We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Property, Fantastic Location, Lovely...”
Book now to secure your dates - go to 5* Elton Old Hall c1668
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Book now to secure your dates - go to 5* Elton Old Hall c1668
Custom Chesterfield sofas by a roaring fire? Goto 5* Elton Old Hall c1668 Cocktails in the conservatory? Goto 5* Elton Old Hall c1668
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
145 reviews
Book now to secure your dates - go to 5* Elton Old Hall c1668
Custom Chesterfield sofas by a roaring fire? Goto 5* Elton Old Hall c1668
Cocktails in the conservatory? Goto 5* Elton Old Hall c1668
Cosy country living by a roaring fire? Goto 5* Elton Old Hall c1668
Your special celebration? Goto 5* Elton Old Hall c1668
Fun four poster with en suite? Goto 5* Elton Old Hall c1668
6 beautiful bath/cloakrooms? Goto 5* Elton Old Hall c1668
Dining for upto 14 guests? Goto 5* Elton Old Hall c1668
Secret built in bookcase? Goto 5* Elton Old Hall c1668
Sitting Room for everyone together? Goto 5* Elton Old Hall c1668
6 flexible bedrooms with dreamy beds? Goto 5* Elton Old Hall c1668
Contemporary bathrooms? Goto 5* Elton Old Hall c1668
Dreamy bedrooms? Goto 5* Elton Old Hall c1668
Wonderful walks with tempting tea rooms? Goto 5* Elton Old Hall c1668
Cycling trails with lovely cafes? Goto 5* Elton Old Hall c1668
Famous tourist towns? Goto 5* Elton Old Hall c1668
Picnics and paddling in the most popular National Park? Goto 5* Elton Old Hall c1668
Cosy pubs with Peak District food and drink? Goto 5* Elton Old Hall c1668
Memories for a lifetime? Goto 5* Elton Old Hall c1668
Special celebration cakes? Goto 5* Elton Old Hall c1668
Lording it up? Goto 5* Elton Old Hall c1668
Why not book now? Goto  5* Elton Old Hall c1668
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Elton, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 145 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Matt D
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Property, Fantastic Location, Lovely Owners ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️”
Reviewed 9 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We hired Elton Old Hall for my mum's 70th, there were 10 adults and 3 children and Elton Old Hall was the perfect location. It's a beautiful building inside and out (has a lovely garden too) with plenty of space for everyone. All the rooms were excellent - no small box rooms as is usually the case with large properties. I really do not have anything negative to say about the property at all, it is simply the best place we have ever stayed at (and we've had a few large group w/e's away over the years).

If all of the above wasn't enough the owner Juliet was brilliant too - the booking process was really easy, Juliet was very responsive to all e-mails / text messages (and I had a lot of questions!). She also provided loads of information on things to do in the area and also recommended an excellent private chef (Charlie) so we had a meal at the Hall on the Saturday night which was fantastic.

If you have a large party or walking w/e to organise and love the Peak District do yourself a favour and book Elton Old Hall! (I'm already planning our next walking w/e away with friends now!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The building itself - beautiful!
Liked least: (Really minor) wi-fi signal not brilliant - but this was highlighted by owners
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jofennell...
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Great Celebration”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

A great family celebration was had by all with plenty of inside and outside space for us all to enjoy.
We'll hope to return very soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lots of space, garden, kitchen
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PandC-86
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful, perfect grand house to celebrate with loved ones”
Reviewed 4 June 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This trip was unforgettable for several reasons. Firstly my husband and I who were married overseas were reuniting with friends that we had not seen for a long time to celebrate and this was the perfect place to do this. Elton Hall is truly an amazing property with incredible surroundings and has plenty of space and everything you could possibly need.

There are lots of bedrooms and plenty of bathrooms. The kitchen is HUGE with a large dining table perfect for our large group.

The house was cozy, full of character and warmth.

When we arrived the owners had left flowers, chocolates and a card to congratulate my husband and I which was such a beautiful gesture and greatly appreciated.

The owners really went out of their way to ensure that we had a wonderful trip. They provided us with top tips before we arrived and we could not fault their hospitality and customer service.

Escape from the city with friends/family and book yourself into Elton Hall- you will not be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house itself, great size, lots of rooms and bathrooms PLUS the owners were beautiful to deal with
Liked least: The rain- which can not be helped
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kelly0412
Northampton
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing hen weekend”
Reviewed 20 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

15 of us stayed at Elton Old Hall for 2 nights for a hen party and it was amazing! The house is beautiful, very clean and well equipped with everything we needed for the weekend. The bedrooms were spacious and beds were comfortable, plus there are plenty of bathrooms which was very handy for 14 girls!

Juliet sent us all an email beforehand with lots of ideas for things to do, weather forecast and information about the house which was really useful. She had even left the hen a bouquet of flowers and some chocolates for when we arrived, a very thoughtful touch!

The house itself is situated in a quaint picturesque village, about 20 minutes from Bakewell where we spent the day. There is also plenty of countryside nearby perfect for walks etc.

This would be lovely at any time of the year, summer as there is a big garden with furniture and a bbq, and would be lovely at Christmas time with its cosy living room and log fire.

We all had a fantastic time. Highly recommend for a big party or family break!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BB_Shanno...
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Everything you could want for a fabulous family gathering”
Reviewed 19 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed here over the early May bank holiday weekend for a family birthday and had a fabulous time. Juliet and Martin couldn't have been more helpful, with extensive information provided prior to our stay. Elton Old Hall is extremely well equipped. The huge kitchen has every pot, pan and utensil you could possibly need and a lovely large table for gathering round. The lounge is cozy with a lovely fire and huge sofas, and the garden is deceptively large and great for kids, with a trampoline, slide and play house. The beds are comfy and the bedrooms large and well spaced through the house so despite being a large group we felt there was plenty of space for us all.

Elton is a pretty, quiet village with a lovely playground which the kids thoroughly enjoyed.

We'd definitely recommend Elton Old Hall to friends, and thank Juliet and Martin for helping to make a really special weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting round the table catching up with family while the kids played
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slh201558...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Groups Looking for Charm and Luxury”
Reviewed 17 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I could not have chosen a better location for 11 family and friends to get together for my pre-wedding celebrations. The house was perfect; charm and luxury under one roof. The house is ideal for larger groups. We were able to eat, lounge and enjoy the garden together. The house was immaculate and felt like home from home (I wish). From the DVDs, CDs, wood for the fire, local guides, welcoming flowers and chocolates, sumptuous bed linen, and the largest Chesterfield sofa I have ever seen! Juliet, the owner, maintained regular contact with us from the day we booked until only hours before we arrived, and has provided us with all kinds of information to make sure we had a stay we will cherish forever. I know if we had any issues (and we didn't) Juliet was only a phone call away. I would not hesitate to book this property again and hope to return for a family gathering. What a refreshing change to have a short break that was perfect in every way. And thanks to Juliet and Elton Old Hall I have had the most amazing hen do I will remember forever.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole house!
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
britsabro...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a perfect weekend”
Reviewed 8 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We rented Elton Old Hall for a weekend family birthday celebration. After reading previous reviews on Trip Advisor we thought the property must be pretty special and it certainly was. The house itself is beautiful - spotlessly clean, with excellent facilities and a lovely garden and play area. We hired caterers for the Saturday night - La Cucina, who were great, we would highly recommend them. It was a really relaxing weekend and so nice to spend some quality family time together in such a lovely house. We have lots of special memories to take away and are now thinking of an excuse to come back. Juliet and Martin were very helpful and gave us lots of information about the local area and amenities.We have recommended Elton Old Hall to lots of our friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing