We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Taling Ngam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed 4 nights in the hotel and regretted that we didn't book a longer holiday. The hotel staff were very friendly and the room was clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the BBQ sea food buffet, fire show, and many other activities organized by the hotel including Vege carving, Thai boxing etc etc. We also rented a motor bike from the hotel and toured around the island, that was fun!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dingdingshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Sunset Beac... K, Resort Manager at The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Dingdingshi,

Thank you for your candid feedback on a recent visit to The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa Taling Ngam!!!

The Team and I were more than happy to know that you enjoyed every part of our offers including the daily activities as our aim is to make our guest experienced more than a holiday here.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

157 - 163 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

The Sunset Beach Resort is a charming oasis of calm far from the madding crowd.
We really felt that we were experiencing the 'old Samui' coming here. No traffic, no jet skis, just calm waters and a quiet beach.

If you want to get away from it all, swim in warm blue water and slow right down – this is the place.

We had a beachfront pool villa and it was literally on the beach – like 2 steps from the sand. The villa had both a living room and separate bedroom. The staff kindly put up an extra bed for our daughter in the living room. There were even 2 fridges and 2 bathrooms – much to our daughter's delight.
I found our bed a bit hard (as is the Thai style) and the staff placed a quilted topper on the bed!

The sunsets over Ang Thong were beautiful, you could feel the stress just melt away. Our garden even had a sala with two mats for relaxing.

The hotel main pool is surprisingly long and was never crowded. We ate at the pool bar and the food was great. We also dined on the beach twice in the evening which was a real treat. They have several menus and were happy for us to order from any of them.

Take the time to walk around the corner (go past the Intercontinental) and wade around the rocks. There you'll find the clearest, bluest water. It's lovely.

The staff at the Sunset Beach Resort were so lovely and I think that's one of the key things that makes this place so special.

Tip: Ask for directions! We got a bit lost trying to find the hotel. You'll need a car or some form of transport.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TeeEmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Sunset Beac... K, Resort Manager at The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear TeeEmm,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing great feedback on TripAdvisor.

It is such a delight to learn that our service and hospitality have met your expectation and especially the service provided by our dedicated team was the highlight of your stay. I will definitely share your kind words with all the staff.

Should you plan to experience “The Old Samui” in the future, please let us taken care of you and your family again.

Warmest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I had stayed in the hotel for over 2 weeks and couldn't have had a more relaxing holiday. The hotel staff were very attentive to details, very friendly and the rooms were always clean and spotless. The location is spectacularly perfect if you are looking for a quiet, relaxing vacation since it is quite out of the city, however, the hotel has everything that is needed. All in all, my stay at Sunset Beach Resort was excellent and will definitely return. I am a vegetarian and the hotel chef made excellent vegetarian dishes, which were in the menu and some which I had asked. Thank you to the management team for making my stay as relaxing as possible

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rano199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Sunset Beac... K, Resort Manager at The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Rano199,

Thank you very much for choosing The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa Taling Ngam.

It is such a joy to read your positive comments as it is really motivating the team effort and spirit. I am particular pleased to know that our staff was one of your memorable holiday experience.

Should you wish to visit Koh Samui in the future, please kindly give us opportunity to welcome you again.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Very hard to spot flaws, unless you are really picky.
In general, the hotel is nice and clean, outstanding personnel, great music at the bar, good beach (has both sandy and stony/corraly places), the atmosphere is indeed very pleasant.

Great points:

- the hotel organizes free classes of smth every day - napkin folding, Thai language, Thai massage. For some you have to pay from little to not so little (for example, for Thai boxing it was less than a price for a drink per person and I spent truly an amazing hour with a nice trainer, even though it was my first martial art lesson ever. And for Thai cooking it's 1500 Thai Baht per person, but I did not go).
- Really tropical fruits at breakfast (not just an orange, apple and banana) - there is rambutan, mangostin, pomelo and others. Real fresh juice (guava, watermelon), fresh products. No complaints.
- Splendid music at the bar, and a great barman, who will always make you the cocktail the way you really want.
- Personnel is very nice and friendly.
- The food is quite good. Though I would add more variety of soups in the menu.

Strange points:

- The hotel offers a variety of Snorkeling trips by boat (a speed one, or a long one, with fishing and without, etc.). But there is only 1 driver. So, there is a possibility of not being able to go, if someone had already booked before you.
- Even though the hotel provides swimming equipment for free, most of it is not in best condition (water leaking inside your mask, etc.), and if there is a group of people who went snorkeling in the morning - you will most likely have to wait until they come back, because there will simply be no equipment left. So, better take your own snorkels. For fins - same story. There are 4 pairs, or smth like that.
- Private dinners are a bit overpriced (wine not included), we did try the Grill one on the beach though - amazing atmosphere indeed!
- The hotel is a bit detached from the society (quite far from downtown), but for families or couples seeking privacy it can be even a big plus.

OVERALL - you will definitely not be disappointed. There were a lot of families (couples with kids) in the hotel - noone looked unhappy. The bungalows are quite cosy (amazing flora indeed), and everything seems to be made with taste and well thought-through. No complaints)

Room Tip: It's up to you, really. The jakuzzi villas look more private, the sea-view ones look more romant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Sunset Beac... K, Resort Manager at The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Alex T,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing your memorable experience.
It is such a joy to know that you enjoyed your stay and our activities. Your compliments are definitely the motivation for the team.
Your constructive feedbacks are definitely useful and we will take immediate actions.

Should you plan to visit Samui again in the future, we would be delighted to welcome you back!

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel is very nice, charming and quiet. The staff is very gentil and the sunset are very beautifull...food is good..iff you need some transportation or rent a car everything is possible, the gonna the best for you and try to make you happy

Room Tip: take the room in the corner, more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank carlsmith07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Sunset Beac... K, Resort Manager at The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear carlsmith07,

Thank you very much for staying with us again.

The team and I were glad to have the opportunity to serve you again and we hope our facilities and our hospitality contributed a pleasant stay as always.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Good services, friendly staffs including their manager, beautiful sunset scene. I' m nervious about tourists smoking on the beach since I'm a non-smoker.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Hoko104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Sunset Beac... K, Resort Manager at The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Hoko104,

Thank you very much for taking time sharing your recent holiday experience.

I am thrilled to hear that our service and hospitality have met your expectation. Also, our “ Sunset” scene is definitely not to be missed.

Should you plan your future holiday in Samui, please kindly let us welcome you back.

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed for two weeks, which is a little too long to stay at this hotel. The location is secluded so we really got the peace and quiet we were after. But, after a week or so we began to be a little bored of the menu at the hotel and went in to chaweng a couple of nights. The trip takes around one hour by car so if you want to experience Samui, hire a car or scooter. The staff is friendly and we had no complaints. If we were to go again we would stay here a few nights and move on. We had a nice sunset room with good view of the sunset. Clean and nice beach.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank tagsko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Sunset Beac... K, Resort Manager at The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear tagsko,

Thank you very much for taking time sharing your holiday experience on TripAdvisor.

I am glad to learn that you had enjoyed your stay with us and that our service and products met your expectation. I am particularly pleased to know that you had a good memory of the hospitality provided by our team.

The Team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taling Ngam
2.4 mi away
Nikki Beach Resort & Spa
10.6 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,557 reviews
9.1 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort
11.2 mi away
Nora Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam

Address: 126/9 Moo 3, Taling Ngam Beach,, Taling Ngam, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Taling Ngam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Taling Ngam
#2 Romantic Hotel in Taling Ngam
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Taling Ngam
#2 Spa Hotel in Taling Ngam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taling Ngam
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Taling Ngam
Price Range: £83 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury boutique resort and spa located directly on the beach front commanding spectacular views of the Koh Samui coast and nearby islands, Sunset Beach Resort & Spa's superbly appointed beachfront villas and sunset rooms sit amidst our private, tranquil spa and gardens where the only sound is the gentle rhythm of the sea. The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam offers 21 uniquely decorated rooms and villas. Sunset rooms are located above reception in a two storey building. Garden villas are positioned around the swimming pool and of course the beach front villas are right by the sand and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Splitty, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sunset Beach Resort And Spa, Taling Ngam
The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam Hotel Taling Ngam
Ban Sabai Sunset Beach Hotel
The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam Ko Samui, Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing