We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B & B in Asti region”
Review of Casa di Maio

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Agliano Terme
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa di Maio
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stopped here on the way to Milan from Nice. This is a five star B & B. The accommodation is of a very high quality with views across the vineyards of the Asti region. When we arrived Doreen our host greeted us with a fabulous antipasto plate and a glass of Prosecco which we drank in her beautiful vine covered alfresco dining area. She told us all about the area and even opened a bottle of the local red - Barbera. Doreen gave us a great suggestion for dinner in a local restaurant and in the morning we had the most beautiful breakfast. We stay in many 5 star hotels and have never had such good food, warm hospitality and such spectacular views of Piedmont. This is a B & B that should be your destination on any visit to Asti. The antipasto, Prosecco and breakfast were all included in the tariff. Many thanks Doreen for sharing Casa di Maio with us and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doneitalready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

We flew into Milan and stopped at Casa di Maio for one night passing through the area. Doreen, the owner, greeted us by name upon arrival and immediately brought out a tray of local cured meats, cheese, prosecco and other goodies. We sat on the porch and soaked in the view, which was absolutely gorgeous. Doreen sat with us and walked us through the map and gave us great guidance on where to visit. She has great connections to local wineries as well. This review would not be complete without mentioning her fabulous breakfasts! Wow! I don't think I've ever had such a variety of fresh fruit and her cooking is amazing. We would have stayed much longer if we could. I highly recommend stopping here for as long as you can. What a gem!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KNYCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We just spent a wonderful and memorable week in the Piedmont region which was enhanced by our stay at Casa Di Maio. Doreen, the owner, is a warm and welcoming hostess and her attention to detail is outstanding. The welcome platter and wine served on arrival in the garden overlooking the valley of vineyards is only the beginning. Doreen follows this with advice about places to visit, restaurant recommendations, organization of private wine tastings and amazing and delicious breakfasts. The room was immaculate with fresh linen and towels daily. Our overall experience was outstanding!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelingfranandross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Believe these reviews. Doreen is amazing. From the wonderful platter of beautiful cold cuts, cheese, truffle honey and fruit when we arrived tired and hungry to Casa di Maio to the amazing breakfasts you will think you are at a 5 star hotel. The room was perfect and immaculate. Doreen gave us great advice and directions to lovely restaurants and to wine country top spots. We loved the location in the midst of the vineyards and watched the harvest while we were there. So relaxing. We can't wait to go back!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank E S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

There's a reason why all the reviews here speak so glowingly of Casa di Maio and a huge part of that is Doreen Lee, hostest with the mostest! To celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary, we decided to come back to Alba (for 5 nights this time) and of course, we wanted to stay @ Casa di Maio again! There's nowhere else we would rather be! Gorgeous surroundings, comfortable and lovely rooms with great facilities, wi-fi, amazing breakfasts and an extraordinary host. This time round, we decided to frequent more of the local restaurants rather than the michelin-starred/big name ones and we loved all of Doreen's recommendations! We also enjoyed the wine tasting she arranged for us very much. In hospitality, its all the little touches that truly matters (welcome drinks, afternoon tea, bottles of water, preparing takeaway breakfasts for us when we had to leave early for the airport..taking the time to talk us thru recommendations).. thanks Doreen for making our stay so memorable yet again. We are already planning when we can come back! =)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeadyEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The B&B itself is simple and stylish. Clean, comfortable,spacious and well-equipped. The owners, Doreen, is such a conscientious hostess whom you can't find elsewhere. She is attentive and well-organized . She can anticipate what you need and want. Clear driving directions will be provided for you no matter where you are planning to go. Besides, her recommendations on restaurant were fabulous and her arrangement for wine-tasting was amazing. My husband even said that this was the most comfortable wine-tasting experience that he ever had.A remarkable plus of Casa di Maio was the breakfast: sliced fruit presented in an artistic way, three kinds of cereals, juices, milk, coffee, tea, hot rolls, cold cut and a warm breakfast (different every day). Though the location is a bit distant,there is no problem if you are driving a car.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Virginia647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

After an exceptional introduction to Italy’s Tuscany Region in 2011, could we possibly achieve similar success in the Piemonte Region in 2013? Beginning this year’s tour at Agliano Terme’s “ Casa di Maio” helped us realize that in Northern Italy, exceptional is the norm! A warm September sun on grape-laden vineyards provided the background and hostess Doreen Lee met our every need by supplying charming accommodations, outstanding breakfasts, excellent suggestions for dining and local visits, and valuable directions-her friendly demeanor always shining through!
When, weeks before our visit, obtaining tickets by e-mail for the renowned “Palio” horse race in Asti became complicated, Doreen drove to Asti to purchase the tickets in person. Subsequently, the day of the event, when it appeared that parking availability would be extremely competitive, Doreen anticipated the problem and went the “extra mile” by driving us to Asti and then returning hours later to pick us up. Unbelievable!
Doreen is sincerely interested in helping visitors achieve their expectations, whether their goal is relaxation, vineyard touring, understanding local history, or capturing the best scenery. A stay at “Casa di Maio” is a delightful experience in comfort, culture, and camaraderie with some fine cuisine to start your day. And the price is right!

Room Tip: Ask Doreen for the room with the balcony. Beautiful place to just sit at sunset and drink a delicio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinhead62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agliano Terme hotels
1 mi away
Villa Fontana Relais Suite & Spa
1.1 mi away
Naturalmente Wine Resort
Naturalmente Wine Resort
#2 of 7 in Agliano Terme
148 reviews
2.2 mi away
Agriturismo Cascina Dani
Agriturismo Cascina Dani
#1 of 4 in Agliano Terme
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Locanda San Giacomo
Hotel Locanda San Giacomo
#3 of 7 in Agliano Terme
29 reviews
1.7 mi away
No photo provided
Locanda La Ghersa
#5 of 7 in Agliano Terme
3 reviews
1.3 mi away
Locanda Pastura - Rooms & Suites
Locanda Pastura - Rooms & Suites
#6 of 7 in Agliano Terme
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa di Maio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa di Maio

Address: Regione Brusasacco 15 | Asti, 14041 Agliano Terme, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Asti > Agliano Terme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Agliano Terme
Price Range: £68 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa di Maio is set in the heart of Piedmont's wine region between Asti and Alba, and a short distance from the towns of Barbesco and Barolo. The Casa is set among vineyards overlooking the scenic town of Agliano Terme. It offers rooms with modern ensuite baths, gracious common areas, a panoramic courtyard, and a dining portico. Wine tastings, gastronomic delights, outdoor and antique markets, and town festivals are a few of the attractions of the region. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing