We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful, wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Viva Vacation Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Lipa Noi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful, wonderful!”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed for 9 nights in seaview villa 103, from Feb 7th to 16th 2014, with 2 kids aged 4 and 1 1/2. We chose Viva because of all the reviews here, and were not disappointed in the least. Yes, the sea is shallow (i.e. warm, calm, perfect for young kids, then!), and the resort is located in a very quiet part of the island, just like we wanted. When you go for a quick cycle using the free bicycles, you'll see local thais, living their local life. No big hotels, no noisy bars, no tourist shops... Just regular people. There's a small temple and school next to the resort, coconut plantations, fields, little farms, it's lovely!

The Viva team is wonderful, helpful, patient and kind. It's hard to prise them enough.

The food at the restaurant is excellent, and it's nice to feel like you're not settling for the hotel restaurant because it's convenient, you're going because it's tasty and well-priced. The food from the small Siam resort next door is more expensive and not as nice. Siam is more fancy, though, and the restaurant is on the beach, so it's OK for a change...

The villas are large, 75 sqm. We slept with an extra full size bed, AND a cot in the bedroom, and had plenty of space to spare. Perfect for families. There is a large, separate dressing room with ample storage to tidy up all the clothes and suitcases.

Wonderful pool, and the gardens are idyllic. Nice massage sala right on the beach, open view of the sunset... Viva is a little slice of paradise.

Thanks Kris, Koi, Phat, Kate, and everyone for making our time with you so memorable. We miss you already!

Room Tip: All villas are slightly recessed from the beach, with a few trees and shrubs between you abd the wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank grandmainger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    24
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
44
86
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Viva vacation is a great option for those looking for a quiet get-away. If you appreciate nature goods and spaciousness over luxurious design and very fine food, you would love it.
The key advantages:
- The beach is really specious, has great seating options and enjoys quiet waters
- 20m long pool which is usually completely free
- The restaurant is open from early morning to late at night, allowing you to eat in as you wish
- The family feeling in the place makes it one of those places people stick around to for many weeks
- Pricing of the food, messages and the rooms is quite reasonable.
- The villas are large and private
The main drawbacks:
- The location is in a small village, far from the main Ko Samui parties and attractions (as in 30m ride) which could get boring after a while
- The villas offering could be upgraded a bit
- The restaurant offers avg food, but to eat real Thai you'd have to walk 100m down the beach to another spot

Room Tip: They are all nice, sea view also means pool proximity and a bit more foot traffic but since there ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My friend and I stayed at this resort in early January for 4 nights. We loved out stay here!
We absolutely adored every aspect of this resort even though it was quite far away from the main tourist area. The rooms were extremely well kept and very nice. Every staff member was friendly, always greeting us with smiles when we passed by. Every time we had a question the staff would always make every effort to answer our enquiry and help us at every opportunity. The staff are super easy to talk to and one of them even taught us a magic trick! (also makes awesome mojitos!)

If you're looking for some partying and clubbing this place is definitely not the place for you. The resort is about 40 minutes away from Chaweng and costs about 700 baht by taxi (if they call the taxi for you). For us, we only spent one day in Chaweng and caught the taxi that they called for us. They also said that if we wanted to organise a taxi the way back we could call them and they would send a driver over. Having the security that we had a ride either way helped us to barter for a taxi on the way back (originally quoted 1000 baht, we managed to get it down to 500 baht although we were really bad at haggling). Honestly though, since we were mostly going on tours for island hopping, snorkelling and other water activities, it didn't really matter that we were on the quieter side of town. We actually preferred our area as it was a lot more local and not as touristy.

The resort provides free bicycle hire and motorcycles for 250 baht a day. We weren't game enough to motorcycle on the crazy samui roads (although nothing compared to Vietnam) but we did use their bikes a few times. They had two new bikes and it was awesome just cycling around the quieter roads. We used them to cycle to the local seven eleven to stock up on junk food and drinks. The resort also provides kayaks for hire for 300 baht for the day. The kayaks are in awesome condition and the bay is super easy to kayak in! You can even kayak to lipa noi pier, which is very pretty and nice. If you do choose to kayak we would suggest kayaking in the morning around 9 to 11am, the beach looks the best then and the sun isn't as harsh.

The food was good but on the pricier side (about 140 - 180 baht), but you can easily grab food from places somewhat close by like Nathong city (about 80 - 90 baht) or there is a place only about 5 minutes away for some cheap grub (ya-on steak). There are also other restaurants if you walk along the beach to lipa noi beach. The prices are similar or more expensive than the hotel restaurant but the walk is quite nice. Only issue is that the tide comes up very quickly so the road you took on the way there might not be there on the way back.

All in all, this resort was GREAT! We were in Samui to relax and that's exactly what we did, relax. If any of the staff read this comment, we love you! Thank you for making our stay in Samui FABULOUS!

(Also if you are taking air asia to samui and going to lipa noi pier, organise a hotel transfer with the resort. It's 150 baht from the pier, which is cheaper than the shuttle that they provide at the pier which was 200 baht.)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Esther H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Wife and I stayed here for nearly 3 weeks over Christmas/New Year 2013/14.
We wanted somewhere away from the bars and discos of the crowded noisy Chawang east side of Koh Samui. So we opted for the west side; just south of the administrative centre of Nathon and close to the ferry services to the National Marine Park and magical islands of Koh Phangan and Koh Tao. What an excellent choice. Sure the beach wasn't as deep but it was well kept and soft sanded, the grounds/gardens were immaculate and the villas were also well appointed and superbly maintained.
There is a restaurant serving the select few villas (just 11) and the prices are excellent value, choice excellent and quality of food top notch.
Having toured around the island, we came across no comparative accommodation against which we said 'wish we had booked that one'.
The management at Viva couldn't have done more to help make our stay a memorable experience and were helpful in booking tours in every respect. You can't go wrong selecting this accommodation for your stay unless you want the all night bars and loud music; in which case you should head for the Cheweng (east) side of the island - and good luck to you. If you don't fancy the east side, I'd avoid the north also as it also busy and suffers from poor/dirty beaches and the similar airport noises as the east side, particularly at Bo Phut.

Room Tip: All villas are good but by preference ask for a sea view villa even if it costs marginally more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickyCJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Cergue, Switzerland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I just spent two weeks at Viva Vacation while doing a yoga-fasting course and feel so very fortunate to have stayed there. The beach is magnificent, boasting several hammocks and plenty of lawnchairs. The sala is occupied by massage therapists who come in to massage guests after a "hard day on the beach"! The hotel's grounds are breathtaking with a magnificent pool, immaculately trimmed shrubbery, trees and flowers that are lovingly cared for by the cheerful hotel gardeners. This scenario is completed by hummingbirds and birds of all sorts singing beautiful songs to you from morning till night! A taste of paradise that also included a beautiful villa large enough to rollerskate in :-), cleaned daily by a very cheerful group of girls.
I ate several meals at the restaurant after completing my fast and although I wasn't able to taste many of the menu items, I found it very good. They really strive to please in every sense of the word.
Last but certainly not least, I found the people at the hotel to be "the BEST".
Kris, the Manager, always (and I really do mean always!) had a smile on his face and went that extra mile to be helpful. Koi and Nitt from the Reception were just so very kind and willing to help in any way possible to make my stay even better. Beer from the restaurant, although still a bit shy about expressing herself in English, was a delight to be around. The kindness of the hotel's personnel in my opinion is also a reflection of how their employers treat them; I feel certain that Kris is a very kind boss.
If you want to feel at home then this is the place to be. Mun-tung, Kris's dog, will most likely stroll over to beg a bite to eat from you. Geckos are plentiful on the island, but are harmless and are also doing their job of eatting up the mosquitoes, which are also plentiful!
The minuses are it is a bit isolated from town and my villa was so big I was losing things constantly (here she goes complaining again...)!

Room Tip: They are all nice but sea view villas are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seren_dipity10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

This is my 3rd visit to Viva Vacation whilst doing a 7 day yoga/fast at Dhamma Healing International. This delightful resort is just a very special place to be (rare to find). There is immense presence and charm which emanates from it. There is a magical quality about the calm atmosphere where detailed authentic healthy care is taken of visitors, the resort itself and the staff. The attractive grounds are blissful to walk through both at day and night. For those looking for a place to enjoy tranquility, a degree of luxury and privacy, I would thoroughly recommend Viva Vacation. The Chalet's are divine - I gasped with delight the first time I saw one. Kris, the manager, has the most beautiful Thai manner and deals so helpfully and respectfully with requests. He has the most engaging laugh and humbly told me "we just try to do our best for our guests" and that I can thoroughly vouch for.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sesame55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed here in Feb and we were made to feel like royalty from the moment we arrived,

The staff were exceptional and nothing was too much trouble.
the food was lovely and the rooms were stunning.
I if I had to find any negative it would be this place and the staff are too perfect I don't know if ANYWHERE else could even come close.

Looking forward to coming back again and again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 285Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lipa Noi
1.4 mi away
Sea Valley Hotel and Spa
1.0 mi away
The Lipa Lovely Beach Resort
9.5 mi away
Palm Coco Mantra
Palm Coco Mantra
#1 of 41 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#3 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
8.6 mi away
Prana Resort Nandana
Prana Resort Nandana
#12 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lipa Lodge Beach Resort
Lipa Lodge Beach Resort
#2 of 13 in Lipa Noi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Vacation Resort

Property: Viva Vacation Resort
Address: 19/4 Moo 3 Lipa Noi | Koh Samui, Lipa Noi, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Lipa Noi
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lipa Noi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Viva Vacation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viva Vacation Resort is "far enough away" from the airport and city to remain a peaceful paradise, yet close enough to everything to be convenient for off-site exploration.An elegant contemporary Thai resort situated in the middle of coconut gardens and surrounded by lush green trees and ornamental plants. Here you'll find true relaxation for your vacation as there is a private white sandy beach, unpolluted wind, gorgeous sunsets, and spectacular sea views which could be the answer to your vacation needs.Also, we offer the great friendly service with 11 air-conditioned villas, a big swimming pool, a restaurant, and all facilities for your comfort and convenience. It is the perfect place to spend your holiday with family or friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Viva Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Vacation Resort Ko Samui/Lipa Noi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing