We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New years 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lipa Lovely Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Lipa Noi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“New years 2012”
Reviewed 3 January 2013 via mobile

4 of us stayed here over the new year period and we were all very happy with the resort. We hired scooters from the office the first day then realized the place over the road was cheaper. Little bar next door was very good, able to order food and get it delivered to the bar! Very chilled. Got a organized shuttle and boat to koh phengan which was very organized and easy. Top holiday spot.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Davie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    87
    30
    10
    5
See reviews for
71
81
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
152 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Read very good reviews about this place so I booked it.
The staff are all so friendly and helpful. You are always only ten paces from the beach and warm sea. You are only 5 mins drive from the main ferry Port (400 bhat in Taxi). Cocktails are good and breakfast is very nice too.
Right outside the hotel there are some restaurants serving amazing food at 20% of the hotel prices which I would highly recommend.
A great mix of people visit here from retired to party goers and from Auzies to Germans - an interesting blend but a good mix of cultures.
I would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: Ask for a room by the beach as a sea swim before breakfast is awesome. Also, as the beach is west fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We stayed and got married at Lipa Lovely in September 2012. It was a secret wedding just us and our 2 kids. We were lucky we had a perfect day as it had been raining and windy the day before. The sunset was gorgeous. The staff set up a beautiful archway and flowers on the beach. It was a simple western style ceremony with a lovely celebrant. The beach was quiet and it felt very personal and special. Afterwards we had dinner at the restaurant, Big John. Kate was our contact at the resort and organised everything, cannot recommend her enough, a real sweetie and nothing was to hard. All we did was turn up and get married.
This resort is on the western and therefore quiet side of the island. We hired a small suzuki for 2 days (700B/day). Nathon has a local night market with yummy food and lots of tables and chairs set up. Across the road from the resort is a small cluster of cafes/stores where you can get a cheap meal/get your washing done. Big John is a beautiful restaurant but was out of our budget range for day to day eating. Breakfast was included in out room price and was awesome!!
We stayed in a deluxe garden bungalow with an extra bed and it was comfortable for 4 of us (children age 4 and7). The bathroom is huge and there is a little extra section next to the bathroom for luggage, tea and coffee. Safe in room. All at a VERY reasonable price compared to what we paid for a got at Ban Rak beach.
Thanks Kate and all the wonderful staff and waiters at Lipa Lovely/Big John. We will always remember you and our beautiful wedding day.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012 via mobile

I booked this on a special sale price for the first 2 nights in Thailand after almost 30hours of travelling and found it LOVELY. we stayed in a bungalow with air con and slightly away from the pool but only a short walk to pool and restraunt and about 30steps to the sea! it was low season and we were the only two on the bech not of the day which seemed private with white sands and clear waters and no waves, would be good for children as it doesn't get deep for a while! Free sea kayaks are a nice touch an we explored all along the bay in these to keep us entertained! the food was lovely although slightly overpriced and the staff in the restraunt ridiculously friendly, especially a man from Myanmar whose name I've forgotten! Some negatives were the location as although the beach is gorgeous no other restraunts or town or shops or even a minimarts is in walking distance! the wifi is also only available at the restraunt so you have to order something to use it! Had a great time here, but 2 nights was def enough.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aoife91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We stayed here 2011 for three weeks from the middle of June.
Apart from the very friendly and always helpful service-staff, the Lipa exceeded our expectations also in a lot of other ways: breakfast (freshest fruits, yoghurts, delicious eggs etc.), location (very quiet and at a beautiful, mostly deserted, beach), room (spacy and clean with a direct sea-view from the bed!).
In addition to this, the Lipa has a very good restaurant, where one can have very delicious meals (though a bit higher priced, than in most comparable places around the island) and directly across the entrance (about 50 meters to the right) is Geo and her little place, where she cooks the best food for the lowest price. Truly an amazing woman with a touch for preparing great meals within just a couple of minutes with nothing more than fresh ingredients, a gas-stove, a wok and some special sauces: YUMMY!!!!
Plus she offers the beer only slightly higher priced than the supermarkets (try "Leo" or "Singha" - they´re both fantastic!)!
KHOP KHUN KRAP LIPA LOVELY AND GEO FOR THREE WONDERFUL WEEKS!!!!!

Room Tip: Rent a car and drive around the island (we recommend: CH TOURS (car rental samui); professional, fas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2tourtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We have just got back from a 2 week stay at the wonderful Lovely Lipa Resort. We cannot speak highly enough of this place and are happy to share our experience and recommend it.

The Beach - is the absolute best on Koh Samui ( we visited most), the sand is white and powdery, the beach is very clean, there are little or no hawkers (we saw 2 in 2 weeks), the sea is superb for swimming as there are no rocks or weed, the water is clear, there is no current and the water remains shallow for a long way out so it's excellent for children. The hotel also provides free Kayaks which were great fun. Being n the unspoilt west coast, the sunsets are simply stunning.
The resort - is clean, the staff are wonderful and could not do enough for us, simply fantastic with our three children. The service was second to none. The food in the resort is reasonably priced and good, we ate there many times and enjoyed everything. The breakfast is buffet style, the usual tea/coffee, cereals, juices, fresh fruits, salads, yoghurt, waffles and pancakes, toast, bacon sausages etc.The eggs are cooked fresh to order and as you want them. Most of the breakfasts we've have had in Thai resorts have been dismal however the Lovely Lipa's was the best that we have had during our many trips to Thailand. We saw maintenance people working the whole time we were there, they overhauled the children play area, they cleaned and tidied the gardens constantly and when we had minor issues with our room such as a/c not working, light out in bathroom and no hot water in one of the showers they addressed all issues quickly.
We stayed in a family suite villa which had two bedrooms, two en suite bathrooms and an interconnecting living room. The rooms were basic, clean and the daily housekeeping was excellent although the beds are typical Thai style and too hard for my liking.
The pool - is small, there are some tiles missing and unless you use the steps or ladder to get in and out you can graze your legs as the edges are sharp in places. This did not deter our children who spent most of the time we were at the resort in it!
I cannot believe the price that we paid to stay here, it was so reasonable, the resort far exceeded our expectations. The Lovely Lipa is on the quiet west side of Koh Samui so if you are looking for night-life this will not be the place for you. There is a laundry, a couple of small shops and a couple of simple but very good restaurants just across the road from the resort but nothing else. If you are looking for peace and relaxation then we would highly recommend this place. We hired a car for most of our holiday to get out and about.
Although we would not ordinarily go back to a place once we have been - it's a big world out there! - We would definitely consider going back to the Lovely Lipa because of it's stunning location, super staff and service and amazing value.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HandJMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Overall an okay experience. The rooms were clean, well kept and comfortable. The restaurant was good, and breakfast was okay.

Although there were gardeners every day in the grounds, they need some proper care. Simple stuff like pick up rubbish in the bushes, and around the pool, cut the grass etc. The kids play area is an accident waiting to happen. Get rid of it or even better replace it. Rusty nails, and broken steps. Saying that, the kids loved it.

The pool is nice, but for the little ones, it cut their legs to shreds. Sadly this meant that when they tested the sea, it stung and put them off (which was a shame). They eventually worked out how not to cut their legs and feet (walking up the stairs and ladder only) and turned into little fish. Good thing for us also was that we had access to next door's pool and the villa near by. My wife loved the recommended spa, and the staff (in particular Meaw) were great in recommending a less expensive way of visiting Paradise Park.

With all that in mid, not sure we would go back. Shame.

Room Tip: Stay near the pool and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kai_and_Kerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lipa Noi
0.2 mi away
Nikki Beach Resort Koh Samui
7.7 mi away
Escape Beach Resort
Escape Beach Resort
#8 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea Valley Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rajapruek Samui Resort
Rajapruek Samui Resort
#8 of 8 in Lipa Noi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
7.6 mi away
ibis Samui Bophut
ibis Samui Bophut
#47 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,495 reviews
7.5 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
Centara Villas Samui
#10 of 62 in Maret
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lipa Lovely Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lipa Lovely Beach Resort

Property: The Lipa Lovely Beach Resort
Address: 95/70 Moo 2, Lipa Noi, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand (Formerly The Lipa Lovely Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Lipa Noi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Lipa Noi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lipa Lovely Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on the West Coast of Koh Samui, which offers stunning sunset views with our beach front location. Our beach is quiet and suitable for swimming and playing on the sand. Ideal for travelers seeking tranquility and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lipa Lovely Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lipa Lovely Hotel Lipa Noi
Lipa Lovely Hotel
The Lipa Lovely Beach Resort Ko Samui/Lipa Noi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing