We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely stunning property”
Book now to secure your dates - go to 5* Elton Old Hall c1668
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Book now to secure your dates - go to 5* Elton Old Hall c1668
Custom Chesterfield sofas by a roaring fire? Goto 5* Elton Old Hall c1668 Cocktails in the conservatory? Goto 5* Elton Old Hall c1668
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
145 reviews
Book now to secure your dates - go to 5* Elton Old Hall c1668
Custom Chesterfield sofas by a roaring fire? Goto 5* Elton Old Hall c1668
Cocktails in the conservatory? Goto 5* Elton Old Hall c1668
Cosy country living by a roaring fire? Goto 5* Elton Old Hall c1668
Your special celebration? Goto 5* Elton Old Hall c1668
Fun four poster with en suite? Goto 5* Elton Old Hall c1668
6 beautiful bath/cloakrooms? Goto 5* Elton Old Hall c1668
Dining for upto 14 guests? Goto 5* Elton Old Hall c1668
Secret built in bookcase? Goto 5* Elton Old Hall c1668
Sitting Room for everyone together? Goto 5* Elton Old Hall c1668
6 flexible bedrooms with dreamy beds? Goto 5* Elton Old Hall c1668
Contemporary bathrooms? Goto 5* Elton Old Hall c1668
Dreamy bedrooms? Goto 5* Elton Old Hall c1668
Wonderful walks with tempting tea rooms? Goto 5* Elton Old Hall c1668
Cycling trails with lovely cafes? Goto 5* Elton Old Hall c1668
Famous tourist towns? Goto 5* Elton Old Hall c1668
Picnics and paddling in the most popular National Park? Goto 5* Elton Old Hall c1668
Cosy pubs with Peak District food and drink? Goto 5* Elton Old Hall c1668
Memories for a lifetime? Goto 5* Elton Old Hall c1668
Special celebration cakes? Goto 5* Elton Old Hall c1668
Lording it up? Goto 5* Elton Old Hall c1668
Why not book now? Goto  5* Elton Old Hall c1668
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Elton, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 145 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
EnglandBa...
England
1 review
“Absolutely stunning property”
Reviewed 17 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

This is a beautiful hall and the surrounding views are stunning! inside it is sumptuous and welcoming. Juliet also left some lovely welcome surprises which I thought was a fantastic touch. I could not recommend this place more, everyone was very sad that we did not own it ourselves!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hall is just amazing
Liked least: we had several cars so parking had to be planned but there is plenty of on-street parking
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela...
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
1 review
“Memorable!”
Reviewed 9 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Fantastic property with everything you could wish for. Very high standard. Cannot fault it. We were made to feel very welcome and had some nice surprises waiting for us on arrival.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cath-CJC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful old property in the heart of Derbyshire countryside perfect for special celebrations”
Reviewed 8 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

A large group of friends stayed at Elton Old Hall for a 50th birthday celebration. From the point of enquiry to departure the information and service we received from the owner was extremely helpful enabling us to tailor our stay to the group and celebration perfectly. The accommodation was immaculate and better than described and the location enabled us to pack a lot into our short stay. It is worth looking through the recommended list of services and activities. would love to visit again with more time to take advantage of the location and the property.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O
Brassington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The perfect venue for a relaxing family weekend”
Reviewed 16 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed at Elton Old Hall recently for a big family celebration. It was a beautiful house - lovely bedrooms and a fantastic well equipped kitchen. There were lots of nice additional touches which made it feel even more special…toy chest, a DVD library, a "secret" garden with all sorts of fun things for little ones and plenty more besides.
We all instantly relaxed on arrival and had a thoroughly lovely weekend. I'd had lots of plans for walks and excursions and in the end we just stayed at home mostly as it felt too good to leave!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey B
Bingley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Everything we hoped for, and then some....”
Reviewed 6 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Beautiful house in a fantastic location. The photos do not do it justice. We expected it to be lovely but it was perfect. Equipped to a high standard, comfortable, tastefully decorated, easy to heat. I could go on. The children could play safely in the beautiful quintessentially English country guarden; just as I imagine it would have been back in c1688! The secret garden was a particular delight and the toys and trampoline caused much excitement.
We all had a fabulous time and wouldn't have changed a thing. We would all love to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden, the kitchen and the bedroom
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Property, Fantastic Location, Lovely Owners ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️”
Reviewed 9 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We hired Elton Old Hall for my mum's 70th, there were 10 adults and 3 children and Elton Old Hall was the perfect location. It's a beautiful building inside and out (has a lovely garden too) with plenty of space for everyone. All the rooms were excellent - no small box rooms as is usually the case with large properties. I really do not have anything negative to say about the property at all, it is simply the best place we have ever stayed at (and we've had a few large group w/e's away over the years).

If all of the above wasn't enough the owner Juliet was brilliant too - the booking process was really easy, Juliet was very responsive to all e-mails / text messages (and I had a lot of questions!). She also provided loads of information on things to do in the area and also recommended an excellent private chef (Charlie) so we had a meal at the Hall on the Saturday night which was fantastic.

If you have a large party or walking w/e to organise and love the Peak District do yourself a favour and book Elton Old Hall! (I'm already planning our next walking w/e away with friends now!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The building itself - beautiful!
Liked least: (Really minor) wi-fi signal not brilliant - but this was highlighted by owners
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jofennell...
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Great Celebration”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

A great family celebration was had by all with plenty of inside and outside space for us all to enjoy.
We'll hope to return very soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lots of space, garden, kitchen
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing