We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Piedmonte paradise”
Review of Casa di Maio

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Agliano Terme
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa di Maio
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We arrived after the highway challenge from Milan airport to that beautiful view, clear skies and a bottle of Asti fizz followed by a lovely barbera hey what's not to like! It was magic and the next seven days we fell in love with the area ably assisted by Doreen's fabulous breakfasts and knowledge of places to go and things to do. The rooms are very comfortable with beautiful new bathrooms and the attention to detail made our stay a memorable one and a place we will return to soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
There are newer reviews for Casa di Maio
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2013

This was an amazing place. Doreen is the best hostess and made sure all our needs were met. When we arrived we had some wonderful wine and meat and cheese. She set up great winery tours and would not allow us to leave without a bottle of water. In addition the breakfast each morning was just unbelievable. I would highly recommend this place great room and location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dbsanford58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

I spent a single night at Casa di Maio in June 2012 as part of a solo motorcycle tour of Europe, and can confirm that the other extremely favourable Tripadvisor reviews were fully justified. Turning up hot, sweaty and dusty on my bike at around 6 in the evening, Doreen and Mick welcomed me very warmly, helping me with my bike luggage to a comfortable room with an extremely welcome spotlessly clean walk in shower. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Once I'd freshened up, I was able to relax with a glass of prosecco, sat between the lavender bushes in the garden with a lovely view across the vineyards, after a delicious selection of antipasti nibbles - ham and melon, local cheeses, breadsticks and salami. Not wanting to get back on my bike to head out for dinner, Doreen and Mick suggested I join them for dinner at a local restaurant Doreen had just discovered, where I enjoyed local specialities (ravioli, and a traditional Piemontese dessert, bunet), washed down with an agreeable red wine from vineyards just outside the village, and interesting conversation with my hosts. I slept well on the extremely comfortable bed back at Casa di Maio (blackout blinds would have ensured an even better night's sleep). After 10 days of delicious but rich Italian and French food, I was craving fruit, so I was delighted to come downstairs to breakfast find fresh fruit salad, as well as a fruit bowl with apricots and cherries, as well as Doreen's legendary stuffed French toast. I've recommended Casa di Maio to friends and family since coming back home, and would love to return and spend a few more nights there (to allow time for a visit to local wine producers).

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eleanor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

From the moment we arrived, Doreen made us feel incredibly welcome.She is a wonderful host and lots of fun to stay with!

Doreen was able to offer tips and advice on the best local places to eat and visit, she took us on a fabulous wine tour, and made us fantastic breakfasts.

The location is beautiful and the B&B looks out over rolling hills and vineyards. We can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank van2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

Good taste is the hallmark of Casa di Maio. The setting is lovely, with an outdoor seating area placed to enjoy the view. The hot breakfast, different each day, is delicious and beautifully presented. The rooms are filled with comfort--bed, duvet, pilows, linens..The bathrooms are a treat. Doreen brings this all together with her warm and welcoming style, taking careful notice of her guests' needs and giving thought as to what might suit them best. She is a consummate hostess. She knows the area wineries and restaurants and will help you if you like. We had a restorative stay with her and hope others will visit Doreen and her this special spot.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bachbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Lovely relaxed stay. The area is great for a cullinary trip. This charming house is modern and comfortable and you will have a hard time leaving.
Great to visit wine region and relax in italy. You will not find better value for money or a nicer place to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sofifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Casa di Maio is for sure the place to be in the Piemonte region.
Very nicely located on the top of a hill, surrounded with vineyards, quiet...everything you want for a very nice trip in the region.
The accomodation is stunning, very well renovated,and the original elements being retained or very nicely combined with modern looks.
We even took a few ideas back to Belgium for the interior of our new home.
As mentioned in almost every review, Doreen really gives her best and beyond to make you feel at home and to give you an unforgettable stay.
And she succeeded very well indead, no question about it.
Besides her extraordinary qualities as the hostess of this lovely home, she also has a very warm personality and is very nice company to chat, to laugh and - of course - to drink wine of course. (the Barolo 2004 was excellent!).
Thanks to our late-minute discovery of Casa di Maio, our rather short-planned holiday in Italy became an experience to remember forever.
Thanks again Doreen!

Ilse & Kurt,
Bruges, Belgium
We spent 5 days in Casa di Maio.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kurt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agliano Terme hotels
1.1 mi away
Naturalmente Wine Resort
Naturalmente Wine Resort
#2 of 7 in Agliano Terme
148 reviews
1.0 mi away
Villa Fontana Relais Suite & Spa
1.7 mi away
No photo provided
Locanda La Ghersa
#5 of 7 in Agliano Terme
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Agriturismo Cascina Dani
Agriturismo Cascina Dani
#1 of 4 in Agliano Terme
33 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Locanda San Giacomo
Hotel Locanda San Giacomo
#3 of 7 in Agliano Terme
27 reviews
1.3 mi away
Locanda Pastura - Rooms & Suites
Locanda Pastura - Rooms & Suites
#6 of 7 in Agliano Terme
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa di Maio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa di Maio

Address: Regione Brusasacco 15 | Asti, 14041 Agliano Terme, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Asti > Agliano Terme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Agliano Terme
Price Range: £68 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa di Maio is set in the heart of Piedmont's wine region between Asti and Alba, and a short distance from the towns of Barbesco and Barolo. The Casa is set among vineyards overlooking the scenic town of Agliano Terme. It offers rooms with modern ensuite baths, gracious common areas, a panoramic courtyard, and a dining portico. Wine tastings, gastronomic delights, outdoor and antique markets, and town festivals are a few of the attractions of the region. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing