We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place keeps getting better”
Review of Casa di Maio

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Agliano Terme
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa di Maio
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great place keeps getting better”
Reviewed 11 August 2011

This was my third trip to the Piemonte area and stay at Casa di Maio. After three trips my appreciation and enjoyment of the people, food and wine of this area continues to grow and continues to delight. Casa di Maio and its host Doreen continue to provide a genuinely warm, generous and impeccable experience. The rooms, setting and hospitality remain top-notch.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BYMToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
55
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

My husband and I recently returned from our second trip to Casa di Maio in the past three years, and once again, were not disappointed. If you are interested in touring this region, with its incredible food, wine, scenery, etc. this is the place to stay. Casa di Maio is a small intimate villa, and well appointed with moden decor. All provisions are of excellent quality. It is situated in an idyllic part of the region near Asti, with views of the countryside and historic Italian villages in the distance. The propietors, Doreen and Michael, are gracious and knowledgable hosts who make it very easy to enjoy your stay and get the most out of the region. Their knowledge of the area, its villages, restaurants and wines were indispensible. In my view, it is an relatively unknown region that deserves more attention. I suggest you have a car, to make the most out of your time and touring ability - it is easy to get around with such a central location. My husband and I can't wait for our next visit to the Casa.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MASToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Picked based on reviews. We agree, top notch holiday, we enjoyed every moment staying at Casa di Maio. We brought our little dog and Doreen was equally sweet and helpful towards him. Everything in the house is so nice, fresh and comfortable. You have access on the ground floor to a modern kitchen, a big dining room and a relaxing living room. It's like renting a room and getting a whole house! The outdoor areas are beautiful. The host Doreen is very very kind, caring and creative. Wine and food at arrival greeting. New breakfasts every day. If you don't know what you should do during a day, Doreen will help you select some destinations/spots, and provide maps, info and tips. It's a great bonus that we could discuss all the trip plans in english. The location is calm, high up with great views more or less directly from around the house. If you use navigation system, make sure you cross check the suggested map location with other maps. The street itself has a different name than the "Regione Brusassaco" which is a name for small area. While you are driving first time to Casa di Maio and you are near Montegrosso d'Asti or Agliano Terme, do not leave that area, because you are very near your destination. Don't hesitate to call Doreen if needed :-)

Room Tip: Three rooms, one has balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bjorn_Ros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We stayed 3 nights with the beautiful Doreen in June 2011 during a driving holiday in Italy and France and were sorry to leave this little oasis of charm and elegance and Doreen's warmth and hospitality. The preceeding reviews are so glowing it is hard to embelish further, but Casa Di Maio was the best B&B we experienced during our 4 week holiday. Our room was stunning with a beautiful view from the balcony, amazing enormous bathroom complete with beautiful toiletries and large fluffy towels, free fast wifi, and parking. The whole property is so thoughtfully renovated to retain the history and charm of the farmhouse whilst incorporating modern finishes and luxuries. It is definitely 6 star accomodation. Doreen is a wonderful hostess and we became very fond of her during our short stay. She welcomed us, in the rain, with umbrellas and a warm smile into her kitchen where we enjoyed a platter of antipasto, champagne, coffee and a breathtaking view over the valley to Agliano Terme, the local village. Breakfasts were served either on the terrace overlooking the valley and vineyards or in the dining room. They were presented beautifully and were a delicious variety of homemade muesli and natural yogurt, freshly prepared fruit, cheeses, smoked salmon, a vegetarian frittata one morning and freshly plunged coffee. Doreen was so helpful with maps and recommendations for touring the piedmont area and the morning we left Doreen prepared a picnic box of sandwiches, fruit and wine for our journey. We loved our time at Casa Di Maio and would defitinely recommend this B&B to our friends and family and anyone visiting this beautiful area of Italy.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wareana1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

As from the moment we arrived it was clear: choosing Casa di Maio was an excellent (which is an understatement) choice!

A couple of days before arrival we received the latest driving instructions because of some roadwork which was very thoughtful. We were welcomed by Doreen and Mike and asked to join them on the terrace. They opened a bottle of wine and presented a platter with all kinds of cheese, cold cuts and salad. Wow, what a warm welcome!

Doreen showed us our bright and light room with a small balcony and wide views on Agliano Terme. The room was beautiful, the ensuite bathroom (with very large walk-in shower) was on a superlative degree. It was al to perfection!

On the first night Doreen asked if we were big eaters at breakfast. We weren’t sure what to expect but the breakfast served was on a five star level: coffee, tea, several juices, cereals, several yoghurts and a large fresh fruit plate. And after that a hot dish (every day another) was served! For example; French toast with fresh strawberries, pancakes and zucchini frittata.

Nice feature is that we could use the (very well equipped and beautiful) kitchen. After several restaurant visits, it’s sometimes just perfect to have a simple meal and eat it in the garden.

Doreen and Mike know a lot about wine and the local winemakers which was very informative! Of course they will arrange wine tastings at your request.

Casa di Maio is the base for who wants to explore the region and it’s villages like Asti, Barolo and Alba. From Asti (large free parking at Piazza Campo del Palio) is Turin easily reached by train. Don’t miss out on Eataly in Turin: a foodies heaven!

Our conclusion is that Casa di maio is a B&B on a impressive high standard and that we were really pampered during our four days stay. We can’t wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Niels_k_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2011

My husband and I found Casa di Maio online, and all the positive reviews on Trip Advisor did not disappoint. From our very first communication, Doreen was responsive, kind, and professional. Doreen's wonderful hospitality--the warm greeting, the glasses of Prosecco that seem to magically appear, her outstanding breakfasts--has already been mentioned here, but let us say that it's all true!

The house itself is perfectly located: it feels very rural and peaceful, but is only a short drive from several towns, and the bigger cities of Asti and Alba are within 30 minutes. Doreen knows the area very well, and provided us with excellent restaurant recommendations for each of the 3 nights we were there.

The room was fantastic--gorgeous design, but also extraordinarily comfortable. The bed and the shower made us feel like we were at a 4 star hotel in a big city...a perfect place to take a rest after wine tasting.

We loved Casa di Maio so much that we are reluctant to let the secret out. In fact, we were only there for a few hours before we decided that we simply had to stay another night! We can't wait to return. Our trip to Piemonte was brief, but it was the best vacation we've ever taken.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paigeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

This B&B and that overall area of Italy area are places that we have only dreamed about. Please forgive the superlatives in the rest of my note, but they all do fit! Sadly, it was only a 1-night stopover for us.

First of all, we’ve read that this entire area is an “Undiscovered Gem” - that is, Asti and many of its surrounding towns and villages and all of its countryside. And yet, even though relatively undiscovered by modern tourists, we discovered that this entire area, set in the extreme NW part of Italy, has a proud, fascinating and very important role in both Italian and European history - going well back to pre-Roman times.

The entire region is also famous for its “pure” foods, its truly wonderful wines and truffles. Piedmont apparently means “Foot of the Mountains”. Wiki has quite a fascinating description about Piedmont that I’d recommend to any potential visitor. And the B&B's own website is excellent, too, and is beautifully and accurately done.

AGLIANO TERME is a small town (pop. of less than 2000), just a short distance AND an easy drive south of the city of Asti. The Casa di Maio B&B itself is just a few minutes outside of Agliano Terme. Nevertheless, the B&B is still very much in the countryside and very quiet all during the night.

We were still Newbie’s to using a GPS, and so, we ended up in the wrong spot. No problem! We called Doreen from a cell phone that we’d borrowed from someone in town (very friendly people in Italy!) and she cheerfully came to meet us within a few minutes of our call. She led us back to her exquisite B&B and we were shown to our utterly delightful bedroom on the 2nd floor. (Easy to manage steps). Our charming balcony faced south onto the countryside.

We were then invited out, at our leisure, to the inviting patio and terrace where Doreen had set out a delicious array of homemade appetizers and a glass of Asti Spumante and also of the area’s wonderful red wine. And then …. we just sat back and relaxed, gazing about with wonder. We had only arrived in Paris 5 days before that, and on that day, we had driven for hours and hours from the Burgundy area and through the mountains in SE France, too, but we suddenly felt so refreshed and so relaxed.

Everything that we looked at was just beautiful - their own handsome home and pretty gardens, plus all of the views, ANYWHERE that one looked. That was because we were on the top of a small hill that is so very typical in this area. Many small and gentle hills - with vineyards, wild flowers, grazing animals, villages, trees and blue sky - in every direction. Of course, fresh and sweet air.

I’ve never put photos into my TA reviews before this, but I am now compelled to do that for this B&B and this wonderful area of Italy. At least, I shall attempt to put them in. Choosing which ones of the 60 photos that I took was tough!

This outwardly rustic (but well-maintained and handsome) old Piedmont home (villa?) is fully renovated inside. And that was so wonderfully done. Clean and shining, very contemporary with an Asian-edge, I’d say. Comfortable and so gorgeous. Our bathroom was stunning. Some old inside touches were maintained e.g. the heavy doors to the outside which added a lovely touch.

Needless to say the showers were perfect and there were many convenient surfaces in the bathroom, and in our suite, to lay things on. The wide mattress and linens were just lovely for sleeping.

Doreen thinks of everything! For example, she has conversion plugs for North American travelers to use. We have never seen that offered before.

Doreen’s husband was away when we were there, and so, we didn’t meet him. Doreen was very informative about things to do in that area. You can see that in their own website and on one of the photos that I've included here. She passionately loves it there and you can observe that in everything that she does and says. This is true, even though she was raised in Toronto, Canada. They go back there for a while in the winter time b/c they visit their families and as well, she said that they actually miss (!) the snow and cold. We live near Toronto and we ruefully shook our heads at that!

One place that Doreen suggested to us was a restaurant in the town of Agliano Terme. It’s called OSTERIA di MILONGA and it’s on Via Colombo. It was easy to find in that small town. Well … Doreen makes everything easy for her guests!

The restaurant owner/host's name is MAURO Garberoglio. What a wonderful restaurant this is. In both appearance and the food taste and presentation, it could rival any fine dining restaurant in any large international city in Europe or in North America.

Mauro, the owner, is professional, gracious, gentle, thoughtful and passionate about his place. It’s handsome, intimate, and yet low-key. We went there wearing our casual travel clothes (not impressive at all) yet we were both made to feel so welcomed by Mauro. His food is based on local products and the food and the local wines (and beers) that he offered were all delicious. His prices are very reasonable.

And finally, Doreen! She is so relaxed and calm, yet so competent and quietly meticulous about everything. Quite young, so mature. Gracious, modest, friendly, helpful, and yet, “not in one’s face as can sometimes happen at the occasional B&B.

Oh, what a breakfast we had. Everything was beautifully presented and delicious, including an omelet that was sublime. (I did warn you about the superlatives!) I enjoy cooking and baking and I've found that a passionate cook can easily recognize that same passion in another person. Doreen has those passions, too and her guests always benefit.

We regretfully said our goodbyes to Doreen, the b&B and to the wonderful area and we prepared to move on to another lovely place south of Siena, Tuscany. Doreen handed us a shopping bag of treats and water for the next few hours.

We plan to return to Italy again and when we go back, we shall definitely stay at this extraordinary B&B for at least 1-2 weeks and will feel pampered and lucky while there while we savour, enjoy, explore and learn about the surrounding area and its foods and wines and culture. It seemed like a good place to use bikes, too or to go for long walks.

Sincerely, Helen and Ed Kearns, Burlington, Ontario, Canada.

Room Tip: Trust Doreen with anything!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HMK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agliano Terme hotels
1.0 mi away
Villa Fontana Relais Suite & Spa
1.1 mi away
Naturalmente Wine Resort
Naturalmente Wine Resort
#2 of 7 in Agliano Terme
136 reviews
2.2 mi away
Agriturismo Cascina Dani
Agriturismo Cascina Dani
#1 of 3 in Agliano Terme
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
No photo provided
Locanda La Ghersa
#5 of 7 in Agliano Terme
3 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Locanda San Giacomo
Hotel Locanda San Giacomo
#3 of 7 in Agliano Terme
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa di Maio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa di Maio

Property: Casa di Maio
Address: Regione Brusasacco 15 | Asti, 14041 Agliano Terme, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Asti > Agliano Terme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Agliano Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa di Maio is set in the heart of Piedmont's wine region between Asti and Alba, and a short distance from the towns of Barbesco and Barolo. The Casa is set among vineyards overlooking the scenic town of Agliano Terme. It offers rooms with modern ensuite baths, gracious common areas, a panoramic courtyard, and a dining portico. Wine tastings, gastronomic delights, outdoor and antique markets, and town festivals are a few of the attractions of the region. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing