We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view, but oh the woe's, where to begin...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Asia Spirit Lodge & Spa
Reviewed 14 May 2013

first let me say that if you want one of the most breath taking views to chow down with your breakfast then this is the place for you.
But if you want things like, a decent shower, the food you ordered, leaving the hotel when YOU want, security in your room then you may want to reconsider.

So the view: 99 out of 10, thats how good it is.

One of the first things we noticed upon checking into our room was the shower, whilst the design is striking, upon closer inspection what the so called "shower head" is, is a peice of copper tubing which has been flattened at one end and stuck through the mouth of a concrete dragon face on the wall, held in with liquid nails.the water squirts out with such velocity that if you're not standing in the stream you will end up wetting the far wall of the bathroom because theres no shower screen of any description, so it hits the floor and goes everywhere, and of course thats exactly where they put the towel rack... so you get wet towels too.

We went in what i believe to be the low season, may, there was only 2 people manning the resort, Ricky and Kay. Kay - i cant sing enough praise, he was bloody fantastic. Ricky on the other hand, whilst a nice guy, was a constant headache for us. 2 of the 4 nights we were there he brought the wrong food to my wife, he was late picking us up multiple times and on the day we checked out he was supposed to be there to pick us up at 7:40 am, at 7:50 when Kay showed up to save the day, i finally got a call from Ricky asking what i wanted (i'd been ringing him) to discover he was still asleep.
He'd also offered to take us into town, only to drive us to the end of the gate and drop us at a taxi point. We weren't exactly impressed.

Room security, i noticed not only on ours but a few of the rooms the window locks for the bathroom windows are either broken or jammed, there's essentially no point locking your room.

The restaurant has an amazing view, but the lack of housekeeping is annoying, we would have breakfast most mornings to discover tables had not been cleaned or reset from the previous night, or vise versa for dinner, cutlery glasses etc were never reset on the tables, nor wiped down. also they offer a menu with about 25+ main dishes, but we were informed that over half of them were not available, i dont know why, they just wernt. Also for all the fresh seafood around, i tried 2 seafood dishes, both used frozen and cheap seafood ingredients, for what they were charging, it wasnt great.

What i can say was fantastic was Kay and his dog Deer. Kay went above and beyond for us, tried to give us information, showed us things, told us things and generally covered for Rickys lack of customer service, Kay is a bit of an allrounder going from driving us around, to bell boy to being the chef, i dont blame him for the food, he's only doing what he can with what he has.

Oh, the beds are like concrete. didnt sleep at al.

Summery, i'd go back for the view, but not much else.

Room Tip: they all have good views, but are all identical in their problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2013

Our stay at this hotel was amazing. The hotel was quiet and the staff generously upgraded us to the hotels best room! The food was great and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. I got a cold on our trip and the cook made me a special soup.
They helped us organise activities and even cooked up the fish we caught on our fishing charter.
The hotel is in a beautiful location but a little bit far away from things, although the staff are always available to drive you somewhere.
We would love to stay again in the future!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caifraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

The best hotel we stayed at in Thailand! The staff can't do enough for you, Ricky went out of his way to make sure we enjoyed our holiday to the fullest.

Many of the reviews mention that the hotel is out of the way - I think this is a positive point, not a negative one! We were away from the busy areas but within a short drive of the beach. Ricky drove us wherever we needed to go and helped us to book the trips and tours we wanted to do.

We ate at the restaurant several times and the food was great, the green curry was the best we had all holiday! We ate breakfast at the hotel every morning and it was great, a selection of foods for all tastes and an even bigger breakfast at the weekend.

We would definitely go back to the Asia Spirit!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beckylou9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Me and my partner have just spent 7 nights at this stunning hotel. You are quite high up bit the view you get is truly breath taking. All of the staff made us feel like royalty. They couldn't do enough to help you. It is safe to say that this is by far the best hotel i have ever stayed in. Ricky (the manager) was a god send, he was extremely helpful. Anything we wanted he managed to sort out for us. At one point we saw a member of staff carrying a fridge to another room on his shoulder!. Kay was also very helpful and again he would do anything to help you. I recommend this to anyone looking for a place to get away and relax with stunning views. Photos will be on my webpage withing the next 8 days. (Im still in thailand). Www.bdhphoto.com

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brettus1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We had our own transportation, otherwise you're stuck a few km up a mountain with nowhere to go. We checked this place out just to see the views. The manager, Kay, really understands customer service, he made us want to stay there, if it wasn't for his friendly and genuine approach, we might not have.
We chose the room down the stairs from the pool and on the left, it has the most privacy. No one can see in and the balcony is the most private, with the best view of the sunset.
The pool is small, you're not going to be doing any laps. There's a beautiful old tree near the pool and it's giant canopy shades most of the pool area.
Never ate dinner at the restaurant but breakfast was good, cooked by Kay and nicely presented. The coffee is real, comes from an espresso machine. In the morning, before we ate breakfast, I asked for some coffees to enjoy on our balcony. They brought a pot of coffee, cream and sugar, on a nice little tray (at no extra charge).
The bed and linens were good quality but the amenities were just average. No satellite TV, but a good collection of design and cooking books in the lobby.
And of course, gorgeous views.
I highly recommend this small, boutique hotel; but if you don't have transportation, don't plan on going anywhere. We were on the island for a few weeks, so a couple nights here were perfect, and a very nice change in scenery (away from the noise and chaos of the beaches).

Room Tip: take the first room down the stairs and on the left... most private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 72Beetle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We visited the Asia Spirit Lodge in July and had the most fantastic stay. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and attentive (Kay in particular!). Thank you so much for making our holiday one we will always remember. We got enagaged whilst visiting the Asia Spirit everyone helpedto make it a special occasion.
The facilities and views and wonderful too. Couldn't recommend it highly enough.
Thank you

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hanban6457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

I was there in the same day, the food was delicious for that cheap price.. The service was also quite good, and the atmosphere was very friendly and every one seems to enjoy the fantastic dinner..Quite good service also and very good wine promotion!
After we book the hotel with the week end promotion and the room was well decorated and nice balcony.. When we wake up in the morning, we can enjoy the 360 degree view from the baclony, very very AMAZING...
I hardly recommend this place to anyone who like nature, friendly atmosphere, and wonderful view.. A special dinner takes place also some saturday, do not miss it!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frederic s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asiaspirit2012, Propriétaire at Asia Spirit Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Dear Frederic,

Thank you for your support, and hope to see you soon
Best regards
Flora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taling Ngam hotels
0 mi away
InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort
0 mi away
The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam
0 mi away
Centra by Centara Coconut Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Easy Time Resort
Easy Time Resort
#6 of 9 in Taling Ngam
193 reviews
0 mi away
Conrad Koh Samui Residences
Conrad Koh Samui Residences
#4 of 9 in Taling Ngam
86 reviews
0 mi away
Am Samui Resort
Am Samui Resort
#1 of 6 in Taling Ngam
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asia Spirit Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asia Spirit Lodge & Spa

Address: 150/11 Moo 3, Taling Ngam, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Taling Ngam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Taling Ngam
Hotel Class:4 star — Asia Spirit Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Asia spirit Lodge rises out of the top of the mountains near Baan Talingngam at the South-West of the island. At 200 meters of altitude it is now the very top hotel on koh samui. From the hill side you have a sweeping sea view from the national marine park, koh tan, koh matsum, koh som, and the five- island to the mainland.It is a breathtaking view of the gulf archipelago surely the best of the island. The location of The Spirit Lodge has been carefully chosen for its magical access to sea breezes, fresh air, organic garden space, and a sense of well being with the earth. Lift your body, mind and spirit to a higher level of awareness and experience at the new Asia Spirit Lodge & Spa. High on the mountainside of Koh Samui, overlooking the southern expanse of sea and islands, you will relax in your bungalow under a thatch roof complete with state-of –the-art high tech and luxurious amenities in a completely natural, ecological environment.Drawing inspiration from Thailand, Morocco and Bali, Asia Spirit Lodge offers sanctuary within an eclectic blend of color, texture, ancient healing wisdom, and ecological environment providing a tantalizing blend of sources for wellness and pleasure. Both communal and private space is there among the tropical gardens and walking paths and of course the seaside below for activities of your choice. Are you ready for this experience? The most adequate criterion to define our offer is small distinctive boutique hotel. Our customers seek calm, natural surroundings, serenity and wellness. Our products are summarized as:- A meticulous choice of location offers extreme privacy, view and serenity;- Structures small to medium size evoke a high level of wellbeing;- Sumptuous decor and facility inspired by and always respecting the surrounding environment and local culture. Asia Spirit Lodge is located at peak on the island of Koh Samui. The access road to the lodge across the jungle is a dust road and very steep. It is not difficult but an off-road vehicle 4wd is required. Of course, we have shuttle transportation to the valley ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Asia Spirit Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asia Spirit Hotel Taling Ngam
Asia Spirit Lodge And Spa
Asia Spirit Lodge & Spa Ko Samui/Taling Ngam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing