We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam
Nearby Hotels
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Am Samui Resort(Taling Ngam)(Great Value!)
US$41
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Centra by Centara Coconut Beach Resort Samui(Taling Ngam)(Great Value!)
US$38
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$35
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Easy Time Resort(Taling Ngam)(Great Value!)
US$36
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$29
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Phangka Paradise Resort(Taling Ngam)(Great Value!)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,059
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$946
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$494
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$478
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Beige(Taling Ngam)
US$638
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Samahita Retreat(Taling Ngam)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (545)
Filter reviews
545 results
Traveller rating
374
120
33
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
374
120
33
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunset beach resortgarden villaour honeymoonkoh samuipool barthai boxingthai languagebreakfast was excellentsuited us perfectlywelcome drinksteam roompeace and quietchoose this hotelrelaxing stayremote locationcold towelsfive islands
Filter
Updating list...
227 - 232 of 545 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We traveled to Koh Samui in June 2011. We decided to stay in this place for 5 days in the sunset Jacuzzi room where the wasn't sunset view at all. All we saw from our room was massive coconut trees. Our room was above the maintenance staff room where they were performing general cleaning and maintaining from 6am. We could hear the guys sweeping outside area and washing their vehicles early hours in the morning. After 2 nights of broken sleep we decided to speak to the manager about our concerns. They offered us an upgrade to garden villa which was lovely and quiet. Unfortunately the villa garden room had an issue with air con which wasn't working. We had to take the unit apart and clean the filthy filter covered in dust! On the last night we were woken up by a mouse! Yes, mouse was having a lot of fun eating all the fresh fruit left by the staff for us to enjoy. Shame it was mouse who enjoyed it rather than us. When we asked for some help to chase the mouse away, the staff seemed to be more scared than the mouse. There is nice private beach right outside the hotel but forget about swimming! There is dead coral all around which makes very difficult to enjoy dipping in the water. All in all the place is really lovely, staff are helpful and will try to make your stay comfortable. There is a need for some updating, chopping down the coconut trees for the sunset views, sorting out the air con and for the staff to be more proactive. Breakfast was lovely though.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CGAdamski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed for a week for our honeymoon and has a lovely time, really enjoyed lounging by the pool and taking advantage of an excellent happy hour (about £1.80 for a cocktail and they were really good!) the beach is clean and there are plenty of sun loungers as well as free water all day long which us chilled in a cool box on the beach.

We stayed in a sunset jacuzzi room which was spacious and the jacuzzi bath was nice. The staff made the bed and put petals in the bath one day for the honeymoon which was a nice touch. Breakfast was good and the thai buffet one night was lovely

However a few things could have been done a bit better. For example, we had the Private Sunset Dinner on the Beach. This was very disappointing as we booked for 7pm and waited on the beach. There was no table set up or anything so my husband went to reception and we were told to wait at the beach. 20 mins later and no sign of anyone and we were told it would be at the poolside instead as it was too windy by the beach. We were taken to a table by the pool and then another couple were placed right beside us. So it was not private and not on the beach!

Also, we had a voucher for the Thai Moment package at the spa from a wedding guest. We booked in for this 2 hour treatment which was due to last 2 hours each for my husband and I. after 1 hour we were told that it had finished. I asked at reception and the lady said that my friend had only paid for 1 hour for us. I pointed out the voucher and she said my voucher was wrong. Then I asked her to double check and she checked the computer and then told us in fact, we were entitled to 2 hours each. However ladies in the spa were great and we really enjoyed the treatments!

These small issues mean I have given the resort 4 but I would still recommend it, just check things and make sure you get what you have paid for

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Having read the reviews here, maybe our expectations were too high. Don't get me wrong! For the price, the resort is great value but it is pretty dated and there were small niggles here and there that took the shine off a bit.

This is a small property with just a handful of rooms, one restaurant, a pool, a gym and pretty much nothing else, which is located on the secluded Taling Ngam beach. The hotel van picked us up (for a 1,200 baht fee) at Samui airport - a bit creaky, but serviceable vehicle - and we arrived, about an hour's drive later, at a hotel reception that was dated, with old & crumbly fixtures, to be greeted by the ever-helpful, ever-smiling Khun Nok, for a relatively painless check-in.

We had two adjoining "Sunset Jacuzzi" rooms, numbers 10 and 11, one for the wife and I and one for our boys, but unfortunately, the only inter-connecting rooms were already taken, even though we had made the request a month in advance. The rooms are very spacious, with a balcony overlooking the ocean, and a large bathroom area, with a shower and a Jacuzzi. The mattresses have seen some use, but aren't terrible. The furniture is quite dated, but works. There are split air-conditioners in the rooms, and the one in number 11 didn't work very well. They tried to fix it a couple of times but, in the end, we had to make do with a floor-standing fan that they gave us from their office.

The concept is that as the rooms are West-facing, you are meant to get a great view of the sunset from your balcony. Not so. As rooms 10 and 11 are one extreme corner and the resort faces not quite West, but South-West, the palm trees that grow next to the resort block the view almost completely, and to really enjoy viewing the sunset, you really need to be out on the beach.

The pool looks much bigger in the photos than it is, but it is adequate, for the size of the resort. They keep it clean and there are plenty of loungers to go around. Some of the tiles have come off, though, which shows the age of the property. Not bad enough to impact the pool's utility in any way - you can still safely enjoy a swim - but it looks horrible. The pool bar has a "happy hour" from 5:00pm to 6:30pm every evening, when drinks are all half-price and we took advantage of that generous offer every day!

The beach is lovely and secluded. The water is very calm but you can't really enjoy a swim in it as there is a lot of coral & rocks, which makes wading very uncomfortable. The resort provides a variety of activities, including a couple of kayaks that you can take out for free, which is great fun!

The food was very nice, if a little limited in variety. The breakfast buffet was pretty good, the menu had a lot of Thai and western offerings, and we found that everything we ordered was fresh, delicious and nicely presented. It is also decent value for money, which is great, because there isn't much around the property by way of eating options, unless you've hired a car or motorbike, which we hadn't.

The spa also has a "happy hour" promotion from 10:00am to 2:00pm each day on some of the more popular massage and facial treatments. My wife and I both had massages, which were very good. The treatment rooms are nice and the therapists are very knowledgeable and competent.

The best thing about this resort is its staff. They are all extremely friendly, eager to help and, by and large, very competent. From the front office to the restaurants, from the pool to the spa, we found the Sunset team did everything that they could to make our stay comfortable.

Room Tip: Beach & garden villas have a lot of private space. Sunset Jacuzzi rooms have a private Jacuzzi.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HammerM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We were married in Taling Ngam so not only did we spend a week here but we also had family and friends also staying at the sunset beach resort too. We couldnt be more thankful to the wonderful staff for being so welcoming. A special mention to Kai on the front desk for ensuring all of our guests bookings were in order and Chid for the constant flow of cocktails at the pool bar!

We had a bbq at the resort for 50 people, the food and service was well beyond our expectations.

Excellent value for money, amazing service, clean & spacious rooms.

We will definitely be returning!! Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 184EmmaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We spent 7 nights at Sunset Beach Resort and loved it. The staff are friendly and helpful, the grounds immaculate and the beach is superb. By far the best beach on Samui, the water is not as rough and the beaches not packed like it is in tourist towns like Chaweng and Lami. If you want to be in the thick of the tourist areas then Chaweng, Lamai and Boput are good, but we hired a car, stayed here where it was nice and quiet and were only and 30 minutes from just about everything.
We spent 5 nights in a Sunset spa room and the last 2 nights in a beach villa. The beach villa is a lot bigger and has a private garden but my wife and I were equally happy with the Sunset spa room with it's views over the beach and beautiful sunsets.
Would highly recommend staying at this beautiful resort!

Room Tip: Sunset rooms are smaller but as nice as the other bigger rooms.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews