We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time here”
Review of Am Samui Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Am Samui Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Taling Ngam B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We travelled in a group of about 10 people to Am Samui and it was one of the best holidays we have had. We stayed in the villa by the pool, which was large, clean with a comfy bed and great bathroom. Very reasonable price. The best part is, this resort is on the opposite side of the island to the tacky tourist/club scene....it feels very secluded but you can walk to other resorts. Perfect for a family with its private beach and hammocks. All of the food their restaurant cook up is amazing, but if you take a walk down the road you can eat at some local restaurants really cheap and also buy beer there. The manager at the time, his name was "Un" i think, he was amazing...so hospitable we loved him. We would be swimming in the pool, or down on the beach and he would come and offer us drinks and food....always making sure we were never without a lovely cocktail which was great. We recommend hiring the resorts jeep and taking a drive around, we did and it was fun. We hope to come back to Am Samui one day.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldwinelover22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 74 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

I stayed 1 month in studio apartment in Am Samui resort, it was totaly overpriced for what it was. Also there was cockroahes in the bathroom floor, and I had to pay also for breakfast. Cleaning was only once a week which is not enough. People who are in need to be connected via internet with Euroupe should certainly forget about this place.
What I liked was a roof acces from studio and amazing view on sunset from the beach.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VictoriaSu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed in one of the glass bungalows right on the beach and it was perfect!! Just loved the location, so quiet, no beach chairs out on the beach, no tourists and a wonderful place just to relax and unwind. Very quiet when we were there and we ended up staying six nights. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Glass front room is amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandrasophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed in a garden villa for 10 nights, and were very happy with it.
The grounds are beautiful with lots of palm trees and a very nice pool. There is personnel that is constantly sweeping and cleaning the restaurant, grounds, and the beach. And the resort never seemed crowded, even though it was fully booked when we were there. For us, this was a welcome reprieve from the Chaweng or Bophut hustle and bustle.
I would recommend a car or scooter if you stay here, however, because it is a bit of a remote location. And this is not a place for the avid party-goer. But perfect for us as a family.
The service was friendly, always there when we needed them, without being overbearing.
The meals are more expensive than when eating in food stalls or roadside restaurants, but fully in line with what other restaurants there charge, and the food is good quality.
There are only 3 breakfast choices (American,Swiss,Continental), which can get a bit boring after 10 days. But they aren't bad choices.
All in all, a wonderful 3-star accomodation at a reasonable price, so excellent value for money.
My cons/reasons why I didn't give 5 stars:
- There were always some big ants on our floor. Not too many, but enough to be a bit annoying
- Our bedding should have been changed more than once during a 10-night stay. I could have asked for it, but would have preferred it if they had done it themselves.
- The beach has beautiful sand, but then there is a whole stretch with some coral and mostly little rocks before the next sand bank. The rocks are sometimes under water at high tide, but otherwise, they somewhat dominate the beach. So it is not a "tropical dream beach". Nothing that can be avoided or is the resort's fault, and you can walk to the Intercontinental beach if you like. But it would be more pleasing to the eye, and easier for the children's play, if the rocks weren't there. That being said, the beach was cleaner than most, due to the constant effort by the resort.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YviB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I stayed in the glass fronted bungalow directly overlooking the beach. Very clean, ac was good, a few finishing touches in the bathroom perhaps, but all in all excellent value for money. The beach is very shallow with alot of coral, but the sunsets are amazing. The ferries are visble in and out of nearby port and the views of the five islands were beautiful. Yes there was a bit of rubbish on the beaches but that is not the fault of the resort.

If you want peace and beauty this is the place for you. I stayed here for two nights with my family, boys 13 and 10 loved it. Wifi good, pool is nice, it was quite quiet here so had pool to ourselves mostly.. A couple of restaurants close by, had lunch here, food okay. Breakfast was not bad, staff are polite, but overall it is the views and sunsets that make the place special.

A visit to the nearby elephant trek is essential, an amazing experience.

Room Tip: Ask for the glass fronted bungalow or the family bungalow on beach, views are spectuclar to wake up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dawn2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We stayed 2 nights,we were booked to only stay one night but after staying at another resort for only two nights I just diddent want to stay another night, so drove to the resort to see if we could book in for the extra night, I wish I had stayed for longer, I loved the area, we had the beachfront bungalow and wasn't dissappointed, the sunset was amazing, and I loved being able to sit on the beach and watch the buffalo's being brought down for a swim, restaurant bit pricey, so we ate somewhere else, breakfast was included in room price and we both enjoyed this each morning.We will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aussierenie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013 via mobile

Their deluxe bungalows are a health hazard. We upgraded to a beach bungalow on the spot after seeing that bathroom!!!
The restaurant is ridiculously overpriced. (However, the cooking itself is great)
Breakfast lousy!
Super remote.
We should have stayed 3 weeks. We stayed 1 night

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clarke storgaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taling Ngam
9.5 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#12 of 30 in Mae Nam
467 reviews
7.7 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#7 of 51 in Lamai Beach
726 reviews
7.5 mi away
Am Samui Palace
Am Samui Palace
#15 of 51 in Lamai Beach
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
Centara Villas Samui
#11 of 63 in Maret
1,663 reviews
7.5 mi away
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
#24 of 51 in Lamai Beach
448 reviews
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Am Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Am Samui Resort

Address: 39 Moo 3, Taling Ngam, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Taling Ngam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Taling Ngam
Price Range: £22 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Am Samui Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Am Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Samui Resort Ko Samui/Taling Ngam, Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing