We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Class !”
Review of Three Tuns

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Great Abington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Three Tuns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I stayed in The Three Tuns for nearly 4 months on a recent business excursion and found it really great. The quality of the finish to the rooms is fantastic and they have all modern facilities including fast wi-fi and a range of television stations on the 42 inch Sony tv's. The Egyptian cotton bedding and underfloor heating only makes the stay even more relaxing.

The Three Tuns has a fantastic thai menu and is a nice place to have a beer at night. The quality of the food is great and the prices is easy on your wallet. The staff are all incredibly friendly and cheerful. I would have no hesitation in recommending The Three Tuns.

Stephen

Room Tip: Room 4 is one of the family rooms, ask if its free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

The rooms are quite new and well furnished. The pub has good beer, friendly atmosphere and good Thai food. The breakfasts are huge and good quality. Only downside is lack of mobile phone signal. Hosts are very friendly and helpful. Good for 1 or 2 nights but probably would become a little tired of Thai food if stayed longer.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I have stayed pretty much every week for the last year. The rooms are extremely clean and comfortable. The staff and landlord are lovely and friendly and make me feel welcome every week. The Thai food is the best, the Thai chilli rice on the specials board is just delicious and the satay prawns are to die for. The chefs are lovely and friendly and always stop for a chat, I thoroughly recommend, not sure why people have graded as terrible. It's so nice I am going to put my name to it. Clare law

Thank Clare L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

The accommodation is really first class... no faults at all.

The Thai food was average and I think is a bit limiting if you want to stay for more than a couple of days.

I was also expecting a much better range of ales based on their web site... seemed to be limited to 2.

The landlord was fine.. I can see why other posters may have thought he was a bit loud but he was friendly and pleasant during my stay.

If you are looking for very good accommodation for a night its worth a try but dont get too excited about the food.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LarryLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

This pub/hotel in a quiet village location is a real find! The rooms are arranged in a courtyard behind the main pub building, and each is immaculately decorated with the most amazingly comfortable beds and bedding. The bathroom is spotless and straight out of Homes and Gardens. Chris thinks of everything - little touches like the small flask of fresh milk for my coffee - he does all a landlord / hotelier needs to do to create a great atmosphere that not too formal. The restaurant has a woodburning stove, and the food is freshly prepared Thai cuisine from a vast menu and house specials. A great stay for a very reasonable price.

Next time I'm in Cambridgeshire I will certainly be staying there again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent, very well equipped, quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayvee999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

I booked at the three tuns for a longish stay here for work purposes after a let down at another establishment. From the moment you walk into the pub, the welcome is excellent. As someone who often travels on their own for work this was a great relief - to be seen as a decent person who needed food / refreshment or whatever. Karen and Chris run a very efficient establishment and their five stars on this review is well deserved through a lot of hard work and determination I know. The rooms are very luxurious, with fresh towels everyday whether you ask or not which is a nice change. Even if you are staying for a while, each time you turn that key in the door, it looks very fresh and clean. A great relief .... The food is very good and the portions very generous, excellent value for money. It always seems to be buzzing with people no matter what time of day it is ... Highly recommend it as a p,ace to stay and eat. The food is Thai, so even if you think it may be too hot or you, don't be put off, there are cooler options of most dishes!

Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank salllymac65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

Spent three nights at the Three Tuns recently and would return at the drop of a hat. The accomodation is superb, clean, very comfortable (I want that bed!!!), ample storage, huge TV, bathrooms to luxuriate in, free wi-fi, big fluffy towels in fact every need seems to be catered for. Breakfasts are well cooked to order, served hot and there is a huge amount of good food, if you can't handle the monster full English then cereals, toast, fruit and yoghourts are available, coffee is freshly made to order, no nasty stewed stuff here. The Thai food served in the Restaurant is excellent and cooked by people who know their craft and cuisine, lots of choice and if you don't like Thai food then there's a steak option which my other half said was perfectly cooked to his taste. The bar has everything a bar should have including real ales, the wine list is well chosen and from a range of countries. Karen and Chris have gone all out to make sure that the needs of both guests and locals are catered for. This is the only pub in the village and the only pub for about 3 miles in any direction and keeping the local a local is very important as is running a viable and successful business. Karen and Chris manage to balance all sides of their business in a way that brings locals and visitors together in enjoyable and relaxed surroundings. Thank you both for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent. If you need to avoid steps ask for a room at car park level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlotteMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Three Tuns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Tuns

Address: 75 High Street, Great Abington CB21 6AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Great Abington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Great Abington
Hotel Class:4 star — Three Tuns 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Three Tuns Great Abington, Cambridgeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing