We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel!”
Review of Kanok Buri Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kanok Buri Resort
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Lipa Noi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Very quiet and peaceful surroundings, do not go here if you want to party or meet new people! The hotel is beautifully laid out in tropical gardens. All staff are super friendly and helpful but not in an "in your face" type of way. Breakfast was fine but not spectacular. Dinner menu at the hotel restaurant was delicious, we tried something new every night and were blown away every time. The stalls on the opposite side of the road also made fantastic food (at a much lower cost). Don't hand in laundry at the hotel, just get in done on the opposite side of the road, cheap and fast! Free wifi with good speed. Free shuttle bus to Nathon and Chaweng. We loved this place, much recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank therese_211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2011

Hotel nicely laid out and location is great if you want to stay somewhere quiet. The beach is lovely and the only one we found in Koh Samui without the pantheon (? I think thats what they're called - the little stingers that feel like itching powder when your in the sea). Room itself was lovely but bathroom was a little shabby and could do with a refresh. Spa and pool really nice. Staff at reception and spa were great. But hotel really let down by restaurant, food was poor and the waiters didn't seem to know what to do in total contrast to practically every other place we went in Thailand! Be aware also that there aren't too many other choices in this area and the hotel know that and take advantage of it by overcharging for things such as food, laundry etc.

Room Tip: Make sure your on the beach side of the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jolann_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Kanok buri is well run. Receptionist Jack is very efficient and helpful. Gives useful advice and tips on "reading the fine print" for car rentals etc. As South Africans, we paid about R1500 for three nights. Room includes Bfast and in-balcony jacuzzi.

Pizza at restaurant was very good.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fatima P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Just got back from 9 nights at Kanok Buri with my fiance - really enjoyed it. This is a quiet hotel on a quiet beach so do not come here if you are looking for active night life etc. This was just what we wanted. Kanok Buri has hotel rooms in the main building which is where we booked in advance - all have a balcony with jacuzzi. They also have beautiful villas set in gardens either with or without plunge pool - after seeing these we asked reception how much it would be to upgrade and for a bargain 1000baht/night we bagged ourselves the front villa with plunge pool (304) - this worked out much cheaper than upgrading on the various websites before arriving. One thing you need to be aware of if you book a villa in advance is that they only have a certain amount of them on the beach side of road which splits the resort (when I say road, it is pretty quiet) - I would definitely try and get one on the beach side.

The hotel's restaurant was excellent - not as cheap as in the major resorts but then you expect this without the competition being there. However Big John's seafood restaurant next door was also really good - seafood platter was excellent. There were a couple of typical Thai roadside restaurants outside the hotel too. We went over to Lamai to the night market and this was about 25mins away in a taxi - pretty much the closest place for nightlife.

Kanok Buri is perfect for relaxation - you can get awy from everything here - the staff are freindly and courteous without being in your face all the time.

Oh and the best part of all of it - the sunsets - we saw four of the best sunsets we have ever seen around the world whilst we were here whilst knocking back your bottle of singha or sipping your Mai Tai!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MartinB117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We have just returned from 6 days at Kanok Buri. Having spent 12 days hectic touring. This was the perfect retreat to unwind. We were there along with 36 others for our son's wedding. It was arranged by the hotel and the couple themselves and was an unforgetable experience. The setting is unrivalled and peaceful but it is easy to arrange taxis or hire a car to go further afield. The rooms are large, including the bathrooms, and well equipped with good air conditioning which I didn't find too noisy.. There is also a fridge and tea/coffee facilities in the room.We had a pool villa which I loved but one of my sons had a jaccuzi room with balcony in the main hotel and it was very good as well.This Hotel is not too big which makes it easy to get to the facilities. The pool is very good and set by the sea and terrace. The breakfast has a very varied choice and is served on the terrace overlooking the sea or in your room if required. Food is available all day and there is a varied choice of a good standard. There are a few other eating places a stroll away along the sand and a very cheap place across the road serving very acceptable food . The beach has lovely soft sand and the sea goes out a long way before it gets too deep to stand, making it very safe for children. I was very sad to leave and would be happy to return to relax and unwind.

Room Tip: Some of the villas are over the road(easy to cross) from the main hotel so are further away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottishlass062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Konak Buri, a resort at Lepa Noi beach, is a beautiful place away from the busy shores of Koh Samui. Good food, peaceful time and clean rooms await you at Konak Buri… but the most striking aspect of this resort is the most hospitable and helpful staff in the world.

During our stay in Koh Samui, we met with a minor road mishap, resulting into some serious injuries. The unforgettable support of the staff (especially Jane and Jum - possibly the best human beings and amazing hosts we ever met) of the resort during this testing time was a pleasant surprise.!! Being in an unknown land, the supportive staff went out of their way to help us and make our stay the most comfortable. The accident did not permit us to enjoy the beauty of Koh Samui, but we return with the memories of the warmth shown by the staff in Konak Buri, which has touched us deeply.

Kudos to the staff at Konak Buri.!!

Konak Buri is the place you would rather be if you are in Koh Samui.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank voyagerclicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

The resort is beautiful, the rooms are clean, modern and spacious, lovely quiet beach and we got a villa with private pool at a great price. The reception staff are especially lovely.
The only downfall was my phone and money stolen from my locked room. The hotel eventually upgraded us, however the door was still locked when I arrived back to the room so I suspect it may have been staff, who also knew we would be out all evening.
Also, watch out for the noisy frogs at night! Ribbit!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EnglandCornflake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lipa Noi
8.6 mi away
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
#34 of 104 in Chaweng
630 reviews
7.5 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
Centara Villas Samui
#11 of 63 in Maret
1,652 reviews
9.1 mi away
Malibu Koh Samui Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Manathai Koh Samui
Manathai Koh Samui
#11 of 51 in Lamai Beach
426 reviews
7.7 mi away
Fair House Villas & Spa
Fair House Villas & Spa
#10 of 30 in Mae Nam
631 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lipa Lovely Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanok Buri Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanok Buri Resort

Address: 84 Moo2 Lipa Noi Beach, Lipa Noi, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Lipa Noi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Lipa Noi
Price Range: £36 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kanok Buri Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Splitty, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kanok Buri Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kanok Buri Hotel Lipa Noi
Kanok Buri Resort Ko Samui/Lipa Noi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing