We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deceptive”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Restaurant Lyvano

Restaurant Lyvano
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Georgia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Deceptive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Chose to have dinner here because its wine list was more extensive than the neat restaurant just across the river. More "upscale" is how it was described to us by a local. I was disappointed in the menu selections and opted for a simple pasta dish that was non-descript. My wife ordered the mussels, her default favorite. They were presented in a beautiful metal pot and were bristling over the edge. Our first thought was "wow, that's a lot of mussels". About half way through she asked me to check the number of empty shells untouched by her in the pot. I watched her remove 25, and that's after she realized something was odd. Yes, there were 5 mussels unshelled and submerged in the broth, but it was clear that empty shells had been mixed in the pot to create an illusion of fullness. Wine was good, but fool me once ....

Helpful?
3 Thank finder45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    24
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Enosburg Falls, Vermont
2 reviews
“great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Wonderful ambiance, great food. Would go back anytime! A small intimate place perfct for a romantic meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stella21212014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level Contributor
104 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Mediocre food priced too high, little value”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Décor seemed nice, plus real cloth napkins were appreciated. Service although ok, did not include pouring of any of our wine. Table d'hôtel 's of ravioli at $40 was a bit steep, & my filet of pork @ $36 was very dry, tough & tasteless. Appetiser of crevette 2 facons (as listed on menu) contained only 1 kind of preparation. My appetiser of escargots in casserole left a strange unpleasant aftertaste, lasting later into the evening. Coffee & Tea were not included in the table d'hôtel but an extra cost. Dessert was ok but not memorable, Although it was a Monday (traditionally a slow or closed day for restaurants); we found it a bit unusual that at supper hour, the place remained completely empty except for us. This place has an outdoor rear deck over the water that looked attractive for a snack or drink at some time when the weather might be warmer. However there are too many other fine restaurants in the nearby area & Cowansville that provide far superior food at more reasonable prices. I would not return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank vacationer342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanbridge East, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Why go far?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

This is the best restaurant and it is right where I live.
The food is excellent, the chef showing great respect for the ingredients. The service is impeccable and our waiters seemed happy to be there!
Don't miss it when you come in our area!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank fanfancanada24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goshen, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Returning to Enosburg Falls, VT from Knowlton Quebec via Frelighsburg we took a look at each restaurant in town and it was decided Restaurant Lyvano was the place. What a great decision. The meal was outstanding. Perhaps one of the most memorable ever. If you are in the area put this restaurant on your must visit list. Service was outstanding. The outside dining area was totally booked and we sat inside. The air conditioning inside was a plus as it was warm and humid evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Lyvano also viewed

Frelighsburg, Quebec
Dunham, Quebec
 
Cowansville, Quebec
 

Been to Restaurant Lyvano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing