We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Taling Ngam
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best sunset”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Stayed for a week in the 2 bedroom villa, felt like home. My kids enjoyed the kids club a lot, the beach and the swimming pools. - smooth check in at 12 am and welcome drinks
-items such as insect repellent and sun protection were complementary in the room
- a wide selection for breakfast
- quick buggy service to the room or the beach
- almost the same menu in the in room dining and the restaurant for dinner (amber)
- enjoyed the beach restaurant which offered some other choices than the main hotel and there are some items on the menu that are not available yet and will be soon
-loved the huge balconies on both levels in the villa
-don't miss the sunset at the air bar
-flames restaurant was not yet open
-there are workers on some of the villas that are not ready yet but we were not bothered by sounds
- spa is located in one of the 2 bedroom villas temporarily until the work is done in the spa and I have done 2 treatments that I have enjoyed, the service is excellent
- 45 minutes away from chweng (nightlife and markets)
If you want privacy, relaxation and views this is the place to stay

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adorable79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalUSM, General Manager at InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Dear adorable79

We are thrilled to read your review and delighted that you and your family had a wonderful experience during your stay. Our team at Planet Trekkers (kids Club) will be delighted to hear your feedback that your children enjoyed this environment and had fun. The sunset over the five islands at Air Bar is in indeed magical and glad you enjoyed it.

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we hope to welcome you back the next time you are in Koh Samui!

Warmest Regards,
Arnaud Girodon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    693
    225
    64
    30
    29
See reviews for
316
464
32
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We spent two days over easter at Intercontinental Samui and are still stunned by the whole experience, we've never seen anything like it. Neither in Thailand nor anywhere else in the world.
The hotel is located on top of a small hill by the sea. Rooms are located either in the main building or in small villas spread around the hill. From the hotel lobby you have an amazing view of the ocean and there's an infinity pool close where you overlook a wide range of the beautiful island. The second pool is located close to the private hotel beach. It was always hard to choose where to go.

Currently there are two restaurants, a Thai / Asian one close to the lobby and an international / grill restaurant at the beach. We only tested the Asian restaurant as the food was so delicious, some of the best Thai food we had. Our package even included one set dinner there so we had one meal free. Breakfast is also served there and was among the best breakfast buffets I ever experienced (they serve delicious fresh Sushi with really generous pieces of fish!)

The room we had was amazing. It was huge, the layout was clever with a big bathroom including a bathtub and a separate toilet. The room even has a wine fridge and small cocktail bar. We rarely stayed in the room though as the site is so nice that you want to spend every single minute outside.

In order to get around on the property, they offer a buggy service. It's convenient, though I wish I had discovered earlier that you can easily walk around.. The site is full of trees so you never walk in direct sunlight.

Service staff is incredibly friendly and try everything to make your stay unforgettable. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: the villas are really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank giannifr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalUSM, General Manager at InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear Giannifr

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us. I am delighted to read that you had a stunning experience with us and abundantly enjoyed the magnificent views, rooms, infinity pools and copious cuisine.

Thank you once again for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back to your “home on a beautiful cliff” as “Baan Taling Ngam” translates to on your upcoming visit to Koh Samui.

Warmest regards,
Arnaud Girodon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
917 reviews
199 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012 via mobile

I read a number of reviews on trip advisor and had a déjà vu moment
Recognising quiet a few of the complaints and was wondering if I was in a dream
I'm a Royal Ambassador with IHG staying over 150 nights a year
This hotel is not upto scratch !!!
Will be discussing directly rather than in public


Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Dkkeeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalUSM, General Manager at InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear Dkkeelin
Greetings!

Thank you for your feedback. However we are disappointed that your recent stay at our resort was not up to your expectations.

I wish you had shared with us the shortcoming you experienced during your stay, as we continually strive to exceed each of our guest’s expectations. I would be delighted to speak with you personally so that we can address your concerns directly. My personal email is arnaud.girodon@ihg.com.

Best regards,
Arnaud Girodon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

My partner and I stayed at Intercontinental Samui for 9 nights in March 2012 in a Ocean View Suite which was perfect, as it had a wonderful honeymoon design set up, located on a hill with very nice sea views.
From the minute we arrived, we enjoy the genuine Thai hospitality and top class service. We loved the fact that the resort has 7 swimming pools, and we especially enjoyed the infinity pool located near the lobby overlooking the mountains and the ocean! Ultimate relaxation!
The staff were brilliant, nothing was too much trouble and they exceed our expectation on a ongoing basis.

We did the 5 island tour and the Koh Tao snorkeling tour, both were incredible, with an excellent lunch included. The tour was very enjoyable and not too crowded.

The resort is located on the west coast know as the baan taling ngaam. This is ideal for honeymooners, couples and families that want to relax; escape the buzz of everyday life and enjoy top class service in a comfortable environment!
A final note, be sure to try the sunset cocktails at AIRBAR!! Mr. Joe was a fantastic host and bar tender. He transformed the entire sunset experience into an ongoing culinary fiesta. He prepared us a series of unusual drink (be sure to try the molecular cocktails!) and we also loved the tapas and sushi, must try!!

If you're looking for a genuine Thai hospitality, luxury and relaxing gateway, then we highly recommend the InterContinental Samui Taling Ngam Resort & Spa. A little bit expensive but worth all the money spent.....

Room Tip: The smell of the room will tell you a lot about it :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Digimonstre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guangzhou
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Having spent two weeks at the stunning InterContinental Samui Resort in a beachfront pool villa it hasn’t been easy to leave this paradise like destination. Stunning gardens, breathtaking views, and the best location one can imagine. All the staff are excellent, always with a genuine smile and a greeting. The meals were also excellent, with a wonderful breakfast spread from Asia (these sushi’s were amazing!!) to European flavors specially those freshly baked morning croissants! I highly recommend the beach villa as it’s very private and wonderfully located; also for a trip be sure to try the angtong marine park, the sceneries are stunning!

Room Tip: Beach Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bsevag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saham Toney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed here in Febuary and had a bad experience.We changed rooms 3 times in a 7 dat stay.Without going in to great detail it was just not ready in all the rooms we had.It was expensive and no refund offered.Also very remote from the rest of the island on a hill which made you use the buggies.I have stayed many times on Samui when I had a house built but have now returned to uk,this was supposed to be a luxurious holiday.This is my 1st review which i felt I had to write due to our experience.Having stayed so many times i will add other reviews.

Room Tip: Sorry cannot triesd 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalUSM, Manager at InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Paul T
Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback and we apologies for some of the shortcomings you experienced during your stay as the resort had just opened days before your arrival.

Regarding the changing rooms experience, we have tried all in our best to accommodate to your specific desires and needs by proposing various rooms from the deluxe to the villa, hence explaining the changes. Therefore on this matter we feel really sadden by the fact that you have mentioned that it was due to the hotel not being ready. We also feel disappointed reading in your review the fact that you mention that the resort has a “very remote” location and you evaluated very poorly on it, we clearly mention about the unique location of our luxury resort on the island; away from the frantic zones within Koh Samui; on our communications including our website. Utmost privacy, secluded location and comfort with the best views over the gulf of Thailand, make the guest experience truly unique at our resort. Our location is further complimented by highly acclaimed magazines and bestselling books including “1000 places to see before you die”.

Once again, we feel disappointed that you didn’t thoroughly enjoy our unique property, consequently we recommend traveling to hotels that fit your expectations; to avoid such dissatisfaction in the future.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights. The location and setting is beautiful but that was about all they had to offer. I am an Ambassador member of this hotel chain and was not given any of the benefits of my memebership except for water and fresh fruit in the room. Everyday I had 2 or more complaints. The hotel had only been open 5 weeks when we arrived and they have a lot of issues to resolve. I contacted the manager and he never apologized or contacted me back to try to resolve any of the issues. We stayed at a 4 star resort before this one and had much better service. We would go back and give them another chance as the setting of the hotel was fabulous. It is a little far from Chaewang beach where all the action is but there is a courtesy shuttle 3 times a day first stopping in Nathon and then on to Chaewang. I have written a letter to Intercontinnental as well so waiting for there reply as well. Hope the service gets better as we loved the location and privacy.

Room Tip: Take the shuttle to Nathon only 15 minutes by shuttle to buy water, groceries and have lunch or dinn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank barry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taling Ngam
7.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
9.3 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
9.2 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#1 of 50 in Lamai Beach
1,313 reviews
12.9 mi away
Six Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui
#15 of 187 in Bophut
896 reviews
9.2 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort

Property: InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort
Address: 295 Moo 3, Taling Ngam Beach, Taling Ngam, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Taling Ngam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Taling Ngam
#1 Romantic Hotel in Taling Ngam
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Taling Ngam
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taling Ngam
#1 Spa Hotel in Taling Ngam
#2 Family Hotel in Taling Ngam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam is renowned for its legendary status as Koh Samui’s first ever luxury resort. Nestled on a dramatic cliff of Taling Ngam, with spectacular views over the bay and the neighboring Five Islands. The resort features chic and innovative dining, seven swimming pools, 79 beautifully appointed rooms, suites and villas including the iconic Beachfront Pool Villas. Baan Thai Spa and the famed Air Bar complete the picture ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Destinology, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Taling Ngam Resort And Spa
Baan Taling Ngam Hotel Taling Ngam
Hotel Baan Taling Ngam
InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort Ko Samui, Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing