We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent lodging in a really great village.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
L'entrée
Dans l'entrée, côté gauche
La salle à manger
La cuisine, à droite de la précédente vue
Le salon, au fond
La salle de bain
Au dernier étage
Salle d'eau à l'étage
L'hôtel de ville de Mittelbergheim (à proximité immédiate du gîte)
L'un des nombreux pressoirs du village
Vue du Champ du Feu (à 20 min en voiture du gîte) prise le 28/12/2014
Photo prise depuis le bas du village
L'un des nombreux châteaux des environs (1h a pied environ du gîte)
Vue sur la vallée, depuis le même château, en décembre
Vue depuis la tour du Champ du Feu (à 20 min en voiture)
Le Mont Sainte Odile, à 15 min en voiture du gîte
Prise de vue réalisée depuis le Mont Sainte Odile
Le mur païen, à proximité immédiate du Mont Sainte Odile
Entre le Champ du Feu et le Struthof
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Mittelbergheim, Bas-Rhin, Grand Est

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Jill3636
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent lodging in a really great village.”
Reviewed 26 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Spent a week in Mittelbergheim and went to Strasbourg, Colmar and lots of very pretty villages. Had one of the best meals ever in Kayserberg.
Will certainly return, Paul and Fabienne made us most welcome, very helpful and considerate.
The vend age was in full swing whilst we were there which was great to see.
One thing we wished we could have spent more time at was the Plane Incline which takes boats from the lower canal to the upper in a moving lock ---- amazing! We were lucky with weather so spent most of our days sightseeing, not difficult in such a beautiful area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The position in the village.
Liked least: Shower being downstairs.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2017
Dear Gill! It was a plesasure welcoming you in Mittelbergheim! Hope we see you soon! Best wishes, Jacques (the son)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer5...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Everything just perfect”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Everything was perfect about this house. It is true to the pictures on the web site. Beautifully renovated, tastefully decorated, spacious, spotlessly clean. We were two couples, one couple sleeping upstairs, one downstairs. It was like having two suites. Fabienne and Paul are gracious hosts. Mittelbergheim is a beautiful village, well placed for touring in Alsace. We ate at the Raisin d'Or and had a very good well priced meal.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Absolutely everything
Liked least: Absolutely nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Nov 2015
Thanks so much Jennifer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil H
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming spacious gite in a lovely peaceful village”
Reviewed 11 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We enjoyed a wonderful week in this lovely gite, and would highly recommend it. Paul and Fabienne were lovely hosts and did everything to ensure that we enjoyed our stay and got the most out of our week. The house is situated in a quiet traditional wine village with three restaurants; a 20 minute walk takes you to Barr where there are other facilities, including plenty of supermarkets to stock up. The gite itself offers a lovely opportunity to enjoy a barbecue in the contained courtyard. The surrounding area provides plenty to entertain; one of our highlights was getting bikes delivered from cycl'hop In Obernai and taking a ride down to Selestat and back. Overall I can't recommend this gite and the owners highly enough and we look forward to returning in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hospitality, location
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Nov 2015
Dear Neil,

It really was a pleasure welcoming you in Mittelbergheim. See yous soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine N
Bournemouth
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everything we were hoping for and more!”
Reviewed 20 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Arrived at the property to a very warm welcome from Fabianne and Paul.
Accommodation was first class, roomy and light, with everything that we needed. Paul and Fabienne were on hand if we had any queries or needed advice
Location was superb, ideal for visiting all the local villages on the route de vin. Historic village setting. Lots to do all within easy reach, it is a beautiful region of France that we will visit again. We were blessed with excellent weather, and used the garden and bbq several evenings. Plenty of restaurants in the region. There are 3 within easy walking distance. Pauls suggestions of places to visit were spot on, still some for us to try next time.

Many thanks to Fabienne and Paul for being excellent hosts and making our holiday special, we hope to see you again. .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was very spacious and light well equipped.
Liked least: No wifi
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2015
Dear Mrs Nicholls, Thank you so much for your review!
We will keep a excellent remember from your family!
We hope we will see you again in our property.
Paul and Fabienne HIRTZ
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidA402...
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Idyllic,charming,peaceful.”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We travelled as a family of 6,2 adults,4 kids aged from 5-18 years. This was a great holiday. The villa is lovely,clean,modern and well equipped. Beds a little firm but not a problem. Paul and Fabienne are also lovely,very friendly and always ready to help and advise. The villa is in a quiet and picturesque village on the wine route and has several good restaurants in walking distance. Alsace is really interesting with lots to visit and see,the Vosges are a real highlight.
Overall this is a five star property and holiday,I would echo the other reviews. Would strongly recommend for all types of visitor,familes,couples,teens,younger kids.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole Alsace experience.
Liked least: No real complaints.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2015
Many thanks for your positive review!
We hope seeing you again in Mittelbergheim!
Paul and Fabienne HIRTZ
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groupy
Somerset
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Pretty house in a lovely village.”
Reviewed 17 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We were made very welcome by Fabienne and Paul to this wonderful house. It is very old but has been tastefully modernised inside without losing its charm. Filled with interesting and shabby chic furniture it is very comfortable. The photographs do not do it justice. We really enjoyed our stay here not least because of our lovely hosts. They made us feel so welcome, Paul even took us for a wine tasting in the village and the organic wine was superb so we had to take some home.

We love Alsace it is full of beautiful villages and we had a really enjoyable time here in a little known part of France. Why people do not come here on holiday I do not know? We had a wonderful week, in part due to our hospitable hosts.

Thank you Fabienne and Paul.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pretty village. Comfortable homely house.
Liked least: Could have done with serving spoons and better vegetable knive.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lmg201420...
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful house in a beautiful part of France”
Reviewed 7 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This is a beautiful house, tastefully renovated and we felt even better than the photos suggest. The house is spacious and light, large bedrooms, large living space and plenty of outside space for alfresco dining and BBQ. Paul and Fabienne are delightful hosts, very helpful and accommodating when needed. We were greeted on arrival and Paul even accompanied us to the local supermarket to ensure we had enough food to see us over the upcoming bank holiday! The area is a lovely part of France, and Mittelbergheim is a small village but literally surrounded by vineyards, with over 20 small wine producers on your doorstep - you don't need to go shopping for wine, just pop down the road for a tasting and buy as much or as little as you want. Easy road access to the whole region, Strasbourg well worth a visit only 30kms away and Germany just a stones throw away across the Rhein. If travelling from the UK, certainly worth the very easy drive from Calais. We would certainly love to return both to the area but also to this particular house as we wanted for nothing during our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Light, airy, spacious house
Liked least: BBQ tools/utensils would be helpful
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing