We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd stop on our Thailand experience...R&R!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Centra by Centara Coconut Beach Resort Samui
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Taling Ngam
Reviewed 22 January 2013

This was the last leg of our journey in Thailand and we were here for just a short 3 night stay but it was just what we needed after touring Bangkok and Chiang Mai a nice tropical resort rest! No more touring just rest and relaxation on the beach, in the water, by a pool or on a beach chair.
The Resort is located at the far south end of the Island of Koh Samui on Thong Tanote Beach.
I know the address is different, I don't know why perhaps it's a business mailing thing but It is on this beach. It's about 40 minutes drive from Samui airport and the farthest point from the airport on the island. I wanted it that way and it is secluded to the point that some people don't like it and need to rent motorcycles in order to go somewhere else on the island. That was not my intent.
I just wanted a nice quite, peaceful lay on the beach few days before the dreaded half way around the world flight home and that's just what I got. The room was clean, modern and well appointed with a balcony overlooking a long infinity pool right down the center of the property.
The spa, second pool, restaurant and bar were toward the beach portion of the villa resort with plenty of seating for all guests at any given time. The beach overlooks a nice shallow bay with 5 islands off in the distance to the south/west. The morning breakfast buffet was delicious as was the afternoon and evening meal menu with lots of catch of the day fish. I did have a nice 2km walk up the road coconut groves to the nearest convenience store where I purchased several bottles of beer and coolers for our room. We went to "Talay Nasai Garden Restaurant" for an incredible sunset meal and I highly recommend it to anyone staying close by in Koh Samui.
It's a very small place and requires reservations as it is very popular for both the food and incredible sun sets on this the west side of the island. We did not go anywhere else as I said at the start but there are plenty of activities to take part in on the island. It's also very deceiving when you drive down from the top of the island to the bottom you don't actually see any of the resorts or beaches as the road is away from them and lined with more garage style stores from top to bottom. I think the only way to get a view of the resorts and beaches would be to cruise the waters off-shore. This was a really pleasant rest at the end of our amazing trip.
The big surprise was the incredibly beautiful airport you find when leaving Koh Samui! I think it's the most beautiful I've seen in the world! The flower gardens and boutiques are gorgeous and they even have an Irish pub there too! It has to be seen to be appreciated!

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor at slightly high rate allow you to access the infinity pool from your room...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anthony f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (540)
There are newer reviews for Centra by Centara Coconut Beach Resort Samui
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

301 - 307 of 540 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2013

Our staying at Centra Coconut was very good! We went to Koh Samui for new year's eve holidays, and the hotel is one of a kind. The staff is extremely helpful and happy, they really wanna help all the time! Also, food was very good and breakfast very fair. The restaurant is just by the beach and what a view (we got full moon)... Their beach is very quiet, and nice for a walk or jogging at sunset. Bathrooms are so big! They also have motorbikes for you to rent it and then you can just go around waterfalls, other beaches and downtown. So it was just perfect: we would stay quiet and relaxing when we wanted to do so, but we also had the option of moving around by motorbike or taxi. It was very nice, and I recommend staying there!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rafflesia2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012 via mobile

This is a great location for peace and quiet away from the noisy resorts like Chawang or Lamai.

The rooms and long pool are very good.

The food needs to improve as the Green Talay 2 miles away is well worth the walk

Staff need to be proactive not reactive to the needs of guests. Every breakfast we had to remind the staff to replenish the food.

12 sun beds on the beach and 6 by the pool isn't sufficient for a hotel of this size. Theykept the beach very clean and raked, free use of the sea kayaks was an added bonus and were a very well used asset, the daily free trips to Lamai etc are excellent for a break and the management have to be complimented on this feature which is an added attraction for staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terry252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunan_C, General Manager at Centra by Centara Coconut Beach Resort Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

We thank you very much for spending your holidays with us, I apologized for any inconvenience, we are on progress to improve property to standard hospitality of Centara Hotels and Resorts. We hope to welcoming you again and assuring you of our better services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Don't know why this resort is listed under "Centra Coconut Beach Resort".Took me a while to search for it to review.It's called Coconut Villas and Spa.
I would say ,U shall have your agenda right,before choosing this place.
As understood by other reviews,if you are wanting to spend quality time away from the hustle bustle,this is a good bet.However,if you are wanting to move around in Samui,then you are definitely gona feel disconnected.They do have a free shuttle to nearby markets and beaches,for a coupla hours.But you can't just walk out and get some stuff whenever you want to.So,with the location being far from civilization,it's a choice you need to make.!!
1.The property is fantastic.We were in the Beach view villa.But then,its not a view as such.A window faces the sea.That's about it !!.But then,the villa,by far is nice,bed's comfortable,bathrooms is big and nice,the sit-outs are gud.We were at villa # 3.
2.The staff is really helpful and friendly.A lady named "Thai" was in charge of housekeeping.Really a sweet person,all smiling and courteous.A guy named "Jod" with the F&B,was helpful too.We were a pure vegetarian couple.He ensured we got descent food to eat without any meat :) :).The rest of them were really nice too.Right from welcoming us to seeing us off,they played a good role.Full marks to the crew in Coconut Villa !!!
3.The beach front: Disappointing :( . The water was full of algaes and weeds.You can't actually enjoy or enter.The beach,the sand ,recliners were all good.Very relaxing,but the fact that you can't actually swim in the water wasn't a nice thing to come across.
4.Bike rentals,Spa charges,food (to an extent) are obviously higher than the normal.That's something I would like them to take care of.Spa rates are almost two times.Not a good thing,when a customer is living at their property far from the market place.
5.The buffet breakfast was repetitive each day.Not much of changes though.Their dine-in place is nice,facing the sea with candles light on each tables,every evening.

All in all, a good place to be for a couple of days.Not for a long period though.

Room Tip: They have a Beach Front Villa.Only one.That directly faces the beach.Good one to chill out.The beach...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandy_Gates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012 via mobile

Good place for relaxing. I have free upgrade to Pool access, It really good. Room are clean. Breakfast are quite good but if food not enough you must tell waitress.

Remark : You should hire motorcycle, if u don't have car. Hotel is far from shop, mini mart, around 1 km.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkjinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Hotel is okay. What we didn't like was the remote location, the absence of a shuttle bus, and that the pool area wasn't clean. There's nothing to do nearby so choose this hotel only if you want to live isolated.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelCouple2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

My wife and I have just returned from Koh Samui where we spent 9 amazing days at the coconut villa and spa resort celebrating our honeymoon. We would like to thank all the staff at the hotel that made us feel welcome but a BIG thank you to Pat and Jud who were responsible of the beach bar, these two gentlemen went over and beyond the call of duty to make our stay that more exciting and relaxing. If anyone is planning their honeymoon and want a resort that’s not too loud and overcrowded this is the place. The GM explained that the hotel was going through some changes at the top (new owners) hence the lack in up-keep to certain areas but assured us that by the end of the year 2012 it will be everything and more. We plan to visit Thailand and the Philippines in about a year or two, this time for 2 and a half weeks and WILL be going to the Coconut Villa to say “hello” to the guys at the hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms have great views but pool access rooms are a bit interesting.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunan_C, General Manager at Centra by Centara Coconut Beach Resort Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Thank you for spending your happiness holidays with us, the resort is still the same owner but we will have Centara Hotels and Resort standard hospitality in the near future under the name of Centra Coconut Beach Resort Samui, we look forward to welcoming you again and please looking for new name on your next reservation.
Assuring you of our best care and better services.
Sunan Wetcharat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taling Ngam
5.2 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
Centara Villas Samui
#11 of 63 in Maret
1,627 reviews
11.5 mi away
ibis Samui Bophut
ibis Samui Bophut
#45 of 184 in Bophut
1,599 reviews
8.9 mi away
Manathai Koh Samui
Manathai Koh Samui
#11 of 51 in Lamai Beach
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Banburee Resort & Spa
Banburee Resort & Spa
#2 of 3 in Laem Set
228 reviews
14.5 mi away
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort
11.8 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#12 of 30 in Mae Nam
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centra by Centara Coconut Beach Resort Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centra by Centara Coconut Beach Resort Samui

Address: 114/1 Moo 4 Thanon Taling-ngam, Taling Ngam, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand (Formerly Centra Coconut Beach Resort Samui)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Taling Ngam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Taling Ngam
#4 Family Hotel in Taling Ngam
#4 Romantic Hotel in Taling Ngam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Taling Ngam
#4 Spa Hotel in Taling Ngam
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Taling Ngam
Price Range: £27 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Centra by Centara Coconut Beach Resort Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quaint beach resort on the secluded beach of Thong Tanote, on the south-western tip of Koh Samui, Centra by Centara Coconut Beach Resort Samui enjoys a quiet location, away from the hustle and bustle of Koh Samui. With island vistas, natural surroundings, a private beach dotted with coconut trees, a beautiful spa, a fitness centre, and two swimming pools, this intimately-sized resort is perfect for a no-thrill beach getaway. The resort also offers easy access to the islands of Koh Tan and Koh Mutsum for snorkelling, kayaking, and opportunities to discover the island such as trekking. With only 54 spacious rooms and villas ranging from 44 to 63 square metres of total living space, the resort offers privacy along good views over the pool or the beach. Guests can enjoy the option of staying in a room with direct pool access while each villa features an indoor Jacuzzi and a terrace. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the resort, and there’s also an all-day dining restaurant and a bar. A scheduled shuttle service connects Centra by Centara Coconut Beach Resort Samui with Lamai Beach, a 30-minute drive away, and Chaweng Beach. Nathon Pier, with ferries to and from the mainland, is reached in about 30 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Fastbooking, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Centra by Centara Coconut Beach Resort Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Villa Hotel Koh Samui
Coconut Villa Resort And Spa
Coconut Hotel Koh Samui
Centra By Centara Coconut Beach Resort Samui Ko Samui/Taling Ngam, Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing