We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Three Tuns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Three Tuns
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Spacious room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Stayed here during the Easter break. The room was very spacious and clean, with a very modern bathroom. The underfloor heating was not on and despite asking was not put on until later that night. We didn't want a cooked breakfast but we were disappointed by the cold toast offered, The lady serving us seemed to want to clean up and finish to be else where. The following morning we decided to skip breakfast and just check out. Again we were rushed as she wanted the key.
We ate in the restaurant both nights, the thai food was excellent.
An enjoyable stay but would not recommend breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    21
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
23
53
9
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

The Three Tuns was a wonderful experience. Excellent accommodation the rooms were of a high standard and very clean an modern too. Excellent service from the staff throughout our stay, we arrived early and even got to see the household staff prepare our room and admired their attention to detail. Excellent food, if you like thai food you must try the Tuns menu and we found the breakfast large and cooked just how we like it. Excellent Value, a well known national hotel chain just up the road quoted 50% more for us to stay in inferior accommodation without breakfast for the same night. The Three Tuns was the best little discovery we had at the weekend. Will stay again next time we are over.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

What a lovely place. Fabulous accomodation, very modern and spotless. Bed was so comfortable and the bathroom and walk in shower was great. Food was great, huge breakfast and great value for money. Host very friendly and helpful. Quiet and peaceful location, will definately go again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

I stayed in The Three Tuns for nearly 4 months on a recent business excursion and found it really great. The quality of the finish to the rooms is fantastic and they have all modern facilities including fast wi-fi and a range of television stations on the 42 inch Sony tv's. The Egyptian cotton bedding and underfloor heating only makes the stay even more relaxing.

The Three Tuns has a fantastic thai menu and is a nice place to have a beer at night. The quality of the food is great and the prices is easy on your wallet. The staff are all incredibly friendly and cheerful. I would have no hesitation in recommending The Three Tuns.

Stephen

Room Tip: Room 4 is one of the family rooms, ask if its free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

The rooms are quite new and well furnished. The pub has good beer, friendly atmosphere and good Thai food. The breakfasts are huge and good quality. Only downside is lack of mobile phone signal. Hosts are very friendly and helpful. Good for 1 or 2 nights but probably would become a little tired of Thai food if stayed longer.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

I have stayed pretty much every week for the last year. The rooms are extremely clean and comfortable. The staff and landlord are lovely and friendly and make me feel welcome every week. The Thai food is the best, the Thai chilli rice on the specials board is just delicious and the satay prawns are to die for. The chefs are lovely and friendly and always stop for a chat, I thoroughly recommend, not sure why people have graded as terrible. It's so nice I am going to put my name to it. Clare law

Helpful?
Thank Clare L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

The accommodation is really first class... no faults at all.

The Thai food was average and I think is a bit limiting if you want to stay for more than a couple of days.

I was also expecting a much better range of ales based on their web site... seemed to be limited to 2.

The landlord was fine.. I can see why other posters may have thought he was a bit loud but he was friendly and pleasant during my stay.

If you are looking for very good accommodation for a night its worth a try but dont get too excited about the food.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LarryLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Abington
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Cambridge Fourwentways
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
4.0 mi away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
9.8 mi away
Sheene Mill
Sheene Mill
#1 of 1 in Melbourn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
3.7 mi away
The John Barleycorn
The John Barleycorn
#1 of 2 in Duxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Tuns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Tuns

Property: Three Tuns
Address: 75 High Street, Great Abington CB21 6AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Great Abington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Great Abington
Hotel Class:4 star — Three Tuns 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Three Tuns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Three Tuns Great Abington, Cambridgeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing