We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is a little remote but the staff were great”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kanok Buri Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kanok Buri Resort
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Lipa Noi
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Location is a little remote but the staff were great”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here for just 1 night and overall we were quite impressed. The location is quite remote however as we had previously stayed in Chaweng this was really what we were after. It's also only a short taxi journey to the main pier. The room we had was large and clean. The stand out feature however was the staff, they helped us find a good restaurant, made sure we got to the ferry on time even though we were running late and also printed off various documents that we needed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    77
    26
    12
    9
See reviews for
27
115
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely little hotel, helpful and friendly staff, great value for money with everything you need to make it a lovely stay! We stayed in the villas across the road and the jacuzzi plunge pool was excellent, has it's own sun loungers and day bed area. Little local restaurants nearby, shop and massage place was very good.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ad0011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed here in June 2014 as a young couple for just under a week.

Location:- a bit far from the action going on at Lamai and Chaweng. A very quiet area with not much happening but good if you really want solitude. Best to rent a scooter so you can get around and drive to the busier parts of Koh Samui on the east coast. The beach at Kanok Buri is a long deserted stretch. Pleasant but with slightly grainy and pebbly sand (not the fine white dust that you dream about!). Water isn't totally clear. Some seaweed floating about. Generally, not the pristine pretty beaches you see in brochures but a nice beach nonetheless.

Room:- We had a jacuzzi villa. During our 2 weeks in Thailand we stayed in 5 hotels and this had the nicest room. Very well decorated. Spacious. Extremely comfortable bed and quite luxurious. Bathroom was large but a bit old and needed some refurbishment. Room itself was lovely though and we always looked forward to coming back after a long day out and about the island. The resort is on the beach so it was nice to wake up in the morning and have the option of going out to continue sleeping on a sun bed. The villas are placed next to each other with a little winding path between them all with little ponds filled with fish and frogs which croak all night long. Really cute atmosphere.

Staff:- very friendly, smiley and helpful. Breakfast began around 7am everyday but the staff were happy to box up a takeaway breakfast for us whenever we had boat excursions that began at 6am. Overall very pleasant and there is someone on reception round the clock.

There is a nice sized pool right by the beach and the hotel have kayaks which you can take out and use for free. The sun sets on this beach and so you may see a wedding or two taking place while you stay here. We saw a couple of small weddings taking place at the hotel next door, but they shared the same strip of beach with Kanok Buri so we had a good view - a cute touch to your stay if you like seeing that kind of thing.

I would stay here again if I wanted some solitude and peace. There is only one restaurant at the resort though and because Kanok Buri is about a 20-30 minute scooter ride from Lamai and Chaweng, you will find that you'll be going out often to get different food.

I recommend the Spicy Thai restaurant which is about 20 minutes scooter drive from Kanok Buri, heading north, and located on the main road.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LincsGirl87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Just back from 10 days at Kanok Buri and I have to say it was the most relaxing holiday I've been on.
From the minute you arrive the staff take great care of you,lovely reception area and the rooms are great.
Restruant is very good and the spa is worth a visit.
Wish I was still there.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Poorside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2014

In March this year I and 25 of my family members and friends stayed at Kanok Buri Resort for my wedding. I had travelled around Thailand before arriving here and this resort was the most beautiful. With it's gorgeous little villas and greenery throughout it was so relaxing. The staff were so friendly and helpful. Gift the organiser of our wedding was amazing, over conversing in emails for a year organising the wedding and never seeing the place it was a big risk. But the resort is exactly like it's photos, if not more beautiful and my wedding was more than perfect. Every single detail was exact from the flowers down to the table settings I would recommend it to anyone. It was a wedding I and my guests will never forget and I can't wait to go back again.

Room Tip: We had people staying in all of the rooms and they were all beautiful. But if you are after somethin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delvene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

An amazing resort in a beautiful peaceful part of Koh Samui. The staff are always happy to help, polite, informative and knowledgeable on all attractions around the island.
The service is fantastic. From the airport transfer, restaurant staff, house keeping and especially the reception staff.
Highly recommended for anyone wanting an island holiday without the constant hustle and bustle of a commercial strip.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Newtravelerfromoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at Kanok Buri and loved it. The staff were very helpful in making plans and travel arrangements. The rooms are very nice, with great cleanliness. The resort is very quiet at night which was very peaceful. Breakfast was included, which was excellent and had a great selection. Motor bike rentals were very straight forward and they didn't require a passport as collateral. The beach and pool are both beautiful. Not a single complaint with our stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lipa Noi
0.2 mi away
Nikki Beach Resort Koh Samui
7.5 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
0.3 mi away
Sea Valley Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
MANATHAI Koh Samui
MANATHAI Koh Samui
#10 of 50 in Lamai Beach
351 reviews
7.3 mi away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#6 of 30 in Mae Nam
675 reviews
10.5 mi away
Deva Samui Resort & Spa
Deva Samui Resort & Spa
#5 of 10 in Choeng Mon
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanok Buri Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanok Buri Resort

Property: Kanok Buri Resort
Address: 84 Moo2 Lipa Noi Beach, Lipa Noi, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Lipa Noi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Lipa Noi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kanok Buri Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kanok Buri Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kanok Buri Hotel Lipa Noi
Kanok Buri Resort Ko Samui/Lipa Noi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing