We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded slice of heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Taling Ngam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Firstly, the hotel itself is wonderful. We stayed in a sunset view room with a Jacuzzi in it (behind the bed, but still with a view out of the giant glass sliding doors), and the view is to die for. I felt that the English of the people working there was a bit lacking at times, but everyone was so genuinely nice and helpful, that it never mattered. The food at the restaurant is pretty good, but the price is a bit high (though it is in line with other restaurants in the area). The view of the sunset from your room or the beach will make you re-consider going back home.

My wife did a massage on the beach, which she gave a fantastic review. And on our last day, we did a couples massage, which was heavenly.

The only thing to keep in mind is the location. The hotel is basically on the opposite side of the island as the airport and the major tourist areas. While this means that the beach is comparatively empty, it also means that there is not really any nightlife or other entertainment options available without an expensive 45 minute cab ride. For us, this turned out to be not an issue at all, and we did not feel the need to utilize the hotel's 100 THB shuttle to Lamai beach. We were more than happy to sit on the beach all day, have dinner watching the sun set, have a few drinks by ourselves, and then repeat.

There are not many restaurant options in the area, but there are a few, and we had good experiences at most of them.

Room Tip: The sunset view rooms are as advertised, on the second floor with a great view of the sun disappeari...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSBR, Manager at The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Dear Adam H,
Thank you for taking the time to comment following your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you have a good time and also appreciated the different Spa treatments.
As for the location, like you most of our guest chose this area because it’s secluded and tranquil. So, as you experienced, after a busy schedule this is a place to unwind and recharge the batteries.
All the best,
Henrik&Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (529)
There are newer reviews for The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

227 - 233 of 529 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2013

A wonderful little hotel with god service and friendly staff.
The rooms are clean with a comfortable large bed.
A great pool with a pool-bar and a little restaurant.
The area around the pool is relay nice and beautiful.
Thank you to the Resort Manager and his staff that made my stay unforgettable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterB501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSBR, Manager at The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

Dear Valued Guest, Sawasdee khrap from The Sunset Beach Resort!
Thank you for the wonderful review! It was our pleasure to have you here, and we are happy that you liked the friendly staff and the area around the pool. Thank you for recommending to other guests.
Sincerely yours,
Henrik & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

Don't normally do reviews but currently sat in Doha airport for 16 hours so as we used it alot this holiday to book hotels on the go and found it really useful. Thort id return the favour , , , , ,
We booked here as a friend had suggested it and certainly wasn't disappointed , we were coming to the end of travelling thailand and Cambodia back pack style so a couple of days in pure luxury was well needed . We paid just over 90 a night to stay with hotel.com for b&b . The rooms are lovely so clean and fresh and in the room we booked we had a jacuzzi in our room . The staff here really couldn't do enough for you, especially the front desk lady. They have a complimentary taxi service to the port and also the 7/11 as the hotel is pretty pricey for drinks so we went and purchased from the shop. As this place is so out of the way if your wanting nightlife , definitely not the place as its about 30/35 mins to chaweng beach resort area were the bars and nightlife is .
Overall a really nice few days here, the attention to detail is just lovely
Eg, every late afternoon u see a member of staff going round picking flowers off the trees to put in your rooms and of an evening housekeeping come in and turn your bed down and dim the lights , a really nice touch. Just felt like 3 days off bliss.
Hope it helps
Happy holidayy!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Becca0503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSBR, Manager at The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

Dear Becca0503,
Many thanks for your kind words. It is great for us to know that you enjoyed your time here with us. I’m really glad you appreciated the Turndown Service, and the happy ladies working in the reception. It is our goal to give the best service possible for all of our guests.

We will be sure to pass on your regards to the rest of the team. You are off course welcome back anytime!!!

Best wishes from the Sunset Beach Resort team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Sunset Beach Resort & Spa may be out of the way, with a very modest beach, yet it offers a restful retreat, especially if remoteness is considered a plus. I 'd reserved a two-night splurge at a newly opened, pricey 5 star resort, yet to me it lacked an inviting atmosphere, taste, value. By comparison, Sunset Beach Resort was a breathe of fresh air. I love this place. Pluses for me: Scale/size - it's small, with a comfortable roomy feel. Ambiance/People: The welcome by staff is warm and continues throughout with sincere good service, friendliness. I also appreciated the composition of guests, international, mostly couples, small families (several well behaved children). Food/Drink: Restaurant is casual, comfortable with very good food (never made it past the tasty Thai dishes) and the happy hour drink specials are a treat. Spa/Ammenities: Resort had spa specials and I enjoyed a WONDERFUL massage. The pool is large enough for laps and nice to sit around. Special Touches: The rooms had fresh flowers, fruit, flower petals on turned down beds. Word of my birthday was out and along with cupcakes/candles at lunch, at the end of the day roses and a peronalized cake appeared in my room. Rooms: I looked at the garden and deluxe/superior. Both were very nice and I opted for the deluxe/superior. It was spotless, with a comfortable large bed, oversized jacuzzi tub, roomy open shower, nice small deck, polished wooden floors, tasteful simple decor, comfortable temperature, subtle air conditioner. The room was about 1/3 of the price of the high end resort and not only did I prefer the comfortable feel of this room, the relative cost/value was a treat. Due to weather I passed on an excursion to the Marine Park, instead enjoying a relaxing 2 nights/days at Sunset Beach before continuing on to Kao Tao. I could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: I liked my room - # 1 level 2 (reception area level).
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSBR, General Manager at The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Dear Valued Guest, thank you for the uplifting review! It was a great pleasure to have you here, with your laid back style and happy attitude! We wish you the best and looking forward to see you again in the near future!
Kind regards,
Henrik & all of the staffmembers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We stayed for 3 nights before heading forward to Chaweng. Three words: everything was perfect.
Clean and well-maintained room with all the amenities you could possibly ask for. Kind and service-oriented staff, the scent of the Jasmine flower everywhere, spacious pool, sunset by the beach, massage on the beach, etc. It's a perfect, serene and romantic get-away.
However, if you're looking for wild parties and Khao-San-Road-like-markets, this is not the place. We rented a scooter from the hotel (250THB/day) and rode to Nathon, Lamai beach, and the nearby surroundings. That's how we explored that part of the island.
When going back to Koh Samui (whenever that'll be,) we'll definitely stay at the Sunset beach resort again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LK-DXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSBR, General Manager at The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Thank you for choosing The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa and sharing your comments with other guest’s. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, our romantic location and the genuine hospitality of the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back next time!
The team at The Sunset Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We stayed a couple of days at Lamai Beach before swapping hotels and beach to the Sunset Beach Resort at Taling Ngam.

Before we stayed at a rather budget accommodation so we wanted to pamper ourselves over the last days of our holiday. We didn't know how remote Taling Ngam was and quickly realized that if we don't want to hire a car there is not much you can do by foot around the area.

The welcome was very friendly and the staff in general was very helpful and super polite to all the time.

Our room was a "Sunset Jacuzzi Room" with lovely traditional Thai interior design a huge bed with sea view and a balcony. The only thing I never understood is why some rooms don't have proper doors to the toilet but that is just a minor setback.

The complex is nicely setup in elegant light colors. Everything is clean and has a calming atmosphere to it. The pool is salt water and great to swim labs even that due to the water temperature it doesn't really give you that refreshing feel.

The beach in Taling Ngam is fairly narrow and not as beautiful as other beaches on Samui. There were also some rocks in the water which made a cool down a bit more tricky.

Culinary we were really pleased as the breakfast selection was big with several freshly pressed juices to chose from, variations of eggs, waffles and cold cuts. The restaurant had some great dishes, like the Tuna Steak and a Coconut Rice to die for. This proofed very important as besides some few other hotels there were no restaurants close by or in walking distance. They also offer romantic dinners at the beach which seemed a bit setup on the narrow piece of sand and other guests still lying on the chairs next to the eating couples so we didn't go for it.

Also appreciated was the cocktail happy hour at sunset which we often made use of during our stay. Delicious.

Overall this is a great clean hotel with friendly staff and restaurants that offer delicious and fresh food as well as great sundowner drinks to a higher price level. Only downside is the beach really.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nik_getmygrubon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSBR, General Manager at The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.

It was nice to read you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you warmheartedly for the good feedback about the restaurant and staff.
Regarding the beach I actually haven't heard any complains before, quite the opposite. Please also keep in mind this is the only part of the island, this time of year, that is calm without high waves.
Look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.
The Sunset Beach Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Not located around the busy part of Samui but that is what adds to the beauty of it. Swift service, good room (we stayed in their jacuzzi suite) with a breathtaking view. A lovely pool area and the best is the evening arrangement for dinner by the sea side. Elaborate breakfast. Food is expensive but the taste makes you forget that. Staff is warm and helpful. Will visit again.

Room Tip: Must stay here for atleast a week, take a scooty to see the town and do not take the speed boat ride...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ipshita_Saha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSBR, General Manager at The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2013

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience and for recommending the resort to future visitors. I am very pleased to read how much you enjoyed the overall stay with us, like the dinning at the sea side, and hope to see you back soon.
Kind regards,
Henrik&Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taling Ngam
2.4 mi away
Nikki Beach Resort & Spa
8.9 mi away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#7 of 30 in Mae Nam
731 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#4 of 184 in Bophut
499 reviews
8.9 mi away
SENSIMAR Koh Samui Resort and Spa
6.8 mi away
Rocky's Boutique Resort
Rocky's Boutique Resort
#2 of 51 in Lamai Beach
2,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam

Address: 126/9 Moo 3, Taling Ngam Beach,, Taling Ngam, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Taling Ngam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Taling Ngam
#2 Romantic Hotel in Taling Ngam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taling Ngam
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Taling Ngam
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Taling Ngam
#2 Spa Hotel in Taling Ngam
Price Range: £91 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury boutique resort and spa located directly on the beach front commanding spectacular views of the Koh Samui coast and nearby islands, Sunset Beach Resort & Spa's superbly appointed beachfront villas and sunset rooms sit amidst our private, tranquil spa and gardens where the only sound is the gentle rhythm of the sea. The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam offers 21 uniquely decorated rooms and villas. Sunset rooms are located above reception in a two storey building. Garden villas are positioned around the swimming pool and of course the beach front villas are right by the sand and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sunset Beach Resort And Spa, Taling Ngam
The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam Hotel Taling Ngam
Ban Sabai Sunset Beach Hotel
The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam Ko Samui, Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing