We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not ask for more”
Review of Elton Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Elton Guest House
Ranked #1 of 2 Elton B&B and Inns
Birmingham
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Could not ask for more”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights as a long weekend away, and there is really nothing bad to say at all! Elton is a very quiet little village tucked away about 5 miles from Bakewell and very close to Chattsworth and Haddon Hall.
The owners Jenny and Chris have been doing this for ages and it shows very helpful and happy to help, we stayed in the red room, which is a good size couple of arm chairs plus the double bed, en suite bathroom and all clean and tidy, the rooms have lots of character with the beds chest of draws etc
The breakfast was great in the old café area which is fun, good selection of cereals etc and choice of cooked breakfast and if they had them eggs from their own chickens!
All in all I would happily go back especially when you think of the price per night so if you are sightseeing or walking this a great place to stay, there is a good list of walks (10-15)in a little pamphlet on the table as you walk that all leave from Elton (though you need an OS map as well)
The only real down sides is that there is no where to eat in the evening in Elton you have to travel to Winster, Birchover or Bakewell though there is a pub which does open but at 8.40pm and serves a good very cheap pint…

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alex205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    2
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Garden of England
Level Contributor
114 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

You should definitely stay here if you like antique furniture, and avoid it if you like modern or minimalistic rooms.

We stayed in the family room for 2 nights and were incredibly impressed with how nice the room was. For a start it was very big, and for the room to feel this big with a 8ft high four poster bed with a canopy in the middle of it, the room really must be big!
The bed is the focal piece and is simply stunning although the mattress was waist to belly high on an average sized person, so don’t expect to fall onto it! The wood was in excellent condition and the fabric that the canopy was made out of looks of great quality and not worn out or damaged in the slightest. The rest of the room is also furnished with antique pieces and there was even a mock wood burner in the room to keep you warm! I would love to have my bedroom at home looking anything like this.

The rest of the house is similarly full of antiques, and collecting these and the old advertising posters in the dining room is clearly a major hobby for the owners.

The family room isn’t en-suite, but has its own private bathroom just across the corridor, and this corridor is entirely yours as there is a lockable door between your two rooms and the rest of the house.

The owners & breakfast were all perfectly good and we had no complaints at all, but it is the super quality of the rooms that make this place stand out. The only slight complaint I would have is that there weren’t many sockets available to plug any phones or anything into to re-charge them.

Elton as a village is small but picturesque and is convenient for exploring any of the white peak area. I would recommend anyone staying here to give the Druid Inn in Birchover or the Royal Oak in Hurdlow a visit for excellent food in a cosy place.

Room Tip: Family room is great if you can get it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fell-O_TravellerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2010

We stayed at this lovely Country cottage for two nights only but were very impressed.. The property had been renovated to the highest of standards which were very much in keeping with the idiom and it's age. There were two large bedrooms, one with four poster bed and another with a double bed plus one single bed. The kitchen was extremely well equipped with everything provided. A very good breakfast with numerous choices was provided in the main building which is only a short stroll away.
Elton is in a lovely village in close proximity to both Matlock and Bakewell and there are several pubs and restaurants in nearby villages.
I can well recommend this to anyone and know that you will have a very enjoyable stay with two very nice proprietors Jenny & Chris.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maesy359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2009

Stayed IN B&B for one evening when touring the Peak District with my siblings, we had booked a family room but as the cottage was free Jenny, the land lady, moved us in there for no extra cost.
The cottage was beautiful and comfortable, and all amenities provided.
We woke up late for breakfast, but Jenny and Chris still made us a lovely full breakfast.
Could not fault this place, absolutly brill!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katherine5065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2009

Lovely comfortable family rooms which have a four poster bed and seperate bed. all the usual en suite facilties and coffee making
The Guest House is in the centre of the village, with a quaint old village pub only 30 yards away.
There is a choice of breakfasts including a belly busting English breakfast.
The owners are very friendly and helpful and the rates are below average for the area

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank YorkiesinDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elton
1.2 mi away
Old Shoulder of Mutton
Old Shoulder of Mutton
#1 of 4 in Winster
293 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gratton Grange Farm Bed & Breakfast
2.2 mi away
The Farmyard Inn
The Farmyard Inn
#1 of 4 in Youlgreave
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elton Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elton Guest House

Property: Elton Guest House
Address: Moor Lane | Elton, Elton, Peak District National Park DE4 2DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Elton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Elton
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Elton Guest House Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing