresh fish was very good.They had a happy hour each afternoon like most Hotels do with some of their cocktails 2 for 1.The Mai-Tai cocktails were our favourites.
There were two swimming pools the one outside our room was 75 metres long-one of the best pools I have ever used on my travels.
One of the pluses here was the free Wi-Fi provided which enabled us to keep in touch with our family at no cost-we took a lap top with us and my wife was able to Skype our children on Mothers Day which fell while we were there.
The Hotel afforded spectacular views over the bay to several Islands and the mainland from the beach which was cleaned everyday by a member of staff.Service by the staff here overall was excellent.

Room Tip: Ground floor next to the pool-couple of steps out of the patio door and you cab be in the pool for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taling Ngam
5.2 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
Centara Villas Samui
#10 of 62 in Maret
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
11.5 mi away
ibis Samui Bophut
ibis Samui Bophut
#48 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
4.5 mi away
Banburee Resort & Spa
Banburee Resort & Spa
#2 of 3 in Laem Set
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
MANATHAI Koh Samui
MANATHAI Koh Samui
#10 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
10.7 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
11.9 mi away
Escape Beach Resort
Escape Beach Resort
#8 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centra by Centara Coconut Beach Resort Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centra by Centara Coconut Beach Resort Samui

Property: Centra by Centara Coconut Beach Resort Samui
Address: 114/1 Moo 4 Thanon Taling-ngam, Taling Ngam, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand (Formerly Centra Coconut Beach Resort Samui)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Taling Ngam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Taling Ngam
#3 Spa Hotel in Taling Ngam
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taling Ngam
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Taling Ngam
#4 Family Hotel in Taling Ngam
#4 Romantic Hotel in Taling Ngam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Centra by Centara Coconut Beach Resort Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quaint beach resort on the secluded beach of Thong Tanote, on the south-western tip of Koh Samui, Centra by Centara Coconut Beach Resort Samui enjoys a quiet location, away from the hustle and bustle of Koh Samui. With island vistas, natural surroundings, a private beach dotted with coconut trees, a beautiful spa, a fitness centre, and two swimming pools, this intimately-sized resort is perfect for a no-thrill beach getaway. The resort also offers easy access to the islands of Koh Tan and Koh Mutsum for snorkelling, kayaking, and opportunities to discover the island such as trekking. With only 54 spacious rooms and villas ranging from 44 to 63 square metres of total living space, the resort offers privacy along good views over the pool or the beach. Guests can enjoy the option of staying in a room with direct pool access while each villa features an indoor Jacuzzi and a terrace. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the resort, and there’s also an all-day dining restaurant and a bar. A scheduled shuttle service connects Centra by Centara Coconut Beach Resort Samui with Lamai Beach, a 30-minute drive away, and Chaweng Beach. Nathon Pier, with ferries to and from the mainland, is reached in about 30 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Agoda, TravelUp, Fastbooking, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centra by Centara Coconut Beach Resort Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Villa Hotel Koh Samui
Coconut Villa Resort And Spa
Coconut Hotel Koh Samui
Centra By Centara Coconut Beach Resort Samui Ko Samui/Taling Ngam, Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing