We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm, Serene & Majestic Property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Taling Ngam
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Calm, Serene & Majestic Property”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The Intercontinental Samui is a resort in a true sense. Nestled, away from the city in a calm and serene environment one can hardly find faults with this place.

Right from the time we checked in to the departure, the team at Intercontinental strived hard to make our stay comfortable. The entire team at Intercontinental truly believes in the concept of "Service with a Smile" and needs to be applauded for their customer service skills. The resort has an own beach which was a big plus for us.The view from the hotel is truly to be cherished(especially if you have opted for an Ocean View room). The only area of improvement for the hotel could perhaps be a better spread of breakfast and more options in the In room dining/deserts option!

The resort is well spread out and has all the modern amenities one can think off. One must however note that this is a resort and hence far away from the hustle& bustle of the city(approx 45 minutes from Samui international airport).Tourists wanting to stay closer to city centre may want to look at alternate options as the nearest market place/city centre is approx.8 Kms from the resort.

Since the resort is quite well spread out, mode of transport within the resort(to various rooms,spa,beachfront and main lobby building) is done by a "Buggy" hence it is advisable to guests to either request for rooms near the main building/lobby or be patient with availability of "buggy" at times.

Traveller's may want to hire a car from a car rental company if you are staying at this property as commuting to & fro(to the other city centres/beaches such as Chaweng,Lamai, Nathon etc) can be challenging and expensive. Hiring a personal car can be a cheaper, comfortable and better option. Pls remember, however, that if you hire a car, do insist on hiring it with an English GPS to navigate your way through the place and with a comprehensive insurance plan.The hotel has its own free parking for guests staying with them.The hotel cars/transportation can be pretty expensive(as compared to private car hire) and hence we preferred the option of car hire as it also gave us a lot of flexibility.

Cars can be hired locally or through international travel companies as Hertz,Avis etc(which are present in Koh Samui airport).Some of these car hire companies can also arrange to pick/drop the cars at your hotel at an additional fee.

Room Tip: - Look at getting an Ocean view room and closer to the main building/lobby. - Try and check for a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kshitij P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalUSM, General Manager at InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Kshitij P,

Thank you very much for your review and for complementing our absolutely beautiful hotel on TripAdvisor. I truly am happy to hear that you got a fabulous experience during your stay, right from the time from check-in to the departure. It makes us very proud and motivates us to continue providing superior quality and personalized hospitality to our guests. I will share your kind words of appreciation with them!

Our “Home on the Beautiful Cliff” is located within the exclusive enclave of Taling Ngam Bay on the unspoilt west coast of the tropical resort island of Koh Samui, 5 minutes to local market, 20 minutes to Nathon Thai commercial town and 30 minutes to Lamai beach. Renowned as the best spot on the island for sunsets, the resort is set in a quiet, secluded location and offers inspiring views over the Gulf of Thailand and the Five Islands beyond. We also provide many activities for free of charge to our guest such as 7 swimming pools, private beach, fitness 24 hour, sailing, Kayaking, 2 tennis courts, etc.

I have passed your suggestions to Director of Food & Beverage to provide more options of menu.

Thank you once again for your encouraging words of appreciation, we all sincerely hope to welcome you back to our resort very soon for your next vacation in Thailand!

Warmest regards,

Stephane Duchenne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    706
    230
    64
    30
    31
See reviews for
321
476
33
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I can't imagine anyone giving this place less than 5 stars. If you are looking for a peaceful and relaxing place to decompress, ICH Samui is the place for you. Those of you looking for a place that plays loud music and is a party scene, you will be painfully bored here. There isn't much to do here past 9pm except lounge around.

1) Airport to Hotel Transfer: We booked through the hotel by emailing the front desk before our travel. After long flights from the US, it was very convenient not to scramble for a taxi outside of the hotel. 2 other flights landed the same time ours did. There's only 1 baggage claim with several people hovering to get their bags. The driver waited for us near the baggage claim exit with AC in the shuttle, cold water and mint towels. The hotel is approximately 45 minutes-1 hour from the airport. The convenience wasn't cheap at 2,000 THB which could be charged to your room. The hotel driver was an experienced driver in Koh Samui. We felt very safe in the insane traffic.

2) Room 105: Room 105 had spectacular views of the 5 islands, pier and property. It is also convenient to the main lobby and breakfast area but further away from the beach. It has a huge bathroom with a rainfall shower and separate tub. It was perfectly cleaned 2x a day.

3) Food and drinks: Breakfast is amazing at the Amber restaurant. Plenty of choices for healthy and not so healthy folks. There is no market or deli on the property so you are forced to dine in the restaurants. If you are facing the beach, turn right and walk down about 3-5 minutes. There is a local restaurant with old bamboo chairs that's recommended by Tripadvisor to get much much much cheaper food and drinks. Other guests told me they bought alcohol at the duty free and enjoyed their own beers in their rooms. We had dinner at Flames on the Beach twice. We ordered the cashew chicken nut and beef panang; both dishes were delicious! Again you can't beat the view and having the sand on your feet. Food and drinks are not cheap at this hotel but everything is very tasty. It's probably safe to say that you are paying for the view everywhere you drink or eat at the hotel. 1 cocktail will cost approximately 500THB.

4) Service: The service here was impeccable during our stay. Our check-in was very easy. We had a walk-through of our room and hotel area which made things easier to find. We often used the golf carts that took guests to/from the beach. We rarely waited more than 2 minutes for a ride up or down the hill. We also booked an excursion with the hotel, and it was very easy. It took all of 5 minutes. The entire staff was helpful, professional and eager to please. Occasionally I would have a staff member that didn't understand something I said, but he/she would call a co-worker to assist me.

5) Wireless internet worked well everywhere on the property including the beach. It was complimentary and easy to use.

6) Beach: The beach is a low current. The sand is not as soft as Chaweng, but the water is just as clear. There are rocks and coral on this beach so I would recommend having water shoes. It's a fantastic beach to take a dip in the sweltering heat.

ICH Samui is one of the most organized hotels that pays close attention to details. It cares about their guests and their overall experience. We personally appreciated the staff's service, the cleanliness of the hotel and strict security.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pr0Jettser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalUSM, General Manager at InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Pr0Jettser,

Warm greetings from our “Home on the Beautiful Cliff”!

Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to learn that your stayed at InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort was an idyllic retreat for you.

We are delighted to read that our secluded location and the lush tropical landscape of our resort provide you the true relaxation and that you were enjoying the peaceful getaway. I would also like to thank you for praising our associates’ professionalism, they work hard to exceed all expectations and to provide our guests with the traditional warmth of Thai hospitality. Rest assured that I will share your kind words of appreciation with the entire team.

We would love to have you back to our “Home on the Beautiful Cliff” where gain the World Leading Luxury Resort Awards 2013 by World Travel Awards and please do look out on our website for some exciting offers. Wish you the very best.

Warmest regards,

Stephane Duchenne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Located in a very quite area of the island, the views of the property are just amazing. As soon as you enter the lobby you know you made the right decision. The room are spacious with wonderful ocean views. Restaurants and food are very good. The pool is located by the beach which you can reach be going down the steps or using the hotel buggy. We also used the steps (247) coming back up up for a slight workout. Have read some reviews where people complaint about the steps but we did not see it as a problem. For budget minded travelers there are a quite a few nice local Thai restaurants within walking distance on the beach or on the entrance of the property. Staff, as everywhere in Thailand, is very friendly and helpful. We can only recommend this property and will be back again.

Room Tip: Having the ocean view all day you might want to choose the basic rooms to sleep in. Don't pay to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank comppack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalUSM, General Manager at InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear comppack,

Thank you so much for writing this review, what a pleasure to know that we made you feel enjoy your trip in Koh Samui and your stay at our “Home on the Beautiful Cliff” with “Million Dollar View”!

It is wonderful to know that you loved the different facilities and services of our resort. We work very hard on keeping consistent service standards and your review will inspire us to maintain yet keep innovating from a product point of view.

Rest assured that I will share your wonderful feedback with the entire team!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Koh Samui for your next visit in the not too distant future.

Warmest regards,

Stephane Duchenne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north wales uk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

We arrived here on 3/3/14-7/3/14 room 630 2 adults and 8 yr old daughter
The check in was very smooth,we had to wait for our room because it was not ready due to arriving before check in ,we was given a room to relax in until our room was ready.we had a cold towel and a cool drink when we arrived,we were given a room which I think was an upgrade to the one we originally booked because it was a bigger room to accommodate our daughter so that an extra bed could be put in the room.we were above the lobby area up in the hills which was loveley and peacefully we had a huge balcony with lots of comfy furniture , this wasn't a problem ,you just ring for a golf buggy and they would come and fetch you.the staff here are amazing,very attentive ,polite friendly.the food is delicious also breakfast was of the highest quality,as special mention to the bell boy Chalerm maeaim (Zar) he was super very friendly and has a great sense of humor,he is a credit to this hotel, also (pan) the butler she is also super she is also a credit to this hotel.the views here are really breathtaking.the beach is very clean and clear to swim in.the restaurants was also very good.we met the head chef mr t he made the best food ever,he is also a credit to the hotel.the food here is reasonably price considering it is a five star hotel I would give it more than five stars,there is seven pools here we have been to most of them and they are truly amazing,they are never crowded,lots is sun beds to choose from and towels waiting on them with a flower in the middle,the service on the beach is excellent they bring you cold drinks of water with lemon in them which is really nice.our room was fantastic very comfortable beds and luxury toiletries ,house keeping do a fantastic job here our room was spotless everyday fresh towels fresh bedding plenty of bottled water,so thank you to housekeeping,we met the manager to he was very nice.i have posted pics to see more of this magnificent hotel,we had a fantastic time here it is so relaxing,so thank you to all at the intercontinental for making our holiday a special one, also just wanted to point out that some of the reviewers have issues with the service but in my experience the is no issues the staff here are reall wonderfully and couldn't do enough for you.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank wendyNorthWalesUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalUSM, General Manager at InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear wendyNorthWalesUk,

On behalf of InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Family, I would like to thank you for your great feedback! It makes us very proud and motivates us to continue providing superior quality and personalized hospitality to our guests.

I would also like to thank you for praising our associates’ professionalism, they work hard to exceed all expectations and to provide our guests with the traditional warmth of Thai hospitality. Rest assured that I will share your kind words of appreciation with the entire team, especially Zar from Bell Boy and Pan, the resort butler!

We don’t have to wait very long for your second visit to our “Home on the Beautiful Cliff”!

Sincerely,

Stephane Duchenne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My wife and I went to this resort on our honeymoon back in February 2004. What a place! This place is rated 6 stars (indulgence). You get an entire double story house to yourself with fantastic ocean views. We even had our own pool to share with about 4 other houses, which was separate from the main pool. The house was superb and made from local resources that really made it authentic and luxurious.
There are two restaurants that serve great quality food, one at the pool and another more formal dining area located closer to the entrance of the resort; both with great views.
The staff were excellent in tending to our needs and would always be courteous. If we wanted to go anywhere in the resort we could ring reception and they would come and pick us up in a golf buggy and take us there. There was a real intimate feel about the resort.
The resort is situated in a quiet area, not far from the town of Nathan, which has loads of restaurants, etc.
My wife and I had a massage provided by the resort, which is by far the best we've ever had. The staff were professional and knew what they were doing.
We normally don't return to places we visit simply because there is too much of the world to see, but if you were to ask me where I would revisit then this resort would be on the list.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonz73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalUSM, General Manager at InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Tonz74,

Thank you so much for writing us an incredible review! Your review was an absolute pleasure to read! The detail of your positive comments about our property and service is very much appreciated by our entire team. I will share your kind words of appreciation with them!

I am very proud to read that you love our resort during your honeymoon stay where you can feel relaxed at your “Divine” in Koh Samui with spectacular views over the Gulf of Thailand.

It has been our joy and privilege to serve you and your husband and we look forward to being of service to you again when your next return to Koh Samui.

Warmest regards,

Stephane Duchenne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mannheim
Level Contributor
178 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I stayed with my partner in the Interconti Samui for the last two nights of our Thailand vacation. The hotel itself is breathtaking when you arrive. The view is just wonderful and the overall atmosphere is really something special. We have booked a premier sea-view room which is located in the top-floor of the actual hotel building. The room itself is really nice and the seaview is really great. What I didn't really like was the terrace. First of all it was not really clean, i.e. the sunbed was dirty and the floor was covered with dirt. Secondly the windows could also need some kind of cleaning... But anyway we liked the room. The floors of the hotel are rather dark and could need some more light and maybe a different color / style as they appear quite ugly in comparison to the other hotel areas.

Something which really has to be improved is the service. Even though I informed the hotel in advance of my estimated arrival time the room was not ready until 4pm. This can always happen but somehow I felt as if the staff was not sure what to do. When the reception told us that the room is now ready we went to the room just to learn that the room was not ready yet as the housekeeping was still cleaning the floor. Information flow needs to be improved for sure! Anyway the lady who showed us the room (Mai) did a great job and I really want to thank her for her superiour service! She even said some words in German to us as she realized that we are from Germany. Coming back to the service: The first night we had dinner in the Amber restaurant and did not reserve in advance. It was clear that we don't get the most prefered table but we really got a strange table even though some other better tables were not occupied the whole evening. The service was really slow and it took more than 15min to order the drinks. From my point of view there were too few people to serve the guests. The other night we went down to the Flames restaurant which offered a far better service which was fast and efficient. But sadly the waiter could not really answer the questions as his english was not good enough. In addition there was one water too much on the bill which is always a bit annoying that you have to double-check each bill for errors.

On the positive side, the service at the main pool (at the beach) was really great, the staff brought free water and were supportive all the time!

Summary: It's really worth staying at the Interconti Samui because of this special location. It would make much more fun to stay there if the service was better!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bip98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalUSM, General Manager at InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear bip98,

Thank you so much for taking your time to give us feedback on TripAdvisor. I truly am sorry to hear that our service was not up to expectations. The areas for improvement have been brought to the attention of the respective department heads to share with the team. We will work harder on these very important aspects.

I do apologize for the cleanliness as well. I have passed these feedbacks to Director of Housekeeping to improve these issues.

In other side, I’m happy to hear that you love our nice view room and our beach pool service. I will share your kind words of appreciation with them, especially Mai!

Dear bip98, I sincerely thank you for your feedback. I can assure you that we will continue to work hard and strive to meet every guest expectation. I do genuinely look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely yours,

Stephane Duchenne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed four (4) nights in an ocean front villa..! From the moment we stepped aboard the speed boat to take us to the resort ... walked in and saw the view from atop the hills .. To the air bar sunsets .. And selection of breakfast and dinner shows .. This place is amazing!! Special mention to our very own butler 'Teddy' .. The entire experience was top notch..! We will be back..!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Seamus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalUSM, General Manager at InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Seamus K,

Thank you for taking your time to share with us your feedback. I am glad to hear that you had an “Absolutely phenomenal experience” stay with warm welcomed from our team at “Home on the Beautiful Cliff” where gain the World Leading Luxury Resort Awards 2013 by World Travel Awards and love our culinary. Rest assured that I will share your kind words of appreciation with the entire team, especially Teddy!

Thank you once again for your encouraging words of appreciation, we all sincerely hope to welcome you back to our resort very soon for your next vacation in Thailand!

Warmest regards,

Stephane Duchenne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taling Ngam
7.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
9.3 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
9.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#1 of 50 in Lamai Beach
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Six Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui
#14 of 187 in Bophut
911 reviews
9.2 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
1,555 reviews
12.6 mi away
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort

Property: InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort
Address: 295 Moo 3, Taling Ngam Beach, Taling Ngam, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Taling Ngam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Taling Ngam
#1 Spa Hotel in Taling Ngam
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Taling Ngam
#1 Romantic Hotel in Taling Ngam
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taling Ngam
#2 Family Hotel in Taling Ngam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam is renowned for its legendary status as Koh Samui’s first ever luxury resort. Nestled on a dramatic cliff of Taling Ngam, with spectacular views over the bay and the neighboring Five Islands. The resort features chic and innovative dining, seven swimming pools, 79 beautifully appointed rooms, suites and villas including the iconic Beachfront Pool Villas. Baan Thai Spa and the famed Air Bar complete the picture ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, IHG, Priceline, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Taling Ngam Resort And Spa
Baan Taling Ngam Hotel Taling Ngam
Hotel Baan Taling Ngam
InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort Ko Samui, Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing