We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What luxury!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Viva Vacation Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Lipa Noi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2012

As the name of this place suggests, this is more than just a hotel. Almost everything is just perfect. We booked a beach view chalet, and loved it. From the welcome iced drink that was waiting for us when we arrived to the special effort the staff made to get up early in order to give us breakfast when we had to leave early the owner, her son and the staff couldn't have done more to make us feel at home.

Our accommodation was palatial, with the biggest bathroom I've seen anywhere. There was a complementary basket of fruit, the bedroom was very well appointed, the free WiFi worked well and there was even a walk-in wardrobe big enough for all our clothes and more. There was a choice of three different types of breakfast (included in the price).

Food was generally very good, though the fried pompano was a disappointment. The grounds were beautifully laid out and gave us excellent privacy. This was a perfect place to chill out and relax. Nathon was a short taxi ride away, and the staff were always happy to call one for you.

What was interesting was that many of the other guests were regulars, some having come back several times for quite long periods. I rthink that's the best measure of what a great place this is. Not cheap for Thailand, but amazing value considering the level of luxury.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IaninFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

77 - 83 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2012

Viva Vacation Resort is a great place if you want to get away from the crowds on Samui. The villas are really charming, the staff very professional and accommodating, and the way the grounds are set out means that you can always find a place to chill out by the pool or the sea under big leafy trees. There's an attention to detail in this beautiful little resort that seems to be missing in a lot of other places. Highly, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amrubro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at Viva Vacation Resort for 3 nights over the recent New Year's holidays. We cannot say enough good things about this beautiful, little resort and its owner Kris and his family. From the very moment you arrive you feel like you are home. The staff is so friendly, it is unbelievable! The resort has only 11 spacious, nicely decorated villas where you have plenty of room to lounge also during a rainy day. The grounds are finely manicured, the pool is huge and the restaurant is 5 stars.
The resort is located on a quiet beach on the west coast of Koh Samui, just 5 km south of Nathon pier. If you want to discover the island, you will need your own wheels. We rented a scooter in Nathon upon our arrival but you can also rent one from Kris at the same price we paid in town.
We attended the New Year's eve party and, although there were 11 guests, it was a delightful night. We were greeted with a flower lei and a young coconut drink; they had organized a Thai dance show, a superb buffet with amazing food, gifts draw, flooding lanterns and fireworks at midnight!
We are definitely going back if we travel to Thailand in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelmax71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Located on the beach and on the quiet side of the island, viva vacation's grounds are finely manicured with plenty of space for resting and lounging. The swimming pool is great for both relaxing and swimming laps. The beach is small, but clean and well kept. We spent a whole day at the resort and there was easily enough space to keep us happy. The resort will arrange taxis to nearby Nathon (300 THB), Lamai (500THB) and Chewang (600THB), but there is not much walking distance from the resort.

The restaurant is great.  We looked forward to breakfast each day and it has all that you need; tea, coffee, juice, yogurt and museli, toast and jam, ham/bacon and eggs, and a Thai option. The restaurant does lunch and dinner too. The menu is very varied; everything from Thai delights to detox food. The food quality is very good.

The rooms are little self-contained chalets/cabins. There is lots of space. The bedroom was big and the bathroom bigger. A DVD player is available for use. There is even a little kitchenette.

However, the thing that is worthy of mention above all else is the level of service provided by the staff, in particular the resort manager Kris. Nothing is too much trouble and everything is done with the upmost politeness. 

Thanks for a great stay!!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrewmears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

My wife and I stayed at Viva Vacation resort for seven nights. The villas werespacious with huge bathrooms and nice views - especially the sea facing villas. The sea facing villas adjacent to the pool have the best views of the lot.

The pool is great - its right next to the sea, so from one end of the pool you get a nice view of the beach and from the other end, you get a lovely view of the hills in Samui. The lawn is very well maintained and the restaurant serves decent fare at a reasonable price.

There is hardly anyone ever on the beach, but during this time of the year, the ocean currents tend to wash up stuff onto the beach. The waters are however quite shallow and perfect for folks who are not confident swimmers. I have also heard that the sunset views are lovely, but could not experience any of them personally it was very cloudy all the days we were there.

The only minor issues we faced were that the Wifi signal was intermittent inside the villa and the restaurant had a fixed set of specials and served only wine and beer - so eating in the restaurants got a tad bit boring after a few days. This is not much of a problem, because there are some very nice restaurants in the adjacent resorts.

The resort is on the other end of the island from the airport, so taxis to charge a lot for airport transfers compared to say a resort in Bophut. However, this resort is close to the Nan Thon harbor, which is how you would be getting in to Koh Smaui, if you are coming from the main land by ferry. Nan Thon is also a good place for shopping and eating on the road side, the prices are much cheaper than Bophut or Lamai.

Most of the clubbing, snorkeling centers and water sports are on the opposite end of the island, so if you are a clubbing enthusiast, then this might not be the best place for you.

On the other hand, if you are looking at getting away from the crowds and spending a vacation lazing on the beach in a hammock or by the swimming pool reading a book, look no further than Viva Vacation Resort on the Lipa Noi beach.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZIgmatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

I stayed at Viva Vacaton whilst attending a guided fast which was being run from more basic facilities further down the beach. Therefore I was spending no money in the restaurant but did require quite a lot of help on logistics. The Manager Kris could not have been more helpful, nothing was too much trouble for me.
The beds were comfortable, rooms spacious, pool serene and the villas were not densely packed onto the available land.
I spend 8 nights there and would return.

Room Tip: Ask for the one that over looks the garden to the left of 107
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linntw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We visited Viva Vacation for a 7 day stay. We are a family of 2 Adults, 2 Kids(11yrs, 6 yrs). From the start everything went really well - gorgeous well equipped villa, huge bathroom, superb Wi-fi connection. The lawns are really well manicured and maintained and the pool is fab. The beach adjoining the hotel is quiet and clean and safe. Perfect for swimming in the sea and/or going for long walks in the moonlight. We stayed in the First Row Sea View Villa - this felt like we had our own private pool and beach!! Service was prompt and good. The hotel is owned and run by Chris and his family - they do an excellent job, making you feel welcome and trying to see that everything is perfect.
The location is very isolated, so you end up having most meals at the hotel's own restaurant - luckily the food is very good and all meals were delightful.
The only downside (also a plus to start with) is that it's very isolated. So if you want to step out to any nearby town/ habitation, then you need to hire a motorbike/car or rent a taxi. Since we were not too keen on driving ourselves, we rented the local taxi. Now this is very comfy and safe but they do charge exorbitantly.
Another downside was the very poor quality foot massage I got once - it was more pain than pleasure, and though being a complete massage fanatic who gets a foot massage almost everyday whenever in Thailand, I didnot go back for any more treatments :(
But these two points aside, it was overall an excellent relaxing stay which we all will look back and remember with a smile. Many Thanks to Chris, his family and the lovely staff for making sure we had a great trip.

Room Tip: Go for the first row Sea View Villa - makes you feel like you have your own private pool and beach!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AAH21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lipa Noi
0.9 mi away
Nikki Beach Resort & Spa
8.3 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
791 reviews
8.6 mi away
Sallamai Resort
Sallamai Resort
#1 of 51 in Lamai Beach
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#8 of 51 in Lamai Beach
726 reviews
0 mi away
The Siam Residence Boutique Resort
9.5 mi away
Palm Coco Mantra
Palm Coco Mantra
#1 of 45 in Lamai Beach
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Vacation Resort

Address: 19/4 Moo 3 Lipa Noi | Koh Samui, Lipa Noi, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Lipa Noi
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lipa Noi
Price Range: £30 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Viva Vacation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viva Vacation Resort is "far enough away" from the airport and city to remain a peaceful paradise, yet close enough to everything to be convenient for off-site exploration.An elegant contemporary Thai resort situated in the middle of coconut gardens and surrounded by lush green trees and ornamental plants. Here you'll find true relaxation for your vacation as there is a private white sandy beach, unpolluted wind, gorgeous sunsets, and spectacular sea views which could be the answer to your vacation needs.Also, we offer the great friendly service with 11 air-conditioned villas, a big swimming pool, a restaurant, and all facilities for your comfort and convenience. It is the perfect place to spend your holiday with family or friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Viva Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Vacation Resort Ko Samui/Lipa Noi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing