We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam
Nearby Hotels
US$333
US$325
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$863
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Centra by Centara Coconut Beach Resort Samui(Taling Ngam)(Great Value!)
US$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Easy Time Resort(Taling Ngam)(Great Value!)
US$42
US$39
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Valley Hotel and Spa(Lipa Noi)(Great Value!)
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ban Suriya(Lipa Noi)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (544)
Filter reviews
544 results
Traveller rating
373
120
33
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
373
120
33
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunset beach resortgarden villaour honeymoonkoh samuipool barthai boxingthai languagebreakfast was excellentsuited us perfectlywelcome drinksteam roompeace and quietchoose this hotelrelaxing stayremote locationcold towelsfive islands
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
174 - 179 of 544 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This hotel is on the quiet side of the island, which we expected, but there were so few guests there, the staff almost stood at your shoulder waiting for you to finish your food, quite uncomfortable. The pool was not too bad, but gardeners regularly walked by, not nice. Considering it is somewhere you go to relax and just chill, it would have been nice to have a library of sorts. There were daily activities, it would have been nicer had there been a few more people around. Nothing much around, but we did find Italay restaurant a few hundred metres down the beach which offered good food at a reasonable price.The sunsets were beautiful.The air con was completely ineffective if you stood more than a metre away, even after we had someone in to check it out. We finally asked for a fan which made sleeping a lot more comfortable. On the last night we thought we would have a jacuzzi, seeing as we had booked the Jacuzzi room, but the water spout didn't reach out far enough to get the water into the jacuzzi, and so we ended up with more water on the floor than in the tub. A disappointing end to the stay

Room Tip: Don't get a room on top of the restaurant, your balcony overlooks the open plan verandah of the restaurant.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Sunset Beac... K, Resort Manager at The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Sharon R,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor.

I am truly sorry to know that our products and service quality level did not meet your expectation. We really appreciate your constructive feedbacks as these really help us to fine tune our offers to the better level.

I thank you once again for your sincere review and I hope that we would be able to get another opportunity to welcome you again and to confirm your great experience in the future.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Sunset Beach Resort is out of the way on the "secluded" side of Ko Samui. It is a long way from the tourist traps so if you are looking for an isolated beach holiday this is a pretty good spot to start. The beach here is the cleanest I have seen in Thailand.

We stayed in a Garden Jacuzzi Villa which was a good, clean and had everything we needed. The furniture and fittings weren't particularly high end but everything worked. The bed was firm but comfortable and the fridge and air conditioning worked well.

The outdoor bathroom was huge, private and had some nice fixtures. We were told there was only warm water however the water temperature in the shower and jacuzzi were perfect. Being an outdoor bathroom quite a few leaves, flowers and the odd bug get in though.

The villa courtyard, plunge pool and sala were fantastic but not particularly private. The gardens were lush and felt really tropical; the plunge pool was a nice temperature and was cleaned daily to remove the leaves and other plant matter (which was appreciated).

The staff were friendly and attentive and service was always speedy.

The negatives are that being on the quiet side of the island it is a bit of a hike to get anywhere and the food at the restaurant wasn't anything to write home about.

If you are looking for a secluded spot on a Thai island at the right price check out Sunset Beach.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Sunset Beac... K, Resort Manager at The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Greg M,

Thank you for choosing The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa Taling Ngam and for sharing your memorable experience.

It is always delighted to hear that our guests enjoyed our facilities, products and staff hospitality and have so many positive things to say.

Your compliments help making the team’s motivation high. We really appreciate it.

We hope to have opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is really nice, great view and friendly staff. The place is quite and relaxing. But the location is remote, so better for travellers who rent a car.

It is close to attractions like mummified monk and shooting range. There is also some cheap local food nearby. Deep fried chocken is a must try! :)

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Cleo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Sunset Beac... K, Resort Manager at The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Cleo L,

Thank you very much for taking time sharing your recent holiday experience.
It is such a pleasure to know that you had a wonderful and memorable stay with us. I am personally pleased to learn that staff and hospitality provided has met your expectation.

The Team is looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

If you are looking for an excellent resort at a rate that is half and an experience and quality that is double that of all the costly restaurants at Bo Phut(near Airport), then this is the place to be.

I found this place after a tiring search for a resort that is cheap but is as good as the costly ones in Bo Phut(for eg Akaryn, Nora buri, etc). This is in a place called Taling Ngam that is a bit far(about 30 mins) from the main market area. To be exact it is near the Intercontinental but on the beach side. It has its own private beach, long tail and high speed boat.
We stayed 2 nights in the Sunset View Jacuzzi Room and 2 nights in the Beach Front Pool Villa. Both of them were far better than their cost and also far better than the rooms in Akaryn(We stayed 2 nights at Akaryn in the Beach Front Pool Villa). The rooms are far more superior than Akaryn. The food is also good. Even though ASkaryn was better(but cosly as well).

I believe that I sould have stayed 2 more days at the beach front pool villa in Sunset rahther than Akaryn. The beach is also very good. The private pool is large. The staff is superb. i GOT INJURED DURING snorkelling and the treatment, care and hospitality that the staff provided was superb. Also, it was a good thing that a lot of people dont know about it, it was not crowded like Akaryn. They also provide a lot different activities inside the hotel like cooking classes, palm leaf folding, thai boxing, etc. Enough to keep you involved. They also have bicycles, stunt bikes, cars,etc for rent to move around the nearby superb restaurants. Thay also provide private sunset view dinner with superb food and they have a wine cellar from where you can select your choice of wine

I look forward to visiting it again(They give discount for returning guests).

Room Tip: Both Sunset View Jacuzzi Rooms and Beach front Pool Villa are awesome
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amlandohutia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Sunset Beac... K, Resort Manager at The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear amlandohutia,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for your positive feedback.

I am thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our facilities and our services contributed a memorable holiday.

Your compliments really give us high motivation to continue our goal offering high level of products and service quality.

The Team looks forward to welcoming you back to Samui in the hopefully not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My wife and I choose this hotel mainly for the reviews and the quiet location. We were not disappointed In fact after travelling around the whole island we realised just how perfect this location was for us. Nothing was to much trouble for any of the staff .the room was very clean and spacious and stocked with complimentary water daily. Although a bit off the beaten track hiring a car or moped direct from hotel was very easy and only takes an hour tops to get to other side of island. Hotel restaurant food was very good,there were a handful of restaurants near by and the beautiful Lipa Noi was only a 10 minute moped ride away. Would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Deluxe Jacuzzi room on arrival we looked to upgrade but did not feel it necessary.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woodrose7519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Sunset Beac... K, Resort Manager at The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear woodrose7519,

Thank you very much for choosing us and for taking time sharing your recent holiday experience on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to know that we were able to provide you with a relaxing holiday; the peaceful location, our clean and comfort room, and our staff were the highlight of your stay.

Should you plan your future holiday in Samui, please kindly let us welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews